We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for City Centre with Car Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craigmoss Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Craigmoss Guest House to your Saves list
Craigmoss Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moray, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ideal for City Centre with Car Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here yesterday during the Edinburgh Fringe festival. At this time of year all accommodation is very expensive, however we found a room at this guest house that accommodated 4 adults which was ideal for us and made it very cheap per person.
The guesthouse is only a 15/20 min walk from the royal mile but has plenty of shops/bars and restaurants nearby. If you don't want to walk the guesthouse is also on a bus route which can take you straight to the city centre. Outside the guesthouse there is on-street parking which is free of charge also.
Our room comprised of a large double bed, double sofa bed and single day bed with an en-suite. The room was lovely and spacious and did not feel cramped even though there was 4 of us sharing.
The only downside i found to the guesthouse was that the road outside was quite loud but this would definitely not put me off staying again.
Would highly recommend and will most certainly stay again when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    94
    27
    14
    17
See reviews for
68
152
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My partner and I chose to stay here so we could go a little sight seeing...
When I booked the b&b I was automatically assured that we chose the right place down to the hostesses care and consideration over the phone.

On arrival we were asked how our journey was and shown to our room. Our room was lovely, very clean, beautifully decorated, everything seemed to have been considered by our hosts... right down to cotton buds in the bathroom.

We had a wonderful sleep and the bed was soooo comfy! The duvet and pillows were of a high quality.

Breakfast was perfect and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. They advised us on what the best attractions were and when we got back we were asked how our day was!

We had a wonderful experience and would recommend this b&b to everyone!
The price was very reasonable and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is an excellent Guest House to stay in if you are looking for a good stay in Edinburgh. Only a 15 minute walk or so into the town means it is easy to get in and out when needed. Craigmoss itself is a very nice place to stay with a lovely breakfast room and our room was very clean and comfortable. Isabelle was a fantastic host and really made us feel welcome and at home, Molly and Lexi the dogs really added to the experience as well! We would thoroughly recommend the guesthouse to anybody who needs a great place to stay in Edinburgh! Thanks for a great stay. James and Lalana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect from Edinburgh but good location for walking to town and getting feel of place. A busy place with lots to see an do. Only scratched the surface in our 2 night stay but saw heaps. great breakfast and very good hosts. Hard to rate value for money as we found it very expensive....no with to offend. Would have loved to stay longer. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cladich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I arrived in Edinburgh on Tuesday 16th July with my daughter, my mother and little Kelty the Lhasa Apso. We had a booking though a letting agency and had been badly let down by them. It was late in the afternoon and i left my mum and daughter to go into the city to try and find somewhere for us. After 2 hours in the tourist information office i had no luck and got on the bus to return to my mum with the sad news that our holiday would be cancelled and we would have to sleep on the floor of my friends house that night to get the train in the morning. I was devistated.

On the bus i was looking out the window as we travelled along Pilrig Street and i saw a vacency sign, i actually jumped up shouting STOP THE BUS! STOP THE BUS! yes its true my fellow passengers may have been a little shocked, but the bus stopped and i found Craigmoss Guest House. Im sure Isobel probably thought i was quite mad as i was close to tears as i explained what had happened but she had a family room for all of us including the wee dog and i could have hugged her.

The room was beautiful, the beds were wonderfully comfortable, the whole house is gorgeous and breakfast was fantastic. To top it off Isobel is one of the nicest women ever.

I found Craigmoss Guest House by chance but i recommend to all, dont leave it to chance, give them a call if your going to Edinburgh. This is the best guest house you will find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had an overnight stay at the hotel in the top twin room. Its ideally situated for Leith Harbour & Princess st. We got a good deal but I don't think we'd have paid the full price if that's what was on offer. Also a very nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute... very helpful and friendly. ..... has double room at top of house. Ensuite double room. ..very handy as. bus stops are virtually outside foe going to and from Edinburgh City.
Free on road parking available.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigmoss Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmoss Guest House

Address: 62 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigmoss Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Craigmoss Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Craigmoss Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigmoss Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.