We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Save Saved
You added The Chester Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chester Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic quality accomodation in a great location. We stayed in Apt 9/3 which has a huge lounge area, really nice kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful and very kindly booked tables for me for dinner at very short notice. This is certainly the place I've stayed in Edinburgh and is probably on of the best places I've stayed anywhere. I could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,039
    65
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
195
614
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The day I checked in, I posted on my FB that the apartment was an epitome of luxury and that I had never see anything like this before and probably will never see again. The residence was a combination of what one expects for complete satisfaction of soul and body. Fabulous, Luxurious, convenient and and and and.............................................................................
Centrally located from all attraction. The staff was very caring and the so were the services. The healthy sundae for the breakfast was fab and I carried the recipe home with me. Always keep wondering, why don't other places have such standards of quality. Long to be here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What can be said that hasn't been already? These residences are just fantastic! Modern, perfectly maintained, incredibly roomy, and every appliance and electronic convenience you could reasonably want. We walked everywhere in Edinburgh from here, though if you desire, it's an inexpensive cab ride to almost anywhere. Great check in and out. Helpful very pleasant staff. A very pleasant experience all the way around. Would unhesitatingly recommend to the fussiest traveler I know - 5 Star Steve. Go ahead, book it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for one night (wished it was longer!) in November when visiting Edinburgh for the first time and I must say this was by far the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We arrived hours before check in as we wanted to make sure we were able to find the hotel - great location and we were able to leave our bags there while we explored the city! The staff are so welcoming and friendly and the hotel is beautifully decorated. When we returned to check in, we were told they were upgrading our room to the penthouse suite, and it certainly lived up to its name... Gorgeous rooms, all lavishly furnished, and stunning views of the city and castle! My boyfriend took advantage of the extras that they offer, too - champagne on arrival, pre-dinner canapés and wine, rose petals, candles and luxury bath products. Oh, and the Scottish breakfast the next morning; complete with more champagne! I couldn't have wanted anything more for my stay here! We will definitely be visiting again in the future, hopefully lots more times! And for longer next time, too, as there are some things we wished we had more time to do, such as visiting the bar downstairs a cocktail or two!
To sum it all up: lovely hotel, gorgeous rooms and outstanding customer service - The Chester Residence will not disappoint!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My boyfriend booked this for my 22nd Birthday. Words cannot describe how amazing it is! He mentioned when he booked it that it was for a special occasion and they definitely pushed the boat out. We were upgraded to the VIP Armani Suite which came with a Jacuzzi tub and our own cinema room. We had The Romance Package added with our stay, Champagne on arrival, canapes before we went out to dinner, wine to the room, molten brown products and breakfast in bed! We also mentioned we were going to watch a movie when we got back from dinner so they provided popcorn, it really is the small details! The staff were amazing also, if we asked for anything then we got it - Ed was chatty whilst making cocktails and nothing was a hassle, even 11pm cocktails delivered to the room. We also never got charged for two cocktails which I thought was nice. I'm thinking of booking again in March for my boyfriends birthday - Maybe for two nights because one was certainly not enough. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went there for the second time and it was simply excellent again.
In short: Lovely apartments, friendly, attentive staff and a great location.

The longer version: Apartments were tastefully designed, spacious and lovely.The staff was always very friendly, helpful and attentive. With just a few minutes by foot to Princess street, teh location is pretty much perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we were both completely blown away with the place. From the moment we arrived we experienced excellent service and stayed in what can only be described as complete luxury.
We stayed in 6/4 The Owners Residence (aka The Armani VIP Suite) and my word it was unbelievable. Stunning bedroom with wet room en suite. Jacuzzi room, Kitchenette, Living room and Cinema/Media room. Loved it! Would definitely recommend it! And I'm sure we will be back there at some point in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence (voted Scottish Hotel of the year at the Scottish Hotel 2012 awards) is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.