We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Chester Residence to your Saves list
The Chester Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Home from home and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My family and I stayed for 2 nights at the Chester Residence in April for my sister-in-laws wedding. I wanted to stay somewhere which had a kitchen as I had to cook and warm up bottles for my children which the standard hotels didn't offer. There were 4 adults and 2 children and we stayed in a club apartment. The kitchen area was brilliant. It had all the utensils / appliances I required. What was more, everything was ultra modern and clean - even better than my own home! They provided molton brown products in the bathroom - what a bonus! The reception / doorman were wonderful and helped us flag down taxis and hull our pushchair in and out. The living area is really spacious and I even had my niece and nephew round to play. They had more than enough room to run around. All in all, a wonderful stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again next time I'm in Edinburgh with the family. What really satisfied me the most about the Chester Residence is that my father-in-law who stayed with us in the apartment, gave his seal of approval and asked why the rest of the family didn't choose to stay at the same place :D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    75
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
207
696
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the exceptional Chester Residences.
We booked a standard room but were lucky enough to be offered an upgrade. Our room occupied the whole 1st flr of No8 a short walk from reception. From being shown through the door of our apartment the quality and attention to detail was obvious. The decor has been finished by an interior designer to a very high standard and there are touches everywhere that pleased us. The whole building feels warm and inviting and is complimented by the excellent but unobtrusive staff who want your stay to be special. This is not really a hotel, it offers flexibility and you feel like you have your own chic apartment in an exclusive part of town. Really individual experience and worth every penny. Thankyou

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I chose to surprise my partner with a stay here and was not disappointed, the service, location and accommodation were second to none. Absolutely wonderful stay, just a shame we were only there for one night. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't be more helpful and we were upgraded to one of the two bedroom suites. Thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere special to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I took my son and his wife to Edinburgh and stayed at the Chester Residence as a treat,-WOW-everything was perfect, fabulous apartment, wonderful staff, would love to have stayed for a week, we shall certainly go back for another visit. What a fantastic experience!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on 22nd October for my birthday. Staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. If u dont know Edinburgh they are very knowledgable on where to go, whether it be bars/restaurants. We ended up in the Penthouse apartment - WOW - I didnt want to leave!!! We will definately be back and I have no hesitation in recommending The Chester to others. ★★★★★

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Having booked a long weekend in Edinburgh, thought it would be a good idea to be closer to town for the last day so booked a night at three Chester residence.

From the beautiful apartment, the friendly staff and prime location I could really find no fault in the experience.

Only downside was that I had to go back home after! :(

Isaac

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This is my perfect place, I would live here if I could. The apartments are amazing and every single member of staff was wonderful. My husband and I stayed for two nights in room 8/3 the lounge was stunning especially the remote controlled fire, family members stayed in room 7/1 the bath was free standing with a tv in the wall.

Most boutique hotels have amazing rooms but snotty staff but this place is the real deal. We would stay here again and would tell anyone to do the same. The location is great nice and quiet but you can walk into town easily.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence (voted Scottish Hotel of the year at the Scottish Hotel 2012 awards) is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.