We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brunch in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardener's Cottage

The Gardener's Cottage
1 Royal Terrace Gardens, Edinburgh EH7 5DX, Scotland
0131 558 1221
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gardener's Cottage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 1,825 restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best brunch in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

There can't be anywhere in Edinburgh where you'll be presented with a better plate of home produced bacon, Stornoway black pudding and garden produce than at the Gardener's Cottage. It's an uplifting experience, especially as the garden from whence much of the greenery is chopped is just by your side. We loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    127
    57
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great experience with local fresh ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This ex Gardener's cottage for Carlton Hill is small but with shared tables a good number are fitted in for the set menu over six courses. Excellent local ingredients some grown at the cottage. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. It helps to get on with the people sharing your table but a great evening can be enjoyed. It is advisable to book in advance due to the limited covers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Special place, wondeful food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had the 6 course tasting menu (£30) and I had the matched wines (£35).

We were lucky to get a table as this little place is growing in popularity.

We managed to get a 5pm slot. Now is you are planning a very romantic evening or want to have a serious conversation this is maybe not the place as you are seated next to other diners on a communal table.

The kitchen is in the dining room - lovely seeing the chefs at work. The other thing that I loved was that staff were picking stuff from the garden on the evening - now you can't get fresher than that.

The portions were small but perfectly formed. I finished every morsel of food from every course.

This is the ultimate in stress free dining - no making dinner choices, no food envy just 100% enjoyable.

I am going to start to save some pennies to return. Great place - well done to all the staff who make this such a special place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A real taste experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

6 course set menu. Very imaginative and adventurous use of fresh local ingredients. Very cosy and friendly atmosphere. Sat on long benches with 10 people so not your choice if you want intimate and romantic.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hit or miss?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Eating out can be a bit hit or miss, and I am not one for taking in hype. I had a very pleasant hour or so in this very congenial locale, which pleasantly feels like eating at a mates house somewhere in the country. I spent a good deal of time deconstructing the carefully designed fixtures and fittings and how they'd not managed to ruin a charming little building. Great relaxing atmosphere and perfectly acceptable nosh, and there was a staff changeover - guaranteed to knock things out of kilter. Relatively inexpensive. Bread baked on site. All in all very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gardener's Cottage also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Gardener's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardener's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.