We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Fit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Malt House Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Malt House Apartments to your Saves list
The Malt House Apartments
2 Canning Street, Edinburgh, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Fit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Edinburgh to attend the Military Tattoo at the Edinburgh Castle. The Malthouse Apartments on Canning street are tucked away on a side street very near two of the main streets in Edinburgh. Although the building is off the main roads, taxis are frequent. The HOHO bus stop at St. John's is a five minute walk from the flat. We loved staying there - everything top shelf - although would have liked an extra frying pan and a place to put soaps in the shower, rather than the floor. A very helpful staff, as well. The washing machine in our flat was not working so the staff arranged to have our laundry picked up and returned to us the same day. We were traveling light, so we really counted on being able to wash some of our clothing. Very quiet, comfortable retreat after walking our feet off in the enchanting city of Edinburgh. Could not have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor facing the front of the building. A good choice if you have lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My brother in law got a room at the Starwood a block away and for the same price got a third of the space and NO washing machine or kitchen - Love this place - want to live here full time. The location is just a 10 minute walk to downtown and quite and great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we liked our stay at the malt house apartments. The location was very central although a nightmare to drive to with the whole city centre being dug up and roads closed for the tram (July 2013).
We received a top floor flat which was very nice, the peace and quiet spoilt somewhat during the day by the cleaning staff continually slamming the doors of the other flats as they cleaned them.
Otherwise it was nice to stay there instead of in a hotel (and price would be similar).
Beware that there is no reception. You enter the building and flat with a code. I received ours via EMAIL on the morning of the stay, so somewhat tricky if you don't have mobile access to your email. Happily the doorbell went through to someone who told me the code.
Long term cleaning could have been better also maintenance. Several lightbulbs had failed and also the shower drain was clogged with huge amounts of long black hair. It should be cleaned every year at least. The flat was well stocked with appliances although all were the cheapest non-brand models, the iron included which had broken with the bare wires exposed on the bottom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very spacious appartment, nicely furnished. We stayed only for two nights, but wished for more just as we crossed the door. It even had diswasher and washing machine! The bed was very comfortable, and the sofa and TV were better than our own's.

We were only two but I'd recommend it to families too. You can cook, store your food in the fridge... Just as it was a home away from home. Of course, the free wifi helps :)

The location was perfect for our needs. We just hopped off the airport bus and walked there in 5min. We could just walk everywhere! Supermarkets were around the corner, and there also were two or three pubs just crossing the street.

All in all: a place worth returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went as a couple, arrived at the apartments at around 10PM. Make sure you know which aprtment number you are staying at prior to arrival as we didn't have this info! Fortunately, we managed to get hold of someone and found that we were in #2. This apartment was gorgeous. The shower is amazing, bed very comfortable. Had all the utilities you needed (I.e Ironing board, haridryer, etc) plus more with biscuits, tea, milk.. Perfectly decorated with beautiful big windows and black out blinds.
The location is good - a short stroll to Princess Street..
All in all we were very pleased and would highly reccommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Malt House Apartments were excellent, very comfortable and literally like a home away from home. The location was great, a few minutes walk from Princes Street one way and Edinburgh Castle the other direction. Lovely restaurants nearby and food shops if you fancy eating in for a change. Next time I would arrange to arrive at a time when we could check in straight away to the apartment as the office is the other side of town so if you have to leave your luggage there and return there to get it before you check in at 3pm it's a little inconvenient, but that is a minor gripe and one that could be solved when booking our flights next time! Excellent value for money and a great stay overall, we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fantastic place in a great location close to Westend with nice pubs and restaurants nearby. Very spacious apartment and very nicely furnished. Excellent value for money. We would recommend this and would be very happy to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malt House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malt House Apartments

Address: 2 Canning Street, Edinburgh, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning refurbishment of a Grade B listed former whisky bonded warehouse, situated in Edinburgh's bustling West End. The Malt House features a mix of 2 bed and 1 bed studio apartments, available for both short term & long term tourist or corporate lets. A quiet, yet extremely convenient location provides the ideal home for both the business and leisure visitor. The Malt House is easily accessible from Haymarket train station and is less than a minute walk from the Airlink bus stop, providing very quick and easy connections to Edinburgh airport and the rail network. There is a small supermarket just 2 minutes walk from the apartments plus a variety of great pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area. There are also numerous tourist attractions within walking distance, including Edinburgh Castle, the Usher Hall and Princess Street Gardens. George Street is a 5 minute walk away featuring leading shopping attractions, restaurants, bars and clubs. The interior features exposed cast iron columns and original wooden beams to create a very contemporary feel, while integrating the latest technology to allow for an extremely comfortable stay. All apartments come equipped with free wifi broadband, flat screen TVs and i-pod docking stations. A state of the art keypad entry system allows 24-hour secure access and provides a seamless check-in/check-out process with no keys changing hands. Each modern, fully-equipped kitchen is provided with washing machine/dryer and dishwasher. The apartments also feature irons and ironing boards, hairdryers and safes for our guests convenience. All apartments have king size beds, as well as sofa-beds in the lounge to allow for extra guest space. All towels and bed linen are provided along with Starbucks Via instant coffee and Twinings tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Malt House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malt House Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malt House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.