We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeni Meze Bar

Yeni Meze Bar
73 Hanover Street, Edinburgh, Scotland
+44 131 225 5755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 1,901 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An intimate meze bar in Edinburgh's well-heeled new town, Yeni restaurant offers a mix of Mediterranean and Middle Eastern dishes. Boasting high ceilings and streams of natural light, the Yeni dining room features bohemian prints, fresh flowers and swathes of polished wood. Along with traditional meze sharing dishes, enjoy eastern-style desserts and choose from the accomplished wine stock.
canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Turkish delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a wonderful meal. The food was deliciously Turkish. For starters our table of four had the Turkish bread and olives. For mains, I had the salmon and my husband had the lamb. we didn't have room for dessert, but the choice looked interesting. We had a table at the front of the restaurant, so were able to watch the rain and lightning show that night. Ambiance was comfortable, and not too noisy. Staff was friendly and attentive. Decent choice of wines and fair prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    66
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great venue for family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We recently had a family reunion at Nargile shortly after the owners got back from their honeymoon. We had a wonderful selection of starters and mixed mains which were great to share in a large group. Great central location so those coming from out of town only had a 5 min walk from the station. Was on the quiet side in the restaurant but as it had closed during wedding period was to be expected. Only minor downside is no beer on draught but apart from that we had a fabulous time and service was superb.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
491 helpful votes 491 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, but just a little bit bland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

As I enjoy Turkish food I had very high hopes for my visit to Nargile. In many ways the restaurant is very good - both food and service. Yet somehow I found it just a little bit bland; it feels like part of a large chain even though it isn't. It aims at fusion food between Turkish and western European cuisine. I prefer Empires Cafe in St Mary's Street and Beirut, the Lebanese restaurant in Nicolson Square. Nevertheless, the food and service at Nargile are both good and it is a safe choice - particular for those who are unfamiliar with Turkish food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good central Edinburgh restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nargile's is a very good turkish restaurant with great service and a good selection of dishes at resonable prices. Dishes provided are mainly eastern mediterranean style and all appear freshly prepared. Service staff vere all pleasant and most helpful. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant, cannot recommend enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We bought a deal for this place and did not know what to expect from Turkish mezze to be honest but it far outdid any expectations we had. It felt like every time we thought we had had our meal they came out with another tasty course! Very impressed and went back again with friends as I knew they would love it too. I was also very pleased that this meal was amazing even as a vegetarian, as is often not the case.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yeni Meze Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Yeni Meze Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeni Meze Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.