We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Save Saved
You added The Chester Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chester Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Outstanding Place in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked the Chester Residence for a romantic weekend in May. The place is stunning in every aspect. Great team with excellent service and the apartments are of the highest standards. Would definitely recommend to stay at Chester Residenece if planning a trip to Edinburgh.

Wer eine wirklich authentische Residenz für einen Trip nach Edinburgh sucht, sollte auf jeden Fall einige Nächte hier in einer der sehr exklusiv und geschmackvoll gestalteten Wohnungen einplanen.

Room Tip: We loved the slight qwerkiness of apartment No 3 in the original Chester Street building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,049
    66
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
197
621
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

There is no doubt that the Chester Residence must be one of the best paces to stay in any city, not just Edinburgh. As two couples (one of which was my parents) we were looking for something that allowed us some space and time to catch up and the 2 bedroom apartment fulfilled that brief and more. It was wonderfully well appointed and had all the facilities we needed. If you plan on cooking you will need to take all the ingredients with you down to the salt and pepper as none of this is supplied but there is tea and coffee and all the utensils and cookware you'd require.
We were able to set up our own home-from-home for the period of our stay but better than home as if you needed anything, like a taxi being ordered, the excellent staff on the front desk were there to sort everything out for you.
A great view and the easy location for all the main parts of the city topped it off. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 7/2 was great. The upper floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had a two night wonderful stay at the Chester Apartments and would definitely consider staying again. Cosily situated in the leafy West End area amongst small offices and residential apartments it really is a classy way to stay in Edinburgh.

I gave it 4/5 as there were a few snagging issues with the flat including a soap rack hanging off the wall. It was also quite noisy if the other apartments have their TV on. Finally, providing a small bottle of water complimentary is nice but to not replace it for the second night is a little mean when the room is about £200 per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and couldn't fault the service. We had the deluxe apartment and every room was clean, spacious and had all the mod cons you require for a city break. If you want something extra then go for the hotel packages, well worth the extra dosh and can be tailored to your coming and goings which we took advantage of. Would definately stay here again next time in the city.

One slight negative although not chesters fault but I got two parking tickets for my car even though I had paid for parking. The Ringo parking app sometimes didn't work and literally the 20 min that my ticket expired I got a ticket and also first thing in the morning when we were leaving. The wardens are like piranhas in that area so keep an eye on it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Stunning apartment in a perfect location only overshadowed by the service which is both friendly and professional. Would recommend to anyone wanting luxury. So much space and meticulously kept to the highest standards.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My partner and I booked an apartment at The Chester Residence for a short break in Edinburgh and were over the moon when we arrived. The apartments are within beautiful West End Townhouses and only a short walk from the city centre. We were given a free upgrade to the Owners's Residence - it was incredible - massive Jacuzzi, cinema room, lovely garden, Armani bed linen, everything about it was luxurious and to a very high standard. The staff were also very lovely and so helpful, made us feel right at home, first rate service. Would love to stay again, I really cannot praise The Chester Residence highly enough. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here in May 2014 and was nothing but impressed. From the moment we arrived and were greeted on the street, to the moment we left we were treated so well by all the staff. They referred to us by name at all times and their attention to detail is amazing!

We stayed on Chester Street and the apartments there are superb. Decorated to a very high standard and the furnishings are very tasteful. The bed was very comfortable and the apartment was not missing a single thing.

Truly wonderful stay. If you are going to Edinburgh then there is simply nowhere else to consider staying.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence (voted Scottish Hotel of the year at the Scottish Hotel 2012 awards) is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.