We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Save Saved
You added The Chester Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chester Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Luxury in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was the perfect place to land in following a trans-Atlantic flight with a changeover at Heathrow. We were exhausted, but the Chester Residence lived up to all its reviews and more. We had a suite of two huge rooms which included a full kitchen kitted out in the living area and a gigantic bathroom with all the modern conveniences. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. Although the residence is in a terrace of Georgian houses, our rooms were sleek, modern and restful. The staff was welcoming, accommodating and extremely efficient (I include the cleaning staff in this). We had a kilted, charming lad to point us in whatever direction we needed to go and give great advice. The evening we stayed in for supper, a delicious meal was delivered to our door on time and perfectly presented. Although this is a short ways from the tourist center of the city, it's not a difficult walk and buses are easily available. It was nice to come back to a quiet neighborhood in the evening. The absolutely top of the line and the best place I've ever stayed in the UK!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    72
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
203
641
18
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

First Class accommodation with a real 'wow' factor! From the moment we arrived we were met with very friendly and professional members of staff who treated us like royalty. Our apartment was a 'Grand' and we were truly amazed by the size, decor and cleanliness. It is obvious that no expense has been spared at renovating these classic properties which, amongst other features included sky tv, surround sound,and underfloor heating in bathroom.We had continental breakfasts included, which were of a very high standard delivered to our door every morning. If you are looking for top class accommodation with wonderful service and quiet surroundings, look no further, this really is the place to stay. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Excellent and the best self catering apartment we have stayed in with your own kilted knight in shining armour to help out if you can't work out how to use the digital stove top!

Room Tip: Higher floor has more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at The Chester Residence in Rothesay Place the same weekend as The American reviewer below. It was our first experience of 'Serviced Apartments' as a concept. My wife and I stayed in apartment 7/4.

The apartments are wonderful and make great use of the fantastic Georgian architecture. Every appliance and item of furniture has been selected with great attention to detail.

I would concur that the bedroom and bathroom are a tad small, given the grandeur elsewhere, but you do have to work with the template you are given and the compromise is acceptable in my opinion. If you want a bigger bathroom and bedroom you can book a penthouse apartment for the same price as a 'classic' one and that floor plan will give you what you require.

I had a lovely nights sleep in a supremely comfortable bed in blissfully quiet surroundings. I was annoyed (as ever) that my life long allergies meant that I could not use the towels, robes and pillowcases provided but my wife was very happy with the luxury provided.

We ordered from the 'continental' breakfast offered and the selection of fresh baking, meats, cheeses, jams etc presented on a slate tray was impressive both in terms of presentatiion and flavour.

It really is not a critisicm to again have to agree with our fellow reviewer about the 'service'. Whilst being perfectly adequate on the whole, it was (as someone who has worked the majority of my career in Hotels of this standard) ...just that..adequate.

I imagine The Chester Residence has made a bit of a 'rod for its own back' as the saying goes. This in terms of the reviews on this site especially, which tout a supremely well oiled machine with 'personal touches' galore.

Don't get me wrong, I wasnt expecting rose petals scattered at my feet and to be honest, we like to be left to our own devices on the whole. Hence we declined the very generous offer of complimentary drinks and canapes on Saturday evening in the Lounge Bar.

A few 'basics' were overlooked though. Our luggage was not taken to our apartment in the 4 hours betweeen arrival and check in and having to look at a hoover and mop bucket in the corrridor outside our apartment as we went back and forth didnt really add to the glamour factor either. My better half told me to ignore it (as everyone else seemed to be doing), but if it was Georgian it was from the 'plastic period' which I couldnt find on Wikipedia.

Not a big thing I know (no knee jerk reactions from Management required because we loved the experience as a whole)..but as I said, as first impressions go, when you set yourself up as being totally "on the ball", sitting around waiting for your bags to arrive and then having to go looking for them yourself to be told one was 'missing' (it wasnt, it just hadnt been labelled) and your jacket WAS missing (it turned up later).... was not the best of starts.

As The Chester Residence themselves recommend, book directly with them for the best rates.

Conclusion. Great location, Wonderful facility, Service ok on the whole and certainly very friendly.

As a 'home from home' in the Capital..as my Title says.... 'Almost Perfect'.

Room Tip: Classic/Grand Apartments for Big Georgian windows and large lounge. Penthouse for bigger bedrooms/ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night last week and can honestly say this place is amazing! We could definately see why it is rated number one on trip advisor. We stayed in one of the grand apartments and the are beautifully decorated, stylish, luxurious and comfortable! The apartments had all the amenities you could want and also has sky hd and docking stations for I pods in living room and bedroom! The staff were very welcoming and we were also given a tour of our apartment showing us how to use the gadgets which was helpful!
We would recommend to anyone looking to visit Edinburgh or even if you live in Edinburgh itself like we do and just looking to escape for a night in luxury! Would be brilliant for longer stays.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Chester Residence is in a very attractive quiet neighborhood but an easy walk to to sights. The buildings and apartments are lovely and very comfortably furnished. I really wished that the bedrooms were a bit bigger. There was just enough room to walk around the beds and no closet just an armoire that was not an adequate substitute. Considering that this is in a vacation apartment where some people must spend extended stays that is quite a flaw. The living space and kitchen were stunning.
As comfortable as the surroundings were I was not wowed by the service. There was nothing wrong but there was nothing exceptional either.
If I had it to do over again I would not splurge on the Chester for a short touristy stay but if I was going to spend a week or more or needed a place to be able to spend time and be comfortable it is perfect.

Room Tip: These are Georgian Townhouses with no elevators so choose accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear guest !
Thank you for your high scoring review !
I thought I would respond to let other guests know that we have various room types,
all with different bedroom sizes , our bedrooms are all bigger than any standard hotel room and if course all our apartments come with a living room , kitchen etc , so our bedrooms really are for sleeping !

I note you thought nothing was wrong with the service you received but that you thought it nothing special - At The Chester Residence , we like to think we are available for guest needs when requested and disappear when not !

Kind regards
Rory MacAleece
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Having never written a review before i felt compelled as this is such a better alternative to an Hotel. We stayed in the Penthouse of number 7 and it was like a home from home and very nice to work from. Every person working for The Chester Residence was incredibley warming, polite and simply couldn't do enough for you, it was a lovely welcome to Edinburgh, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence (voted Scottish Hotel of the year at the Scottish Hotel 2012 awards) is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chester Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;