We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and very welcoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardmillan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardmillan Hotel to your Saves list
Ardmillan Hotel
9 - 10 Ardmillan Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 2JW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value and very welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a double room. Flat screen digital tv, very comfy bed, bedroom and bathroom spotless. Enjoyed a few Belhaven beers in the bar... Highly recommended! All staff very friendly and helpful, makes all the difference. Got a great deal by phoning the hotel directly, they undercut online price. We will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
13
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here recently on trip to Scotland with friends/colleagues. What a great hotel this is! I was there with three other men on a business/pleasure trip and we found the atmosphere to be so home from home, especially after a day of conferences in the Capital city of Edinburgh. The food was wonderful, lots of typical Scottish fare which we were all eager to try and so impressed by and the bar at night was busy and friendly and had live music with a traditional Scottish singer one night who was impressively good. We talked to lots of locals who use the bar in the evenings and made some new friends (and business contacts). This is a family run hotel and it shows in the atmosphere as the staff were so friendly and even remembered all our (hard to pronounce) names with ease every night. The room was clean, comfortable and warm after coming in from the cold. I would give this hotel a huge recommendation if you need a hotel in Edinburgh.
Stefano Carlomagno, Pisa, Italy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for a one night stay prior to flying out of Edinburgh airport for a holiday abroad. There were 3 in our room - double and single bed, with an en suite shower room. Bed linen and towels were spotless. Plenty of tea and coffee provided and the dish of mints was a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and keen to help us. Everything we needed, and nothing we didn't need. TV in the room came in very handy for keeping our son occupied ! Good hotel, good location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Willing staff, poorly managed.
In room 9, 3 out of 5 lightbulbs not working
Extractor fan in shower room not working
Mirror cracked
Woken at 7.50am on Sunday morning by sound of hoover.
Huge laundry bag outside bedroom made it difficult to get onto landing, especially for my partner who had broken his arm.
Hoover and bucket and mop were the first things we saw on entering breakfast room.
No fruit or yogurt available though these were on breakfast menu.
Coffee poor.
Scrambled eggs contained no fresh eggs.
Wi-fi did not work because we were given wrong password.
Rain pouring through skylight wetted us, the stairs leading to our bedroom, soaked the carpet and made it slippery and unsafe.
Manager unavailable on 2 occasions when I asked for him.
Any responsible manager would have changed our room and offered some reduction in price.
Neither happened.
I only stayed here because it is just round the corner from where my daughter and family live. Never again.

Room Tip: Ours was very poor as described above, didn't see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmillanUddingston, Owner at Ardmillan Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
It is unfortunate that despite lengthy previous correspondance via e-mail regarding your stay you have decided to post an innacurate review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that your partner broke his arm in Edinburgh which resulted in you spending the bulk of your three day visit in your hotel room. However we feel that as a result of this and because we would not meet your refund demands in full you have in a calculated way exaggerated and concocted a review in order to cause damage to our good reputation. Customer feedback is so important to us as we strive to reach and maintain high standards throughout and as such we welcome all reviews as our guests experiences are a great barometer of how well we are performing. This is what makes Trip Advisor such a great tool when used responsibly. When it is misused by reviewers as a means to their own ends we have to take a strong stance, use our right of reply and hope that other users can work out for themselves where the truth lies. I will answer the points raised in this review without getting too bogged down due to the inaccuracies posted - 2 lightbulbs were out in this room and were instantly replaced, on checkout the mirror with a very very small crack was replaced and extractor fan which appered to have been disconnected was connected up again.The hoover was not used on the same floor as the bedroom but we apologise if this distant noise awoke you. Our hotel is spotlessly clean and as you spent all day in the room you saw this cleaning going on. Sorry we cannot do this invisably but years of experience have taught us that the best time to do this is after breakfast when most guests are out for the day. On your first morning there was fruit but yoghurts had been finished. This was rectified next morning and we even reduced your breakfast rate to compensate for the yoghurt being finished. Sorry our freshly ground coffee was not to your taste, instant coffee is also available on request. The scrambled eggs comment is slightly baffling! Fresh eggs are delivered daily to the hotel. How do you make scrambled eggs without eggs?? The free WIFI does work, the password is short and simple and displayed in all bedrooms and available from any member of staff. Severe weather warnings were in place and we experienced torrential rain during your visit. This caused a drip through one sky light. You hugely exaggerate this and it most certainly did not wet you or affect you in any way. A duty manager is always on duty, you spoke to two of them during your stay and they as always were very friendly and professional and went out of their way to help you. There was no reason for the duty manager to change your room and they acted very reasonably in giving you a breakfast discount. We are sorry that you will not stay in our hotel again but would rather defend ourselves through management responses than be forced into giving refunds unfairly. We will continue the good work in 2013 and look forward to welcoming not only our many regular customers but new friends and guests in the future. Thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Ardmillan Hotel on Saturday 10th September. We paid £75 on a room only basis. This was an extremely good price for a Saturday night in the Haymarket area of Edinburgh. Other accommodations of similar facilities in the city were in the region of £140. I booked the room about 10 days before with booking.com. A taxi from the city centre to the hotel at 2am on Sunday morning only cost £5.30.
