We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really dreadful room and stay, not upto Novotel standard.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Edinburgh Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #88 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A really dreadful room and stay, not upto Novotel standard.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I chose a novotel for a work trip, having had OK experiences in other locations. This was a complete disaster - with the exception of reasonably friendly front desk staff.

I had first floor room at the front - suggest avoiding these if you have to stay here. Coach engines outside the reception ran until late night, then road noise took over, then coach engines again in the early morning. And when it rained, the sound of drips from the facade onto the plastic canopy over the reception doors was highly disturbing. The western saloon style doors to the bathroom could not close - the bed was too close and I had to move it. The sheet did not fit the bed. I tried to take a bath - the water inlet (shared with the waste outlet) fell off into the bath and left pieces of sharp metal in the water. The wall light did not work. There were unpleasant stains on the carpet and the wall. Perhaps more minor, but the early morning automated alarm call occured 15 minutes earlier than booked (the system time was wrong). After a poor night's sleep that was all I needed.

I did report some of the problems whilst I was there - and was offered ear plugs from a box under the desk. This is not the first time then...

This room was booked through my company's corporate travel provider, with no discount so it cost the full rack rate - £150+ Very definitely not value for money by any measure. Before posting this review I contacted the hotel manager regarding the problems - I do not generally post terrible reviews. His response was to offer me an apology and an upgrade next time I stay there. I cannot imagine that I would return, so it was not helpful. Our corporate travel provider has been advised.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
As mentioned in my previous correspondence to you I am sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we have taken all comments very seriously. We have looked into the matter, but feel free to email me on h3271-gm@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Marc Pichot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    702
    297
    82
    28
See reviews for
426
548
92
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here last week for 3 nights, and had no problems at all. We asked for breakfast in bed after the first night as it was my birthday, which arrived at the time we had asked. The porridge was a little watery so my partner couldn't eat it! Other than that, the food was fine! The rooms were very clean, bed quite comfy, great bathroom with bath and separate shower, which is handy when 2 people need to get ready to go out at the same time! The lobby does smell like chlorine, but that didn't bother us. The staff were friendly and helpful, and always had a smile for you!

Only one complaint - the cost of parking!!! £15 every time you left the car park!!! We were on a motorbike and still had to pay, even if we hadn't taken up a parking space - so naturally, for £15, we did use one!!! You get a token from reception to get out the big underground secure gates, so we couldn't even drive round and out! Strange that they would charge motorbikes, as everywhere else we've been doesn't, including shopping malls, as they don't take up much space! So park up then take the bus everywhere during your stay!!!

Other than that, if we return to Edinburgh (and I'm sure we will), we will use this hotel again....if they've lowered parking costs!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Marc Pichot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is in the Old Town not far from the Castle and on useful bus routes. The lobby smelt a little of the chlorine coming up from the pool in the basement but which is a welcome addition for additional exercise. The room was the standard that we have come to expect with no problems. The breakfast buffet was also fine if not quite up to the standard of the sister Accor Mercury hotel in Princes Street. When visiting Edinburgh for one of the many Festivals we would be happy with either of these two central hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great and large rooms, excellent breakfast. Good location.
Warm Swimming pool a very big plus. The location is good.

My only comment for Accor hotels is they do not know much about their Points program.

Room Tip: Room with Sofa was very large and very good. Suitable for 2 adult and 2 small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second visit here the first one was in 2007 and it was amazing hence us returning, but unfortunately this time standards had slipped dramatically. The reception is beautiful and check in was smooth and quick. The rooms are basic but attention to detail needed. The skirting boards were thick with dust, the bath full of hairs, the net curtain full of small holes and stains on the carpet, We visited the pool at around 7pm on 26/06/13 to find the steam room and sauna were not working the jacuzzi was full as its only small si ended up resorting to a cold swim. We didnt sleep well at all during our stay due to the bed the pillows were old a lumpy and the quit rattled like a crisp packet so everytime one of us turned over the other woke. Breakfast is nice though a good selection and very filling, and open to 10am so those lucky enough to actually sleep can make it. The hotel seamt quite over priced this time around and after our first stay was really disappointing. Unfortunately due to this experience i will not be returning here and i work in the travel industry and definately will not be recommending. Cleanliness costs nothing.

Room Tip: ask for a front view on floor 5, room 509 got good views but desperately needs a spring clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Spent two very nice nights in the hotel. Good accommodation and great location. Very convenient to bus stop, and walk around university and Castle area.
Recommend this as a cost effective- convenient hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room on street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Edinburgh Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.