We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Edinburgh Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #88 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice stay though son found sofa bed uncomfortable and room a bit small for double bed and double sofa bed. Brilliant location for Castle, Royal Mile, National Museum etc. Food and service were excellent

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    638
    269
    74
    27
See reviews for
379
481
88
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent hotel with all the facilities we needed. Stayed in Superior Queen Room. Nicely decorated. Coffee/tea, iron, safe, tv. etc. Comfortable bed, no traffic noise. All in all a good experience. Location was excellent, 10 minute walk to Princess Street. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and will stay again next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre.
Kind regards,
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

fresh and huge bed at the centre. if you need to walk with your bags from the train station to this hotel- make sure you got the power to walk up and down and up and down the hills in between. in a rainy day this can be a nightmare. they have a pool that dominated by very young kids and their parents (inland tourists...). breakfest is a joke for 4 stars hotel. didnt have even a salami. would come again only for the cheap rates they offer in winter months.

Room Tip: some rooms have view to the castle. take one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
So glad you had an enjoyable time at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Novotel at the end of January. The hotel is situated in a good location close to the Grassmarket but far enough away to avoid the late night noise generated at pubs and clubs in the area. Our room pointed inwards to the back of the hotel which meant no view as such but no noise from the streets either.

The pool area was compact but was well maintained and was of sufficient size for the amount of people using it. There was also a hot tub, sauna and steam room which we used twice during our stay. The chlorine from the pool area is noticable in the reception but, given the location of the pool, this would be hard to do anything about really.

The only negative comment I would have is that the room looked a little tired and could do with a makeover. However it was a good size for two people. We didn't try the bar or restaurant as there are loads of eating options nearby. Overall, the Novotel is good for what it is - a decent four star hotel in a central location in the Old Town. I would not hesitate to stay there again when in Edinburgh if a similar rate (it cost us £50 per night approx.) was available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of November 2012 and we had a pleasant stay.
We walked here from Waverley Train Station which took about 20 mins and once at the hotel check in was quick and easy.
The room was exactly what we expected as we have stayed at Novotels before.
Nice big bed, sofa, table, small hanging space and storage for clothes, tv, bathroom with bath and seperate shower and a seperate toilet.
The sheets and towels were changed once during our stay and the overall cleaning was good.
My only small gripe was that the room didn't seem to heat up very well even when we turned the thermostat up but this may of been due to the room we were in as we were in the bit that juts out but it didn't upset our stay overall.
We found the location to be fine and enjoyed the stroll in to town.
If we ever go back to Edinburgh we would consider staying here again :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Edinburgh Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.