We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar

Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar
21 Old Fishmarket Close, Edinburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fantastic Christmas menu…different from the standard fayre. Cullen Skink, Juicy thick Sirloin steak. Great service

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    58
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited on Saturday 7th December. When we arrived Michael came to let us know there were a lot of Christmas parties expected in and apologised in advance for any noise. He also offered us a free cocktail after our meal which we thought was really nice of him.
Although the Christmas parties were in good spirits we were still treated wonderfully by the staff all evening and didn't find it disruptive.
The food was absolutely beautiful, especially the scallops which were perfectly cooked and went really well with the other flavours on the plate. The best part was the white chocolate fondant which was to die for!
After our meal we had a few gorgeously mixed cocktails upstairs in the bar - the bar tender really knows his stuff!
All in all we had a lovely evening and felt as though we were welcome to stay and relax for as long as we wanted. Excellent. Will definitely be back for more!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredensborg, Danmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem away from the Royal Mile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stumbled across this little gem of a Whiskey bar and restaurant. Initially we just wanted to get away from the hustle on "The Royal Mile" and set out to get a bit of warmth with a nice whiskey. We found the service from the staff very attentive and helpfull so we came back the day after for lunch. And what a treat!
The lunch card is very well composed and can satisfy anybody. It is all made of local produce but with an innovative touch that makes it well worth the effort to visit.
The overall price for this experience was very low (compared to a danish level) and we were very happy with the quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks - UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great evening and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The food and service were both excellent. The atmosphere whilst quiet was informal and not stuffy. Main courses and cheese were both very good. We both felt the starter of smoked salmon and crab was a little unbalanced and didn't do the crab justice. I'd had marked the meal at 4.5 in light of this as they could have done better there. Other everything was very good at a price of well less than £100 including a bottle of wine and whiskey.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money for quality food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Visited with my wife on a Tuesday night in November. It was very cold outside but the restaurant was still half full and bustling. The restaurant has a bar on the ground floor where you can have a drink before your meal, with the dining room downstairs in the basement.

As other reviewers have commented, the restaurant is really spacious and the chef has created a very private dining experience. The staff here were also excellent, chatting about the dishes and giving recommendations.

The food was of a very high standard. We had the scallops/pork belly and ham hock ravioli for starters, the steak/dauphinoise and roast grouse for mains, and the white chocolate fondant and tarte tatin for desserts. Whilst the desserts were just good, the starters and mains were excellent. You get good portions too: neither of us went hungry.

Perhaps best of all, you get top quality food at very reasonable prices. Three courses each, a bottle of house red and two coffees came to £85. Unbelievable value when you'd probably pay a similar amount in a good gastropub.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.