We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Edinburgh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Malt House Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Malt House Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malt House Apartments
2 Canning Street, Edinburgh, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 185 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location in Edinburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We found this apartment by chance and booked it for 4 nights. It's a lovely apartment close to all the main attractions in Edinburgh and about a 15 minute walk to the castle. The rooms were very modern, clean and well maintained and it had everything we needed to be self sufficient during our stay. The keyless entry was extremely handy for us as it meant no sharing of keys. Free wifi and rubbish collection every second day was also great. The noise level was not too bad as we were on the second floor but a few nights we were disturbed by loud groups passing on the streets below. The only negative was that all our communication told us it was a 3pm check in (and we confirmed this before we arrived) however when we arrived the apartment was still being cleaned and the girl cleaning told us that check in was at 5pm and had always been! That was a tad frustrating as we have an 18 month old daughter who we needed to settle in after a long drive from England. The room was eventually ready just before 5. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay and I could recommend these apartments if you are visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor to help with noise from street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was not our choice of apartment the originally booked apartment had some problem with the hot water so this was offered as replacement.

This looks a very nice apartment but sadly as other reviews state it is extremely noisy mainly because it's on the ground floor and it only has single glazing so everyone walking passed sounds like they are in the room with you also the traffic outside as its a busy little street with lots of bars etc close by so a lot of noise from people coming and going at all hours of the night and many offices very nearby so you hear everyone going to work in the early morning. There also seems to be little soundproofing between the floors so you can hear every foot step taken by the apartment above even when they visit the bathroom in the middle of the night!!! One other irritating noise again mentioned in other reviews is the outside entry gate which is attached to the outside wall of the ground floor bedroom it clangs shut with an huge bang most times people enter or leave the building which is especially annoying in the early hours!!!

There were a few cleanliness issues which you would not expect from a superior apartment and could be easily fixed.

Although this was not our preferred location the apartment was in good location for getting around and plenty of shops, cafes close by.

If it was not for the noise and lack of sleep I would have given this apartment a better review, perhaps if we had an apartment on a higher floor the noise would probably not be so bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in Edinburgh for the Arts Festival and Fringe again at Malthouse Apartments. The location ideal, 5 minutes walk from Princess Street and 10 minutes to Grassmarket. As it is located in a business area, it is quiet at night. The apartments have high speed wifi included in the price and are very modern and light decorated.

Tips:
- bring a small coffemaker, e.g. by http://www.bodum.com/ as this isn't available in the apartments.
- the TV set in our apartment had a iPhone dock (iPhone 4 and earlier) connected with HDMI to a large flat screen. Just good to know if you want to make use of either iPhone dock and/or HDMI capability.
- parking in Sheraton nearby is 18 £ per day otherwise difficult to drop your car

Room Tip: Choose one of the apartments in the upper floor, it's less noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Edinburgh to attend the Military Tattoo at the Edinburgh Castle. The Malthouse Apartments on Canning street are tucked away on a side street very near two of the main streets in Edinburgh. Although the building is off the main roads, taxis are frequent. The HOHO bus stop at St. John's is a five minute walk from the flat. We loved staying there - everything top shelf - although would have liked an extra frying pan and a place to put soaps in the shower, rather than the floor. A very helpful staff, as well. The washing machine in our flat was not working so the staff arranged to have our laundry picked up and returned to us the same day. We were traveling light, so we really counted on being able to wash some of our clothing. Very quiet, comfortable retreat after walking our feet off in the enchanting city of Edinburgh. Could not have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor facing the front of the building. A good choice if you have lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My brother in law got a room at the Starwood a block away and for the same price got a third of the space and NO washing machine or kitchen - Love this place - want to live here full time. The location is just a 10 minute walk to downtown and quite and great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we liked our stay at the malt house apartments. The location was very central although a nightmare to drive to with the whole city centre being dug up and roads closed for the tram (July 2013).
We received a top floor flat which was very nice, the peace and quiet spoilt somewhat during the day by the cleaning staff continually slamming the doors of the other flats as they cleaned them.
Otherwise it was nice to stay there instead of in a hotel (and price would be similar).
Beware that there is no reception. You enter the building and flat with a code. I received ours via EMAIL on the morning of the stay, so somewhat tricky if you don't have mobile access to your email. Happily the doorbell went through to someone who told me the code.
Long term cleaning could have been better also maintenance. Several lightbulbs had failed and also the shower drain was clogged with huge amounts of long black hair. It should be cleaned every year at least. The flat was well stocked with appliances although all were the cheapest non-brand models, the iron included which had broken with the bare wires exposed on the bottom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very spacious appartment, nicely furnished. We stayed only for two nights, but wished for more just as we crossed the door. It even had diswasher and washing machine! The bed was very comfortable, and the sofa and TV were better than our own's.

We were only two but I'd recommend it to families too. You can cook, store your food in the fridge... Just as it was a home away from home. Of course, the free wifi helps :)

The location was perfect for our needs. We just hopped off the airport bus and walked there in 5min. We could just walk everywhere! Supermarkets were around the corner, and there also were two or three pubs just crossing the street.

All in all: a place worth returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malt House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malt House Apartments

Address: 2 Canning Street, Edinburgh, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 185 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning refurbishment of a Grade B listed former whisky bonded warehouse, situated in Edinburgh's bustling West End. The Malt House features a mix of 2 bed and 1 bed studio apartments, available for both short term & long term tourist or corporate lets. A quiet, yet extremely convenient location provides the ideal home for both the business and leisure visitor. The Malt House is easily accessible from Haymarket train station and is less than a minute walk from the Airlink bus stop, providing very quick and easy connections to Edinburgh airport and the rail network. There is a small supermarket just 2 minutes walk from the apartments plus a variety of great pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area. There are also numerous tourist attractions within walking distance, including Edinburgh Castle, the Usher Hall and Princess Street Gardens. George Street is a 5 minute walk away featuring leading shopping attractions, restaurants, bars and clubs. The interior features exposed cast iron columns and original wooden beams to create a very contemporary feel, while integrating the latest technology to allow for an extremely comfortable stay. All apartments come equipped with free wifi broadband, flat screen TVs and i-pod docking stations. A state of the art keypad entry system allows 24-hour secure access and provides a seamless check-in/check-out process with no keys changing hands. Each modern, fully-equipped kitchen is provided with washing machine/dryer and dishwasher. The apartments also feature irons and ironing boards, hairdryers and safes for our guests convenience. All apartments have king size beds, as well as sofa-beds in the lounge to allow for extra guest space. All towels and bed linen are provided along with Starbucks Via instant coffee and Twinings tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Malt House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malt House Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malt House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.