We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, courteous, quiet, elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Save Saved
You added The Chester Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Chester Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb, courteous, quiet, elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Chester was an ideal first stop for a couple of days after a long-haul flight with my daughters to look at Universities. We were a bit jet- lagged, and our extremely quiet and comfortable apartment was ideal for sleeping, and we so appreciated a fresh quart of milk in the fridge for our coffees and teas at the odd hours we woke up. And organic delicious milk too! Easy location from which to explore the city, and a very helpful and courtesous staff. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    973
    59
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
177
576
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 28-30 March 2013 - the first stop on our 5 week holiday of the UK and Italy. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable 1 bedroom apartment with nice finishes and plenty of room. After flight delays and missed connections ex Australia, we appreciated the warm welcome (and complementary glasses of bubbly which arrived as we settled in). If you are looking to step out of your front door into the thick of the tourist action, perhaps the location will be a little quiet. However, if you are looking for a quiet, first class, impeccably clean, and spacious stay, about 10 mins walk to plenty of pubs and all inner city attractions, I don't think you will go wrong at the Chester. We won't consider anywhere else if we are fortunate enough to visit Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Chester Residence for 2 nights in February 2013 for our anniversary.

It is the first time that we had stayed here but we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who took our bags straight to our room. We checked in straight away and then we were showed to our apartment by the lady who checked us in. She showed us around the apartment, how everything worked, and where we would find everything. They had milk in the fridge for us and bottle water etc. Very professional.

She also took the time to talk us through where all the best bars, restaurants and other attractions where and marked them on a map for us.

The quality of the fit out of the building was very good having top end kitchen and bathroom, heated bathroom mirror, large bath and a large walk in shower. Very impressed with all the attention to detail.

The decoration of the room and the quality of all the appliances was also high.

The bed was very comfortable and the room had black out blinds and curtains.

The bar was very well stocked and the staff were really helpful again as were the room service.

The location of the hotel is brilliant been located in an up market quiet town house area close to the city centre.

The only thing I was not keen on was the car park which was 2 streets away down a very rough cobbled narrow access.

Will most certainly book at the Chester Residence next time we visit Edinburgh. We have stayed in several hotels in Edinburgh over the years and this is by far the most relaxing and enjoyable place we have stayed.

I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights here at the end of February and it was perfect!! The size of the room, kitchen, the service and the location were perfect!! We were in Edinburgh to visit some people so didn't get to linger in the gorgeous surroundings but for sure would stay here again should be be visiting Edinburgh. All of the staff were absolutely delightful and helpful and we would so highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great location, lovely apartment! Great staff!! Classy!!! Enjoyed the living areas, quality. Would love to be able to have breakfast downstairs in bar area. But then you can't have everything. Loved the Scottish feel with kilts and friendly very helpful staff willing day and night to make stay fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My only regret that I never tipped as lavishly as I would have liked! Upgraded gorgeousness
The hotel and its suites are understated and select but never snobbish.....love it!
We had lots of help, pleasant interactions with staff but courteous privacy. A tall order!
I loved the bell boy kilts too!

Room Tip: Penthouses you don't want to leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, well-appointed apartment. Massive size with great service! I stayed this March, when it was freezing outside and the central heating and under floor heating in the bathroom and kitchen were much appreciated. Only let down by draughty window in the bedroom which the curtains couldn't completely block out. Pity as I would've given a 5* rating otherwise.

Service is excellent - very helpful (Angie and Mark in particular). I gave the staff a box of chocs as thanks :p

Staff uniforms very smart - love the kilts!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence (voted Scottish Hotel of the year at the Scottish Hotel 2012 awards) is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Venere so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.