We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good option for accommodation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brodie's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brodie's Hostel to your Saves list
Brodie's Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   93 High St | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TB , Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a good option for accommodation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is the second time I stayed at Brodies as my firdt experience went generally well. However, the second time arpund I was terribly disappointed because the place has just gone below standards of a comfortable accomodation. The double deck beds appeared unsafe (my friend has an accident when one of the steel frames of the ladder fell off), the toilet and shower facilities were not well-maintained (in fact they have run out of toilet paper for residents to use) and the general feel of the place is no longer inviting. The advantages of this place are it prime location and price, but it is not suitable and ideal if you are looking for a pleasant, comfortable and home away from home type of accommodation. I would bot recommend it and I would stay elsewhere in Edinburgh next time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    29
    19
    68
See reviews for
7
41
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Do not recommend! Corridor smelled like urine, toilets were disgusting with no FLUSH. WiFi costs 3 pounds per device! Couldn't believe it as the cheapest hostels in China have free WiFi. The staff at the reception not friendly at all, didn't offer any help with exploring the city. The worst hostel I have ever been to! They should start with cleaning the place. Absolutely filthy place. Will be reporting this place to the health and safety authorities!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have mixed feelings on this place. On one hand it was cheap. On the other hand it could've been kept up a lot better. For example the light in my room didn't work as well as some of the showers. But again when you stay in a hostel, looking for cheap cost and a place to stay in, this delivers on both. You will just have to put up with some other things that usually do not outweigh the cost and inconvenience.

But with a great location, they just have to put a little more effort into it and it can be a great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Edinburgh in a wonderful city but I will not recommend this place. We espended some very good time in the Whiski bar right beside de hostel.
- They need to put more power sockets on the room;
- The toilets were really dirty when we arrived late night;
- To much noise from the street if front of it;
- Service was ok but they could be nicer;
- It is really cheap, but anyway we are paying;
- Location is perfect.
Do not recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hostel has a good location and all amenities which should come with a hostel. The downfall is that nothing is free. Prices are set by date, not availability (Fridays and Saturdays cost more). The wifi costs 3£ per day, lockers cost more, and towels must be bought (not rented for a deposit). The kitchen and common area is nice, but in the end the lack of free WIFI is what kills this place in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I loved this hostel, it has everything a hostel is supposed to have and the location is amazing. The staff is super friendly! Big kitchen, nice common room, nice facilities. Made some really good friends there and I'm definitely going to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The hostel smells like feet and other smelly parts, a room that should accomodate 4, accomodates 8, there is barely any room to walk in the room let alone store your luggage, the staff barely speaks english. They should pay peaple to stay in that dump.
Sleep in your car but not there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brodie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brodie's Hostel

Address: 93 High St | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TB , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brodie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brodie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brodie`s Hotel Edinburgh
Brodie's Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brodie's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.