We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Conifers Guest House

The Conifers Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Conifers Guest House to your Saves list
The Conifers Guest House
56 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Lovley old house with lots of character. Hosts Dave and Liz were excellent, friendly and helpful. Scotttish breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. no complaints at all and would not hesitate to reccomend on location, price, breakfast and customer service. Thank you Dave and Liz hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We traveled as 2 couples and stayed in The Conifers Guest House for 3 nights. The house has a lovely character, rooms are beautiful, breakfast was delicious and we were walking distance from the city center. David was so friendly, he gave us plenty of advice and he was happy to answer any question. David made us feel very welcome. If I ever visit Edinburgh again, I will be calling The Conifers House for sure! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying here for two nights. We had stayed at another property opposite the previous night but unfortunately they could not accomodate us when we decided to stay longer. Liz and Dave were excellent hosts, breakfast was absolutely delicious and they were always on hand to offer us advice on where the best places to visit and see during our stay. The room was spacious and extremely clean. There was a nice big sofa for us to relax and our room had its own little fridge too. I wasn´t expecting anywhere near like the standard we received and it´s certainly comparable to some of the hotels we have stayed in.

Excellent service, excellent price and excellent location.

Thank you Liz and Dave

Room Tip: Room 4 is gorgeous and features a lovely sofa to relax on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed The Conifers in June and were made to feel very welcome. David who runs the place was very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and gave us some great tips on places to see and good restaurants to eat at. Highly recommended for location and friendliness, will be coming back in the future!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in the Conifers Guest House for three nights and it was just amazing. The house is located within walking distance to the centre which is perfect and rooms are beatiful and clean - really very excited about it. Breakfasts were lovely too. David the owner is very nice person who recommended us where to go, what the MUST sees are etc. Nothing was problem...Simply - if I ever go to Edinburg again, I definitely would stay here again.

Thanks,

Hana & Milan from the Czech Republic (stayed there from June 2nd till June 4th, 2012)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have never written a NEGATIVE review on tripadvisor but I felt obligated to let you know that this situation was handled very poorly. In January 2012 I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights for mid August 2012 at the Conifers Guest House. Summer is very busy in Edinburgh so I made reservations early. I was emailed a FIRM CONFIRMATION from the owner for our dates. All was set or so I thought.
In May I received an email stating that he CANCELLED my reservations due to "relatives coming from Canada at the same time we booked". He said he tried to contact me a few weeks prior to this CANCELLATION but had a bad email address because his computer with the correct information of my name, phone number, email was not in his possession. The computer was somewhere else. He CANCELLED with NO alternative option in place for my group. Not a good practice in the hospitality industry. When I book with a property and receive a CONFIRMATION, then I expect that CONFIRMATION to be honored. I am sure you all feel the same.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent two nights at the Conifers and had a lovely, relaxing stay. The room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was really nice. We will be coming to stop again hopefully. Liz was very helpful with how was best to get around and were to go to eat - great location to city centre. Thank you very much for a fantastic stay we would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Conifers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Conifers Guest House

Address: 56 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Conifers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Conifers Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Conifers Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.