We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B&B in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmarAgua Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AmarAgua Guest House
Save
You added AmarAgua Guest House to your Saves list
10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LaGrange, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Super B&B in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amar Aqua was an excellent b&b in a great location in Edinburgh.Tony & Dawn Ann were the perfect hosts & always had good recommendations for nearby restaurants .We (two couples) stayed three nights.The rooms were elegant,comfortable & spotless.Breakfast was tasty & ample.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was very much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    16
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
40
187
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenzach-Wyhlen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at AmarAgua 4 times in the last two years. The B&B lies in a quiet residential area near the centre of Edinburgh and is absolutely fantastic! The Kingsize Four poster bedrooms are beautifully decorated. The hosts are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you Marco & Alissia for your review it is always a pleasure to have you in our house.
Look forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The proprietors of AmarAgua Guest House, Dawn-Ann and Tony Costa, put forth exceptional effort to welcome and provide for the comfort of their guests. Their Victorian home is beautifully decorated and their front and back gardens are exceptionally well landscaped. My room was very comfortable and exceeded all of my needs. Their breakfast menu offers a wide range of options and their food equals or exceeds anything that I have had in a fine hotel or restaurant. For the two mornings when I had to leave very early, they prepared a delicious sack brunch for me. The guest house is located a short bus ride from the historic center of Edinburgh and the train station, with the bus stop less than a block from the front door of the guest house. They have special arrangements with a taxi company to offer their guests a reduced rate for travel to or from the Edinburgh airport. This is a lovely home-away-from-home for the traveler to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review . It is such a pleasure to do what we do, especially when we have lovely guests like yourself. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This B&B is in the perfect location in Edinburgh! The hosts are exceptional, and the breakfast is 5 star quality. The decor was very nice throughout, the room was quiet and had a beautiful attached bathroom. The hosts are very organized and helpful. My husband and I absolutely loved our stay here and can't wait to return in the future. Can't say enough great things about this B&B, thank you Dawn and Tony!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks Guys! so glad you enjoyed your time with us and to hear you like both the city and the service we supply, your comments are really appreciated and thank you for taking the time to review us. We too are looking forward to your next visit!...soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Situated in Kilmaurs Terrace just off the Dalkeith road, the Amar Agua does not look that impressive from the outside, set in a row of block built terrace houses. However the experience begins inside. The freindly welcome from Dawn makes you. feel at ease right away. The look and feel of the main hallway exudes class and attention to detail. We stayed as a party of 7 adults occupying 4 rooms (one was a triple consisting of a double with a spearate single) over for the Tattoo week-end.
All rooms were tastefully decorated,clean and welcoming. Good firm bed in the room my wife an I occupied with an appropriate tartan decor. The bathroom though compact was clean and airy, with complimentary soaps, moisturiser and shower gel, quality towelling for hand and shower and spotless. The plastic washhand basin was a bit disappointing given the quality of the other fittings, however you only use it when your washing so I can overlook this.The room had a TV, tea, coffee (real cafeterie coffee) and muffins on arrival, these were topped up daily. The room was cleaned every day and beds made up.
Each of us were given our own key and this was useful especially when coming back late from Edinburgh ( a 20 min stroll away).

The breakfasts were fantastic, good choice of cereals and cooked breakfast menu to suit all tastes, beautifully presented and served with a smile by the very personable co-owner Tony. every day you were give a copy of the menu to pre-order for the next morning, although changes were possible, this lead to a very efficient breakfast regime. Every plate of food was given the same treatment and would not be out of place in top hotel. The place was fully occupied following our arrival and the max number of guests at any one time is around 11.
My only issue was the lack of a residents lounge, although the did have a reading spot with a library of books on the 1st floor landing.

Amar Agua has a very high rating from a number of agencies and rightly so, therefore you pay a premium price for your stay. Based on the service, the food and the general care and attention given to the guest it is good value for money.

Would I recommend it? If you want a respite from the city, friendly helpful hosts and a welcoming rooom to lay your head after a day walking the citys. Yes.

(If you get tired walking a taxi to Waverley Bridge and back is about £16)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Unfortunately the dimensions of our house do not allow us to accommodate a guest lounge, but we do try to do our best with the limited space we have.
We are a nice distance from the tourist centre with great public transport links by taxi and also various buses, which are very good value at £3:50 for an all day, unlimited ticket.
Looking forward to seeing you and the rest of the family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a B&B away from the bustle of the city center, but an easy 10 minute bus ride to the action. It is quiet, the rooms are very romantic, and the breakfasts are great. A little road noise from Dalkin Road for rooms on the front of the house.

I would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. Our Double glazed windows manage to isolate the little traffic noise that may occur on the nearby road , however we have had some very warm nights (unusual for Scotland) where the windows may be left open and it is inevitable to hear a little traffic noise as the city awakens in the mornings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheringham
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from three nights at the fringe staying with Tony and Dawn Ann at the wonderful AmarAgua guest house. Why anyone would stay anywhere else in Edinburgh is beyond me! My sister in law and I chose the triple option - she had the double and I the single on the second floor. Everything you require was provided with good humour and good grace. I asked for ice and was immediately given an ice bucket full. The beds were so comfortable that a good night's sleep was a dead cert but it was those little extras that made it so special - the delicious Scottish shortbreads replaced every day, the exquisite breakfast choices - from waffles piled with delicious summer fruits to the ultimate Scottish breakfast complete with haggis, all complemented by Tony's ever cheery banter.
We loved it so much that we are determined to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: They are all ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your glorious review, it was very much appreciated. We do hope you had a great time in Edinburgh during the Festival period and that your overall experience was a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmarAgua Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmarAgua Guest House

Address: 10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmarAgua is a comfortable Victorian residence, situated in a quiet residential area, built in the 1880s but recently upgraded retaining many original features, it is the perfect location for those who want to relax away from the noise of the capital but at the same time stay not too far from the city centre and all main attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amaragua Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
AmarAgua Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmarAgua Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.