We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Our Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chester Residence to your Saves list
The Chester Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Beyond Our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Having never stayed in a serviced apartment previously, we could not begin to describe our delight in discovering the "Chester Experience". The moment we arrived to the moment we departed, the customer service was exemplary not to mention the wonderful ambience created by a period property displaying many of its original features balanced with modern conveniences including induction cooking facilities, Sky TV, coffee machine, dishwasher etc. The open gas fuelled fire place was a welcome friend upon arrival and upon return each night. Great location, great staff, great experience. What more could one want?
Geoff & Kerri 8/3 apartment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    83
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
223
739
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife, adult daughter and I spent 3 nights recently at The Chester and we loved it. We stayed in a spacious, modern 2 bedroom apartment that was absolutely fantastic and a lot less expensive than getting 2 rooms in The Balmoral or any other similar hotel. The location in Haymarket is extremely close to The Castle and Old Town - the walk to the base of The Castle is 10 minutes. The staff at The Chester was very friendly and helpful.

Edinburgh is an amazing city. When I go back to Edinburgh, I will definitely stay in The Chester again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uphall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What can I say , where do I begin . I have just this morning returned from the best hotel stay I have EVER had ! I rented the owners residence with the huge jacuzzi bath , separate cinema room , rain shower wet room in the ensuite ,state of the art kitchen and 2 huge plasma tvs for our 20th anniversary .
The attention to detail and quality of the design and finishing is second to none . Throw into the mix the best customer service ever , you now have a repeat customer . Whist the receptionist was showing my husband and I how to work the cinema and projector another member of staff had discreetly placed two glasses of champagne and a congratulations card on the kitchen work surface , so when the receptionist was leaving the flat she then pointed to the newly poured glasses and offered her congratulations . Now that is what I called service.
This is the first time I have ever left a review but this hotel is exceptional if you are looking for the wow factor for a romantic get a away this is your go to hotel .
5 starts all round absolutely the best ever !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed here in November 2013 for a night in the Owners Residence. What a fantastic welcome we received- they greeted us and then gave us a small tour of the buildings and then took us to our luxury suite. From the Gucci throw's on the bed to the understated style of the living room, everything was just perfect. There was even a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room! We ordered room service a couple of times throughout the night and each time it was quick and we got exactly what we wanted.
There was a small misunderstanding over a breakfast which was ordered but this was immediately put right by the reception staff when I checked out. Overall, I will be back here in a heartbeat. Even if it is not in the top suite it is well worth treating yourself to a stay at the Chester Residence.

Room Tip: The Owners Residence is such a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The price was competitive. The service was good, and the location was decent. I enjoyed my stay here, but I don´t think that I would stay here again. We rented the penthouse apartment, and were disappointed to find that we had to climb about 80 steps to get to the elevator-less apartment.

The space was very comfortable, and the apartment´s materials and detailed finishes were nice enough to enjoy it for the time we stayed. I did think, however, that the location could have been better.

As I said before, it was pretty good, but not what we were hoping for. After walking through the city for about 20 miles in three days, we realized that the best place to stay is on Princes Street near the Scott Monument. We weren´t very far, but at night, in the cold, and in the darkness, we would have felt safer and more comfortable being a couple of blocks from a more central location on Princes Street.

As it was, we were about three or four blocks from one end of Princes Street, but since most of the activities are closer to the middle of Princes Street, we found ourselves being a bit too far from where we would have stayed if we had the knowledge prior to staying there.

Also, because these are apartments, I would have liked a more hotel feel. While the service was very good, I felt it was very good as an apartment support staff, not so much as a hotel staff. After seeing several options, I think next time I will look into staying at the Balmoral.

Room Tip: The upper penthouse is comfortable, but the building has no elevator, so if you don´t like walking u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I booked two nights at the Chester Residence as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday in October. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi, we were made to feel welcomed and special by the attentive staff (who were fantastic for the duration of our stay). I was impressed by the brilliant reviews and the look of the rooms on the website, but I was still stunned by the sheer size and impeccable decor when we got into our apartment.

The kitchen had everything we needed - from a Nespresso machine down to the cheese grater - and all of the rooms were spotless. The location couldn't have been better - a beautiful, safe part of town just a few minutes' walk from Princes Street.

We've been recommending the Chester Residence to everyone since we returned from our trip, and can't wait to go back - we're actually talking about visiting on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were only staying in Edinburgh one night having had a few nights in the borders, so were a little apprehensive about being in an apartment that it might be "too much" and over the top just for one day.

Fortunately.. we were wrong! We were staying in the penthouse (8/1) which had great views. the apartment itself was very well appointed with lots of little details that made it. Everything very comfortable indeed, and it was useful to have a kitchen even if we barely used it and went out for dinner. If I had to find any faults, the integrated audio system wasn't working properly in the bathroom (which wasn't a big deal for us at all and we did mention it to reception) and it only worked with Sky, not the DVD player.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, it seemed that nothing was too much trouble and once they've shown you to your room they stay out of your way so you can enjoy the place. It really does feel like you're "at home" whilst being in a hotel. Location was spot on, 10mins walk to the city centre.

Will definitely come back again (although would have to save up and stay for longer!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.