We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chester Residence to your Saves list
The Chester Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Literally cannot fault this hotel. My husband and I stayed here just before Valentine's day weekend and it was absolutely perfect for the following reasons:

- Service: Extremely friendly, polite, professional staff who will do just about anything to make sure you have an amazing, comfortable stay.

- Upgrade: They upgraded us without us even asking! Who does that!? Amazing!

- Location: Very central but quiet, safe neighbourhood. Closest feeling to living in Edinbrough. A short walk to shops, boutiques, etc.

- Rooms: Luxurious, modern, FREE nespresso (and milk) every day, Beds were extremely comfortable and you have option to choose pillows.

- Room Service: Unlike most hotels where you're stuck with their food and their extortionate prices, you can order from any local restaurant and they'll handle everything (including the bill which you can just add to your room and pay at checkout). Just call the front desk for recomendations and menus.

I could go on but essentially they're doing EVERYTHING RIGHT.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    83
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
223
739
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Tachbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Penthouse Suite. Absolutely wonderful, spacious beautifully appointed apartment. This apartment required climbing several stairs ( concierge assisted with luggage). Amazing views over Edinburgh! Very quiet and so comfortable. Loved the bathroom particularly the huge shower and huge bathtub!! Initial difficulty filling tub due to pop up plug. Problem solved by seeking assistance.
Huge comfortable bed, large bedroom with ample storage space.
Lounge area with seductive lighting and very comfortable furniture, TV, audio.
Well designed compact kitchen with superb appliances. Some difficulty with operating cooker hob. Assistance was quickly provided by a young man in kilt. Such a simple issue, a basic instruction sheet would have been so useful , thus avoiding need for assistance.
The Staff were extremely helpful, but discreet. Restaurant recommendations, reservations for taxis which arrived promptly.Would absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I first stumbled upon The Chester Residence over a year ago when myself and my partner were looking to escape our flat in Edinburgh which had flooded. We decided to rent an apartment for the night as we wanted somewhere with a kitchen and came across the Chester Residence. Rather bedraggled and chilled to the bone, we were immediately enveloped in the wonderful warmth and hospitality that makes the Chester Residence so special. We always remembered this one night fondly for how well looked after we were and how beautiful the apartment was.

One year later and I made the nerve-wrecking decision to propose to my partner. It seemed only right to start the evening off by taking her back to The Chester Residence. The staff at the hotel, unknown to me, had made some special arrangements of their own. We were led to an incredible suite with an indoor jacuzzi, private garden and private two person home cinema. On returning from town, they asked after us, and hearing we were happily engaged, came to our door with a champagne toast, and our first congratulatory card.

It was perfect. I couldn't imagine anything better. They helped create the most memorable evening of our lives and cemented their place as the only the place we would consider staying in Edinburgh. In fact, we believe that the only negative comment we can leave is that they have ruined other hotel visits for us as nothing has yet to live up to their standard.

Our only suggestion is that they start to host weddings! So far every venue we have seen has been met with 'well, it's not exactly the Chester Residence'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Luxurious rooms, modern with beautiful design touches and an understated elegance that really makes you feel special.
Without doubt the key factor to this hotels success is it's staff. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt like we had our own personal concierge, as whenever we needed anything someone magically appeared!
Rose and I have stayed in some amazing hotels around the world over the years and the staff at the Chester residence are a match for any we have had the pleasure to encounter anywhere.
If you are looking for a bit of luxury and 5 star service look no further.

Room Tip: We had a penthouse, which had the most amazing bathroom and great view to the castle from the bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful apartment and really welcoming staff, it made for a great break after our wedding. Great band playing in the bar on Friday night; we even had a complimentary glass of champagne on the house :)

Room Tip: 8/1 (top flat) had a great view over the city - lovely view of the castle from the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The apartment was amazing, with a level of luxury that is truely oustanding. I am a pretty seasoned traveller and have stayed at some amazing hotels in my time, but this was simply the best place I have ever stayed! The staff are friendly, so helpful, and really go out of their way to make sure your stay is special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday weekend at the end of January. After wanting to visit Edinburgh for many years I decided to book the Chester residence after seeing the TripAdvisor reviews and the hotels own website which shows off the amazing rooms. From the moment we got there to the last minute we absolutely loved it!....the location, service and amazing rooms are as good as you can get. The rooms really do give you a wow/tingle factor as you walk in, large no make that huge! modern and very nicely furnished with a great TV which any guy will tell you is essential!. Cant really add anything to the countless other 5 out of 5 star reviews, no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Expected a lot when I booked and wasn't disappointed, treat yourself and book it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.