We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is typically Edinburgh at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Edinburgh Thistle Hotel to your Saves list
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aachen, Germany
1 review
“This is typically Edinburgh at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I spent two days at the hotel for a weekend-trip, and that was a very good choice: Very well-located - quite neighbourhood, close to Water of Leith walkway, but also close to train station, good pubs and the city centre. friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    136
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
79
117
34
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had a 2 night stay here en route to Newcastle after flying in from Cyprus. The hotel had a warm and cosy feel. The staff on the reception Gregg and Annick were very friendly and welcoming. The cooked Scottish breakfast was delicious, well cooked and very good portions.....it really set us up for the day.

Rates were very good although we did book a pre-Christmas special which also included a free bottle of wine.....which was very much appreciated!

The only thing I would say is although the room we stayed in was nice the bathroom maybe could have done with a re-furbish. But all in all we had a pleasant stay here and would go back if we fly to Edinburgh again.

Duncan and Susan Millar

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Perhaps we were just unfortunate with our room which was on the top floor (68 steps with very heavy suitcase, and no one to bring up the case) and it was very cold and a bit "musty"
Excellent bar facilities and good breakfast although we felt that the waitress was in a hurry to get home and removed everything almost before we had finished.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed for a night last week, the staff were friendly, the room was a good size, clean and had excellent facilities. It is in a good location just up from Princess Street. I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We came here for our Ruby wedding and made the right choice. Small 3* with extremely friendy and welcoming staff, even Greg the owner regularly found time to chat with us and Annick the house manager is a lovely lady, both came out to wave us off when we left, a really personal touch, the complementary bottle of wine was also welcome and I had ordered extra's, all was in place on arrival. It is in a nice, quiet area and only a short walk from all Edinburgh sights. It has lovely Georgian period features and a really welcoming bar and dining room. I cannot rate this friendly hotel highly enough and will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, CT, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel is in a good location for walking. Nice rooms, helpful staff, great breakfast and great showers. Very clean and cozy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed a week for the Festival. The location is perfect, it is within walking distance of the major sights and yet in a very quiet neighborhood. The staff is incredibly warm and go out of their way to help; you are greeted by name and treated like a valued guest. I had to make a couple of changes to the reservation prior to arrival and each time I received a prompt reply from Annick or Greg who were able to accomodate us. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with all amenities, but one of them was in need of an update, it had torn wallpaper and the carpet was a bit tired and the shower fixture was hard to operate.

The continental breakfast was a disappointment, not because of the very limited selection, but because it appeared to be the same rolls and croissants offered several days in a row. A full Scottish breakfast was available at additional charge.

Overall I recommend this hotel and would stay there again because of the warm hospitality and location, but probably have breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.