This is a small family hotel with around 9 bedrooms. We were in room 2 which had a double and single bed. The white linen and towels were spotless. There was a built in wardrobe with lots of coat hangers. There was a small television on the wall and unlike some hotels all the channels were there and with good reception. There was also a radio alarm clock and hairdryer. The room was bright and spacious and the view was overlooking the back of other buildings in the area. This was probably a bonus as some rooms will overlook the road so it was very quiet.
The tea and coffee tray was well stocked with tea, coffee, milk etc. There was also a plentiful supply of biscuits and a dish of mints.
There was no bath only a shower cubicle in the bright ensuite. Toiletries were supplied.
Breakfast could be purchased for £7.95 served until 9.30am but as check out was at 11am we decided not to bother and stay in bed as late as possible as we knew we were going to have a late night. Breakfast had to be requested the evening before which makes sense as probably most visitors use the hotel for the same reason as we did and don’t get up in time for breakfast.
There is a small traditional pub in the hotel with friendly staff and is used by locals so could be noisy as a previous reviewer mentioned, especially if you are an early bedder.
Overall we had a great stay and wouldn’t hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Firstly it's a hotel, not a B&B. But it's managed by a family. The staff is helpless and unfriendly. The WIFI signal is too weak to connect in your room. Also the speed is very very slow. I almost can not access any website through their WIFI. When I checked out, they said “they do not have any change", so they got more 70 pence than price. Pay attention. They didn't say any "Sorry". Oh my god, is it a really formal hotel? I left my adapter in my room when I checked out. But when I come back, they said they didn't find it. I ask "where to get a new one". They only said "to get it from costa, but they do not have a city map to show me." I suggest you add this hotel to your black list. I suggest you to pay a little more and stay in other hotels or B&B in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmillanUddingston, Owner at Ardmillan Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank-you for your review which I have read carefully and I hope my response is treated with the same courtesy. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your stay but must point out to you and anyone reading this review the mistakes and unfair criticisms you have made.Somewhere in your travels you lost your adapter and I hope you managed to track it down or purchase a new one. You did not leave it in your room or in our hotel otherwise I assure you we would have found it and returned it to you. We pointed you in the direction of a shop minutes away that you did not need a map to find and at no point did you ask for a map? WIFI is available in the public areas only (restaurant and bar) and not in the bedrooms. This is clearly explained in guest information pack and on booking.com the site you booked through.The signal in these public areas is excellent! You open your review by saying this is a hotel not a B&B? I would have thought that would have been quite clear by the name of the property "The Ardmillan Hotel". The staff are very friendly,helpful and respectful and it is a shame you did not accept our hospitality. As regards the lack of coin change on departure for that I apologise and would like to refund the 70 pence to you if you could call the hotel I will reimburse this and also cover the cost of your call. I hope that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Edinburgh is really expensive in august, and this was one of the cheapest options. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom for one night, but they gave as a triple one. The room and bathroom were confy, clean, with tea/coffee facilities and with a new tv. The staff was really friendly. It is 30 min walk from the center but it is really well comunicated. It didn't have elevator. It is perfect for people who look for a quiet place, for tourism. If you want enjoy night life, it is better to find another place more centrally situated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardmillan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmillan Hotel

Address: 9 - 10 Ardmillan Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 2JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ardmillan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmillan Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardmillan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.