We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little cosy flat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My-Canning Street Apartments

Save Saved
You added My-Canning Street Apartments to your Saves list
My-Canning Street Apartments
My-Canning Street Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
My-Canning Street Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Canning Street, Edinburgh EH3 8EG, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome little cosy flat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great place in the center of Edimbourgh!
We were 4 friends visiting Edimbourgh (and the Highlands! do not miss that!) and this place is well-located, nice, clean and well-equipped (wifi, music station, good bed, kitchen)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very good price for being on the tail-end of Edinburgh Festival. You pick up the keys in another spot, but even though I had a fair bit of luggage the process was actually pretty easy. Up a few flights of stairs, but again I found that fairly easy.
The flat is great. I was here for three nights and found it brilliant. The flat I was in is split level, so the bedroom and bathroom upstairs and the kitchen and lounge downstairs. The stairs were the only thing I wasn't crazy about as they were pretty big and a bit steep, probably wouldn't recommend it for small kids or elderly people with mobility issues (or drunk people!), but everything else was spot on.

Great location, just a stone's throw from everything that a tourist wants to see, very close to good coffee and restaurants. Comfortable bed, great kitchen (well kitted out with a washer/dryer), comfy lounge, great bathroom. The internet was great, very reliable. TV was terrific, quiet and safe area. I had a slight problem with the heating system (I couldn't work out how to turn it off), the people at the office were really attentive and got on it right away and explained it to me! The service generally was very easy and they were really helpful... I had a fair bit of luggage and had to store it for the day and they were happy to accommodate!

I would definitely recommend it for any length of time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here a number of times now. The apartments are well equipped and clean.
The reservation staff are most helpful. Location is perfect for Haymarket, Airport bus and city centre
Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend, apartments are excellent, very nicely done out. We had a 3 bedroomed so was a duplex apartment, very spacious and everything you would need, including washer & dish washer. 2 good bathrooms and a very good manual given in the apartments on how everything works.
Street it is located on is slightly tucked away, but once you get your bearings it is very easy to get about. Only a few minutes walk from Haymarket station & a 5 minute taxi ride to Waverley. Morrison street is close by and has some excellent restaurants there very good variety.
Would stay here again, nice quiet location so you get a good nights sleep as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location off princes st. Had 2 floor one bedroom appt. Very well equipped and clean. Met at appt by friendly rep with key. Happy to give us recommendations for eating. Heating complex to alter. Great Italian just round corner. Some noise from traffic. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here over the New Year. Appartment was well equipped clean and tidy. Excellent bathrooms, Bedrooms with King Beds, Kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. Lounge comfortable. Local shops nearby and easy walking distance for main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here to try a change from a hotel room for a long weekend. Good choice.

Slightly tucked-away location but very convenient for the centre of Edinburgh - both Waverley and Haymarket stations are in easy walking distance.

The apartments just allow you to relax as they have living room area, fully-equipped kitchen and an upstairs with bathroom (excellent shower, no bath) and bedroom, so you don't always have to eat out. The kitchen has everything you need.

We turned up at around 3.30pm (check-in is supposed to be available from 3pm) and called the number so they could let us in. They turned up 5 minutes later but apologised that they were a little behind and hadn't cleaned the apartment yet. Would we mind leaving our bags in the apartment and coming back in 30 minutes? They called my mobile 15 minutes later, apologised profusely (again) and asked would we prefer a bottle of white or red wine for the inconvenience. You really can't complain when somebody is so apologetic when they get something wrong and make such a nice gesture.

Everything was spotlessly clean when we came back and the whole apartment was immaculate - simply but nicely furnished.

Minor (and they are minor) gripes:
- We couldn't work out the heating controls, but the temperature was OK
- It would have been nice to have a tea towel or two. There is a dishwasher, but sometimes it's nice to be able to dry a glass.

Checkout is quite early (by 10am) but we took our bags to their office round the corner and they willingly looked after them for the rest of the day.

All-in-all, we were very happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to My-Canning Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My-Canning Street Apartments

Address: Canning Street, Edinburgh EH3 8EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — My-Canning Street Apartments 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your My-Canning Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My-Canning Street Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My-Canning Street Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.