We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Edinburgh Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #86 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quality hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent modern hotel, great staff and service and very clean. We were very pleased with the standard room we had. Didn't try the restaurant as wea te elsewhere. Location is behind the Grassmarket area and a bit more distant than some city hotels but only a 10 minute walk to Princes Street. Our room had good views across the South of the city. Pool was a bonus but changing facilities very cramped.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel on floors 4 & 5 have good views but are a bit noisy if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    636
    266
    73
    27
See reviews for
376
479
87
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Third time at this hotel and it really is very good. Location is just out of the centre, about 10 minutes walk from the Royal Mile. Facilities are good with small gym, pool, steam room etc. Bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and bathroom well equipped with separate bath and shower. Breakfast is plentiful with a good choice of hot and cold dishes and service good. My one complaint? How can such a quality hotel, charging up to £200+per room per night (non-discount rate) have such poor quality, cheap toilet paper?!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here on 3 day family break with 2 kids and stayed in a suite (not much extra cost for the additional space).
Room nice with huge balcony. Breakfast the usual hotel fayre, pool a bit tiddly when you had more than one family group there. Nice coffee machine in room.
Staff generally very nice and helpful (like the rest of the city).
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Rooms were large clean and resonably priced, good amenities (swimming pool, Gym, Bar & restaurant) Room service for breakfast was on time & the food was still hot and plentiful.

Only minus was the coffee in the bar was quite possibly the worst I've ever had but that is the only complaint - sevice was good and the entire place was spotless and cosy.

A great place to see Edinburgh from

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was a good 3 night stay, location was ok. Nice pool and jacuzzi and superb food like all novotel. The biggest let down was the room service, the next day i went for a tour of edinburgh and when i came back i noticed that room service was done but pillows were left on the floor and i think for a hotel of this standard this looks very bad. Secondly, at the swimming pool i saw a member of staff being very rude to his collegue, the guy was told although you finished your shift you have to stay and clean the pool area. In front of guests this is beyond ethics and unprofessional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very soon.
Kind regard
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice enough hotel with updated rooms. Tub and shower separate with speakers over the tub (odd if your travel companion is channel surfing and you're relaxing in the tub) Toilet is separated from rest of washroom which on the whole is great - if there is a sink in the room with the toilet. Otherwise if you use the facilities while the other guest (not your spouse) is showering then you're waiting to wash up.

Inconsistent housekeeping. Dirty tea mugs left on desk and coffee not replaced in room. That said, however, when anything was requested it arrived promptly.

Front desk forgot to register our wake up call for the morning we had a tour booked so we had 20 minutes to get ready and missed our breakfast.

Free 20 minute computer usage in lobby as well as free wifi in lobby. Food in lounge was good both times I ate and the service friendly, albeit slow.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Me and my partner have now stayed here 3 times and have never had any complaints at all.The hotel is perfectly situated 10 mins walk from the Royal Mile and Princess Street and is in a fairly quiet part of town.The rooms are nice if not slightly bland but this doesnt bother us as we only use the hotel as a base.The breakfast in the morning is ace with something for everyone.I took FULL advantage of the "full English" but there are so many choices if you have a more delicate constitution.As I mentioned before this is in a great location.If you dont want to walk into the "touristy" areas for food/drink then there is a really nice Thai if you turn right out of the hotel,walk to the main junction then turn left.There is also a lovely pub called "cloisters" which is just accross the road from the Thai.Both have been tried out several times and come thoughly recommended.Finally 30 seconds walk to the right and you will find a Belgian/German bar which is also good for a beer or 2.All in all this is worth a stay if you find yourself in the Capital and even better if you use clubcard tokens as we did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Novotel Edinburgh .
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Edinburgh Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.