We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be great, but needs a reno” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canon Court Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Canon Court Apartments to your Saves list
Canon Court Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   20 Canonmills, Edinburgh EH3 5LH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Used to be great, but needs a reno”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times over the last 3 years. Each time I stay, it seems a little more run down. Very thin and low-quality mattresses and the carpeting is getting really tired. Still, the location is good and it's decent value for what we paid, but I'm thinking that next time we'll go elsewhere. You can get so much more in Edinburgh for only a little extra money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from Canonmills, which is a busy road in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    119
    35
    24
    10
See reviews for
85
75
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Not the most luxurious of apartments but they come with everything you could possibly need. It's like being at home. Car parking and the reasonable prices makes it a great place to stay, especially as it's so close to the city centre. Will definitely be back here again when I'm in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Canon Court Apartments when my job took me to Edinburgh for a late night event. Rather than drive back to Glasgow as I had another appointment in Edinburgh the next day I decided to pre book here.

I was impressed. This is a home from home. I stayed in a one bed apartment which was modern and very comfortable and would recommend these apartments to anyone who is working away from home. They are very close to the City centre, I took a taxi to my office the following day as the weather was bad and it took 5mins and it would be a very easy walk on a good day.

Check-in was great, initially I was due to have a late arrival and I was emailed all the neccessary arrangements for this without any problems, however managed to get there early and was greeted by a really nice receptionist who was more than happy to accommodate my early arrival.

All in all a really pleasant stay and will use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a recent trip to Edinburgh. Having never stayed in a hotel-apartment before I was looking forward to seeing what it would be like - and it didn't disappoint. The staff were very friendly upon arrival and check out and willing to help in anyway. The apartment itself was very spacious, with a living/dining area and a kitchen with a microwave and oven (There is also a washing machine which would be ideal if you were staying for a long period). The rooms were also a great size (the one we stayed in had two rooms, one that was made into a double and a twin room) and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was also very nice and clean. There are plenty of pubs and take-aways round about and only a short bus ride into the more central areas with a bus stop just outside. There's also a petrol station just over the road and a tesco round the corner if you need them. It felt more like a home from home rather than a hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone, it's reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed in Edinburgh in August for a week and found this little Gem. Its an appart hotel, good value for money fully furnished with good equipment. One bedroom and one lounge. You feel like home for a week, fantastic. Location could be more central but it's really close from Queens park. I stayed there 3 times and just love the concept.

Room Tip: room on the front road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at these apartments for 2 nights over New year and cannot say enough about them.
Great location - all the shops/pubs/clubs/restaurants/theatres etc Edinburgh has to offer are only a short walk away so ideal for everyone from young to old. There is a bus stop directly outside front door if you dont fancy the walk. There is also a petrol station straight across from them if you are going to be driving around.
Reception staff were very friendly and could not assist us enough. Very good knowledge of local area and attractions and very happy to share that knowledge with you if you are looking to make the most of your stay.
The apartments themselves are VERY clean and spacious. The one we were in had your living room area with beautiful decor, fully fitted kitchen with microwave, two very spacious bedrooms with comfy beds and the bathroom, again very spacious and spotless. It also had a washing machine, iron/board and trouser press.
There are various take-aways and restaurants on the doorstep so you wont have to go far if you fancy something to eat and dont want to cook.
GREAT value for money and would not hesitate to stay here again - would recommend to anyway looking for great accommodation at great prices !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my wife. These apartment are ideallly located near the city centre. The first thing i usually check when staying somewhere is the cleanliness. The place was spotless and the beds were comfy enough,so no worries in that department. Staff were friendly and overall an enjoyable stay in a lovely city. It was reasonablly priced as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canon Court Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon Court Apartments

Address: 20 Canonmills, Edinburgh EH3 5LH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canon Court Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you visiting Edinburgh and looking for spacious, affordable accommodation? Why stay in a small hotel bedroom when a Canon Court serviced apartment offers you space to relax? Each apartment offers one or two bedrooms, a comfortable lounge; a separate, fully fitted kitchen and a bathroom with shower and bath. There's free on site parking and WiFi access too. Close to Edinburgh's great attractions and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Canon Court Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Court Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Canon Court Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canon Court Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.