We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you hate sleep,then stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Budget Backpackers to your Saves list
Budget Backpackers
37 - 39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you hate sleep,then stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed in a private double room for three days. Our first impression was that it was fun and wacky. The room was ok but the bed was very squeeky. Our window didn't close properly and there were non-stop parties going on outside. When there wasn't a loud crowd outside then there was a loud crowd in the hall or next door. The people who stay at this hostel do not sleep...seriously up all night. They have one washer and one dryer. The dryer wasn't working and there were piles of clothes everywhere. If you are an insomniac or want to party then this would be a great place for you.If you want to sleep at all,want a comfy bed or need to wash your clothes then stay away.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    196
    74
    32
    19
See reviews for
10
81
104
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

No I'm sorry this place is ghetto. Maybe this is because I was "across the street".. there's 2 buildings.. apparently the first one is nice.. if you're in the across the street one.. lights don't work.. toilets are a JOKE.. SO SMALL.. you literally can't sit on the toilet properly cuz your knees are butting into the wall (!!!!).. it's kind of nice decor i suppose..

i kind of hated edinburgh in general so that probably didn't help.. what was i going to say.. ya this place sux. it's like right on a main street where there's a bunch of bars so you feel kinda like you are sleeping on the street,....

OH THAT'S what I wanted to say.. there's all these REGULARS/LONG TERM people.. they totally hog all the resources and are really jaded and annoying.. they only talk amongst themselves (I mean why would they you are like annoying guests in their House).. Get a freaking appartment!! They totally scowl when they see you have the remote for the TV.. haha

but apparently the MAIN building is better.. i took off to glasgow..

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Great Hostel ! Really really friendly upbeat atmosphere. Central convenient location. Great lounge room with couches and plasma tv's. Offers free pub crawl nightly, a free 2-3 hour walking tour everyday around noon. Clean beds, clean nice showers, and very nice prices. Would definately recommend !

  • Liked — Great people!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I almost hate to say this, in a worry that it would be full the next time I go, but... This place is by far the nicest hostel I have stayed in! Not only was it very clean, it was a comfortable walking distance to all of the main sites in Edinburgh. The staff was incredibly friendly and outgoing, approachable, and just plain fun! They seemed to know everything we had questions about, and offered multiple free tours/ pub crawls every day we were there. (Heck, one even told someone I was with where to find the closest Highland Cow. Talk about random info!) People actually hung out in the chill room, the kitchens and bathrooms were clean and nice to use (showers definitely get an A-; they were great but small), the rooms were spacious and had lockers (free with a deposit).

It is just entirely too bad that this isn't a chain in other places and that more hostels do not follow this example.

  • Liked — The staff, the location, the quietness... you name it, pretty much.
  • Disliked — The showers were a bit small and the breakfast wasn't free - infintesimal issues.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

Good hostel, good location and good staff. Our twin private room was very good hostel room.

All thats needed is some new mattresses and some hooks in the showers!!!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mattresses
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

I stayed here for 3 nights May 2006 a loved my stay!

Great location less then a 10 minute walk to eveything , train, airport bus, castle, and new town shopping.

The hostel itself was great clean rooms, comfy beds. I stayed in a four person dorm that was clean and quite big, nice hardwood floors, bright colours, and lockers.

The kichen is good has everything you could need, and the dinning room is nice to hang out in. The lounges were great with flat screen t.v.

The walking tour was great and the staff make an effort to inculde everyone (I was solo) and make time to come up with event such as a pool tournament.

Overall great experience, internet is expensive, but there is a cheaper place just up Victoria road, just 30 second walk from the hostel. Overall would stay again and recommend.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — loud doors on dorm rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussies in the UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

Easily the best hostel I've ever seen/stayed in...

My girlfriend and I stayed in a 6 person dorm. The room itself was really well priced, super clean, modern and well maintained, and also not a bad size for a 6 person dorm.

The whole place is awesome! From the moment we walked in we were happy. The staff there are legends! We walked through the door to a foyer playing cool music, filled with happy energetic front desk staff. They make you feel like you are more than just a customer. We had a fellow Aussie check us in and give us the low down on the place, he was a total champion!

The place has a chill out room thats massive (in hostels standards) a pool table thats in really good condition (not missing pockets and all the other crap you usually see). the kitchens are clean, we didnt see any giant cockroaches walking away with our valuables like other places...

Its really really close to Edinburgh Castle too! plus they do free pub crawls, free walking tours, and give really good advice on where to eat, what to see, where to stay away from, just generally good local knowledge really.

We are already planning to go back to Edinburgh...I feel sorry for any other hostels in the area, as they will not be seeing a cent/
pence of my cash!!

The only downside, and this is being quite petty (as I dont want to sound like some madly in love teen)...is that the internet is a little bit expensive, however seems to fit in with the price of the other cafes in Edinburgh... But seriously if you aren't going to stay
at THE BEST hostel because of 50 pence, you're making a big mistake!

A little piece of advice... Book ahead!! This place is so popular!!! Pretty much every day we were there the place was booked out.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything! If I had to choose I'd say staff and free organised activities.
  • Disliked — Snoring roomate! haha
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Backpackers

Address: 37 - 39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 250 beds, and located in the heart of beautiful Old Town, Budget Backpackers is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! All of the amenities you need including free linen, free hot showers, a self catering kitchen, and a bar/cafe! Budget Backpackers is one of the best located hostels in the city, being only a 10 minute walk from Waverly Train Station, a 2 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and the breathtaking Edinburgh Castle practically on our doorstep! There is also always something happening within the hostel, with weekly Wii and Pool Competitions, Quiz and Movie Nights, Free Walking Tours 11am daily Monday to Saturday, and our infamous Pub Crawls Monday to Friday kicking off in our very own bar! Whether you want to see the sights, make friends, party it up, or just relax, Budget Backpackers has everything you need to make your stay in Edinburgh memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Budget Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.