We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect staff and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Budget Backpackers to your Saves list
Budget Backpackers
37 - 39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Voyageuse
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect staff and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We felt welcome at Budget Backpackers. Staff is very helpful and it's very well located in the centre, close to everything. Our twin room was big, clean and colourful. Beds are a little noisy and mattresses very soft but we slept well. Bed sheets are included. Bathrooms are well organised and clean (men, women or mixed) We had our own sink in the room. Breakfast is not included but very cheap it is served in the large funny bar/common room. There are also vending machines et sandwiches available.
The place is a little noisy at night with people playing guitar and singing but it's a hostel! Wifi is available in the common room. Cars can not be parked in the streets nearby but Waverley stations offers overnight parking for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    195
    74
    32
    19
See reviews for
10
81
104
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hostel is a really good deal. Located in the center of Edinburgh, really near the castle. The staff is very nice and helpful. The bar have a nice vibe and they have a good selection of drinks and food.
The rooms are good and every area is kept really clean.
Good bathrooms, good rooms, good staff, good area to chill out, good location... Budget Backpackers have everything a traveler needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Great decolations of this hostel. But it is not a clean hostel especially the bathroom... it is so small and not well maintainace.. however the kitchen is big with few large fridges for you to store. 10 mins walk to sainsbury is quite nice. It is quite noisy in midnight and even someone throw stones to the windows. May be it is more suitable for group travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had a good time at this hostel which his friendly with a fun atmosphere. The kitchen is complete and a good place to meet other travellers. The wifi is pretty bad but its probably the only thing I would have to say. I look forward to go back there :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

best hostel i've ever been to! If you dont mind sharing a clean bedroom with other young people, this is the best place to stay! perfectly located, near to everything, very very clean and nice decoration! Great breakfast aswell! the staff was very nice! I always recommend this place to people travelling to this great city!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were on the other side, in the private rooms, but running across the road was no problem when we had to go to the main desk or the bar. The room was lovely (maybe could have been heated better?) and sharing the bathroom was never a problem. Drinks at the bar were really cheappp, and I loved the black panther one or something? And the pub crawl, probably my favourite part as we got to meet so many people from around the world and all the pubs and clubs were really close to the hostel as well.

The staff there were really great (pretty much all australians, so it was nice to talk to them, hear our accent :p) - they let us use their kitchen, which was lovely. Location was really good, we pretty much walked to everywhere we wanted to see.

Only inconvinient part was hair dryers are only on the other side in the main building, but it wasn't too bad, we ran across the road, used theirs and came back.

Really, one of the best places I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

8 bed dorm was quite cramped. Had to pay for luggage storage but at least they are lockers which might be more secure. Wifi was BAD; always not working. Had to ask reception all the time to reset the router. Only worked when one is physically close to reception. Free walking tour conducted by the staff was bad; waste of time.
Showers were hot and sufficient hooks n rails inside stall. Onsite bar with loud music n drinks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Backpackers

Address: 37 - 39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 250 beds, and located in the heart of beautiful Old Town, Budget Backpackers is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! All of the amenities you need including free linen, free hot showers, a self catering kitchen, and a bar/cafe! Budget Backpackers is one of the best located hostels in the city, being only a 10 minute walk from Waverly Train Station, a 2 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and the breathtaking Edinburgh Castle practically on our doorstep! There is also always something happening within the hostel, with weekly Wii and Pool Competitions, Quiz and Movie Nights, Free Walking Tours 11am daily Monday to Saturday, and our infamous Pub Crawls Monday to Friday kicking off in our very own bar! Whether you want to see the sights, make friends, party it up, or just relax, Budget Backpackers has everything you need to make your stay in Edinburgh memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Budget Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.