We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Charming. A Must Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardmor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardmor House to your Saves list
Ardmor House
74 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
San Francisco
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, Charming. A Must Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

Excellent! Robin and his staff (Lola) couldn’t have been more helpful, kind and fun loving to all staying at Ardmor House. I don't know what my fellow San Franciscan's were thinking when they wrote there ‘atrocious’ review, but it couldn’t be further from the truth. The B&B accommodations were the nicest I’ve had in the UK! An added plus - for those of you that are traveling with lap top – wireless connection can be had.

I will give my fellow San Franciscans the benefit of the doubt (just barely), it may have been there first time to Edinburgh and maybe it was cold and rainy. Or maybe there whole Holiday was a bust. That would be the only reason for a ‘bad’ stay in Edinburgh.

As a single women traveling, I felt safe walking to and from the City Centre day and evening. That says a lot for any place one stays.

Breakfast was some of the best that I have had in Scotland and the UK – plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, and the traditional breakfast – FANTASTIC.

I was thrilled to know they have a discount rate membership for all guests that is on Leith Walk – I hit a spinning class, took a long steam, and sauna, and felt wonderful.

For those of you going to Edinburgh for the 1st time – it is a lovely city both in architecture and people. Short of staying at the Caledonian and other high priced hotels on Princess Street and the George V Bridge, one must walk in Edinburgh (so non-American), take a taxi or bus for transportation. And we wonder why they have such great legs! It’s the walking ladies…On the whole the 15-20 minute walk from Ardmor House to Princess Street (the City Centre) is very doable and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
93
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2005

We booked this B&B after reading a review in a guidebook...also read reviews from this site as well, and figured it must be a nice place. Another + for us was that all of the rooms were "en-suite".

We booked our stay for Friday, Saturday & Sunday Nights. The booking had to be pre-paid (there is a very good reason for this). Upon Arrival the house looks like one of the better maintained Properties in this "transitional" neighborhood, which by the way is NOT close to everything. The bus system which has stops directly in front of the house does make it convenient with public transportation though.
Colin met us upon arrival, gave us a 5 minute overview of the property and then the keys to our room. He was in a hurry as he was heading out of town for the weekend. The weekend help would be available later in the evening if we needed anything.

We found the room to look exactly like the one photographed for their web site. What was not shown was the other 70% of the room which was anything but nice. the bathroom was an afterthought for this room, a narrow passage roughly 4 feet wide. There is less than 1 foot clearance between the toilet and the wall, thus making for an interesting trip to the "john". The shower was also smaller than normal, and to dry off after a shower, you had to physically leave the bathroom as there was no room to move your arms and the towel. The bathroom was cramped but stylish!

The lighting in the room was extremely poor. There were two modern wall sconces on either side of the larger bed in the room. The sconces while nice looking provided a very low level of light which was totally inadequate for our reading the guidebooks. The only other lighting in the room was a bare bulb hanging from the ceiling (rustic charm I guess).

The house itself is not very inviting. There are no areas for guest to sit outside their bedrooms except on a pair of chairs in the upstairs hallway.

The breakfast room is quite nice, and furniture was tasteful and comfortable. The food was another matter...NOt sure why everyone thinks the food served here is wonderful...my standards are not that lofty, ...and I wouldn't be feeding this food to our pets. The eggs with Salmon for which this B&B is noted, was absolutely attrocious. If you are going to cook with salmon, for Godsake use fresh salmon not something that has been sitting in the fridge for two weeks.
The bagels and cream cheese were good...not easy to ruin those...but by Sunday morning there was none of that left. The next two mornings however there was plenty of "Wonder Bread" available to make Toast....

As for getting assistance with tourist information, or recommendations...none of this was available, as the "flake" who was in charge while the owners were off on their own little holiday, was not on site much or when avialable couldn't help us.

The straw that broke the camels back for us was on Saturday afternoon. upon returning to the B&B around 5PM we were not able to get into our room as there was a problem with the lock. We tried to contact the weekend "help" but she was not on site. We did have her cell phone number but did not answer that as well..when she did return around 7PM, she was little help, but did get some WD40 to spray into the lock. WE eventually got into the room, and since there was no one else to help use, I pulled the lock apart and reset the damn thing...

All I can say is that this is truly the worst B&B we have ever stayed in. It is Clean, but cramped. Colin is nice but a Flake. If your going to run a business like this, then be there for your guests...

to anyone reading this..do yourself a favor and stay in a hotel...Holiday Inn Express and Jury's Hotel are a better alternative, and we checked the prices and they were comparable to this B&B.
Anyway hope this helps..Our prayers are with you if you wind up booking here.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

Having stayed in 5 B&B's in Scotland on this Holiday this was the best. Sept 23, 24
Although we were treated like guest's in the "Ardmour house", we always felt at home and comfortable.Robin was readily available is you needed anything.
The food was lovely and presented well ,lots to choose from for breakfast, house was clean and soft comfortable music broke any uncomfortable silence(not that there was any).
The Bus can be found right outside your door or you can walk up to Princes Street in about 15 mins but dont forget to take in Leith walk , there is so much to do in that area.
If you want to walk or jog in the morning there is Pilrig park right across the street and it is beautiful.
Did I mention they have the most comfortable beds in the world, and then there is Lola the "Lady schnauzer" who will fullfill your need if you are missing your own dog.
Thank you Robin, Colin and Lola

Dianne S, Canada

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2005

Ardmor House is a beautifully renovated Victorian guesthouse with extremely good interior decoration. The service my boyfriend and I received was impeccable, I would have loved to have stayed longer if it wasn't for the fact that we were on our way around Scotland. The room we stayed in was perfect (photo attached): clean, bright and with character. Breakfast was fantastic and I recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon!

This place is a must for anyone visiting Edinburgh. It's not the cheapest, but not the most expensive either. It's just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2005

My husband and I stayed here during our week-long stay in Edinburgh. We felt like this was a home away from home. Our room was large and very comfortable (we did request the largest room at the time we made the reservation). Everything was clean, of course, and beautifully decorated. Our hosts had a wonderful visitors' guide in our room that included everything from restaurant and attraction recommendations, to very detailed and helpful instructions on how to set the alarm clock!

Breakfasts were wonderful - the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was to die for! The breakfast room was perfect with classical music playing and a selection of newpapers to read. It was a great start to the day, and Robin was on hand with suggestions and tips that were extremely helpful. He was very accommodating in every way, making sure that we had a taxi when we needed one, or recommending where to get a good curry for dinner.

We couldn't really afford to stay in the nice hotels there, but we found Ardmor House to be the perfect alternative to staying in inexpensive motels or inns. We thought it was a very good value for the price. Our stay couldn't have been nicer. We would happily return any time!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2004

I spent two nights of my 11-day journey through the UK at Ardmor house, and they were the most comfortable of all. My rooms was generously-sized, with a very comfortable bed and moder, clean en-suite bathroom and shower. The breakfasts were delicious, and host Robin was gracious and knowledgeable. Located just about a mile from the center of town, we walked everywhere, and there is a bus stop just outside the door. A fantastic room at a great rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardmor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor House

Address: 74 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Ardmor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmor House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardmor House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardmor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.