We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chester Residence goes the extra mile.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chester Residence to your Saves list
The Chester Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Arnside
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Chester Residence goes the extra mile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I booked the Mews apartment for myself and my mother as a special little weekend away, Christmas shopping etc (and a surpise for my mum!). Wow! What an amazing apartment!! A bedroom each, ensuite each, separate bathroom with TV, fully equipped kitchen/lounge etc. I love little luxuries and we arranged a hamper and stocked fridge (full of everything and more that I requested). When we arrived they played the cd I asked for as a surprise for my mum (she thought was fantastic to walk into our apartment and hear her favourite album playing!) and brought us a glass of champagne each. Later on Rory brought us some pink Champagne and the 'bath butler' which was full of gorgeous Molten Brown goodies and candles/petals. Then in the evenin as we were planning to go out, Rory popped down to confirm our taxi had been booked and also surprised us with two mugs of mulled wine! Three drinks before we had wen left the apartment can't be bad! As it was apparently the busiest weekend wrote Christmas, we couldn't get a table anywhere for dinner, so Katie on reception said 'leave it to us, we'll get you in somewhere, don't worry'. And they promptly did - at 'Fishers' down by the sea at Leith which was absolutely fantastic. Freshest salmon I've ever had and the fish cakes were to die for!
On Saturday before we went out for the evening, some canapés were brought to us, with another two glasses of champagne! All gorgeous. We managed to get into 'Centotre' on George Street which was also fantastic! Brilliant atmosphere and varied menu.
Our train wasn't until 4pm on Sunday so they offered to keep our bags whilst we shopped til we dropped again! Then whilst waiting for our taxi to the station, we had a drink in the bar (free of charge!) and a lovely chat with Rory. I must say he really is an asset to this hotel- just genuinely friendly, helpful and polite without being too intrusive. Every hotel needs a Rory!! And the girls on reception (sorry I can't remember all your names apart from Katie and Anna) are a real pleasure to deal with - nothing is too much trouble and they are so polite and friendly too. They really made us feel welcome.
So from start to finish our break at The Chester Residence was beyond 5*. I would like to thank you all for the best hotel weekend break we have ever had! Thank you to all the staff for making this surprise weekend for my mum all the more special. She absolutely loved it! (it took her a good hour to get over the shock of walking into the huge, 5* apartment rather than the little twin hotel room she was expecting.. hee hee). And everytime a member of staff delivered a little something to our apartment, her jaw dropped to the floor again! We were like giddy kids in a sweet shop!!
To anyone else trawling through reviews and deals on other hotels, wondering where to stay in Edinburgh- don't bother! Just stay here. You will not regret it. It's amazing. Xx

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    83
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
224
744
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Everything about the Chester is brilliant. The staff, the quality of the apartments and furnishings and the location.
We were worried that the reputation was perhaps too good to be true but it is well deserved.
It's expensive (especially in summer) but well worth it.
It's a 5 minute wal to George Street and Princes Street and the local Stockbridge/Haymarket area is trendy, safe and fun.
We really couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at the Chester residence on the 18th December for one night and wish it had been for longer. The service from staff was impeccable and extremely friendly an warm, the room was a delight and finished to a very high standard and was without doubt the cleanest room I have ever stayed in and put so called high class hotels to shame! I will definately be back to stay again. What a total gem of a find the Chester residence has been! Keep up the great work guys

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

After having experienced the Chester residence first hand, it's really not surprising why this hotel rates so highly - it really is as good as you've read it is - no hype, just fact.
Fantastic accommodation,genuinely friendly,attentive staff,(yes,they really are as good as everyone says)great location,they really have got everything right and you shouldn't consider anywhere else if you are planning a trip to Edinburgh.
I can't recommend more highly and I'll definitely be returning next chance I get. Do yourself a favour and do the same!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Decided on a little treat for Christmas shopping, taking my wife to Edinburgh. We wanted somewhere special, so checked tripadvisor and noted that The Chester Residence was No1 in Edinburgh and won a few awards. Luckily I managed to get a good deal and booked two nights.

When I arrived, Rory opened the door and welcomed us to the Chester Residence and immediately offered assistance with bags etc.

At reception we were told that we had been upgraded to a Penthouse Suite, which we thought was great!

The apartment was lovely! Large Bedroom, very large two person bath and television in Bathroom. Great Lounge/kitchen area also with the finest appliances. Nespresso machine in kitchen was a bonus as I drink Nespresso coffee all the time at home.

Large television in Bedroom and Lounge with Sky TV.

On the Saturday evening we returned to the Bar. Once again Rory appeared by magic and greeted our arrival asking if we had a good day. The night before I told him that I was eating in Micahel Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar. He remembered this and asked how the meal was.

On entry to the bar we were greeted by the barman. We were only going to stay for one drink before retiring to our room. However the cocktails were that good and the company was very nice so we sat for three hours indulging int he very best that the barman had to offer enjoying the company of another couple residing in the hotel too! I'm sorry I did not pick up on the barman's name.

The couple we were talking to had a four and a half year old daughter. One of the receptionists came through (Katy) and as well as engaging in conversation offered lots of colouring in materials, lego and crisps to keep the girl occupied throughout the evening (3 hrs).

On checkout we had a small leaving party int he reception standing attentively asking if every facet of our stay was good. This was not by any means intrusive. Good banter and a genuine sincere interest in ensuring that everything was first class.

I thoroughly recommend "The Chester Residence" I look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Car parking. Restricted Parking Mon - Sat exists between 8:30 am and 17:30. Maximum of 4hrs. Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We've stayed at the Chester Residence 4 times now - 3 times in the last two months! - and it really is our new favourite place, having whipped that crown off the heads of a couple of other fancy boutique hotels in Edinburgh and Glasgow.

We find it very hard to fault at all; the apartments are gorgeous, combining the freedom and space of self-catering flats with the amazing finish and luxury of a boutique hotel, the prices and deals that are available online are amazing considering what you get (I'd recommend ringing them direct once you've found a deal by the way, as they will usually match any deal on trivago/laterooms etc. and sometimes throw in a bottle of wine or breakfast too).

The staff are also fantastic - trust me, I'm a total customer service bore - they are unfailingly nice, very helpful and often go out of their way to make you feel completely looked-after. As an example, the first time we stayed with them, they had problems with the sky TV due to severe storms the previous night which had damaged the dish on the roof. To apologise, we were brought a glass of champagne (for my wife), a beer (for me) and a bag of popcorn to eat while we watched a DVD from their collection. A few weeks ago we stayed there for my wife's birthday. I had mentioned this whilst making the booking, and 5 mins after we got to our room, a guy appeared at the door with a glass of champagne for us both and a birthday card for my wife! They've totally nailed the balance of being attentive and efficient whilst not being intrusive in any way.

This is a really, really lovely place. Go there if you can, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

One of the best apartment rentals in Scotland, I was there with a close friend and we had a great time. It is centrally located with great "walks" around. Great staff and excellent service. Food can be ordered in from near by takeaways through reception. They have a great collection of DVDs too with comes with a free bag of popcorns.

Definitely a place for a couples

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.