We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel on the face of the earth” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brodie's Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brodie's Hostel to your Saves list
Brodie's Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   93 High St | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TB , Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst hostel on the face of the earth”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The hostel smells like feet and other smelly parts, a room that should accomodate 4, accomodates 8, there is barely any room to walk in the room let alone store your luggage, the staff barely speaks english. They should pay peaple to stay in that dump.
Sleep in your car but not there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    32
    20
    69
See reviews for
7
42
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We searched for quite a while for something affordable near the centre of Edinburgh. Brodie's is very affordable, especially for being on the Royal Mile.
We stayed in the private double room with en-suite. The room was quite spacious and clean. The bed was fine and the bathroom was also clean and roomy enough. The shower was a bit on the small side, but manageable nonetheless. There was even adequate water pressure, it would have been quite perfect had the water temperature been more stable.
The doors slamming in the hallway were a bit loud, but not very bothersome. Since the room was at the back of the hostel the noise from outside was not bad at all.
We did not have much to do with the staff, but they were friendly enough and had us checked in quickly.
Location- and price-wise we had no complaints. Nothing too fancy, but quite adequate.

Room Tip: Back of the hostel did not have much noise from outside. Double en-suite spacious enough for 2 pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms are really small and smell very very bad! We couldn't open a window because the roof under our window smelled like urine. So we had to chose between a smell of homeless people or urine..The mattress was so bad I had bruises all over my body.

The toilets won't flush anymore at the end of the day, so you can imagine what that looks like. The showers, I don't even want to talk about them. Can't describe how dirty they are.

Our room was far away from the entrance, but in case of emergency we had to go out that way, there are no emergency exits!!

Also there is a lot of noise, the washing machine is on the whole night and there are some other weird loud noises that will keep you awake. I really don't understand how people could give this hostel a good review. Please don't stay here!!


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The worst hostel ever! Dirty showers, broken beds, very rude staff.... it was a nightmare.

The frontdoor wasn't locked, so everyone could walk inside. There was a bad smell in the whole hostel, especially in our room. If wasn't possible to open the windows, because the window sills were covered in urine!!!

The room was very stuffy and very small, you couldn't store your luggage somewhere. Our beds were completely broken! The room was also very noisy, every night people screamed across the corridor.

We have complained to the front desk, but they could do nothing for us.

I

Room Tip: Please protect yourself en do NOT book any beds in this horrible hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Perhaps I would have stronger feelings on Brodie's had I stayed longer than a night but after moving out of my uni accommodation for the year I had a night to kill before my flight and spent it in Brodie's. Staff at reception were friendly and helped with my unusual arrangements (early flight), bed was clean and decently comfortable, showers/toilets were a bit dingy admittedly, there's no self-contained Wifi - something called Global Gossip instead - and I had the free entertainment of drunken tourists singing in many tongues wafting through the window later in the night (not the company's fault certainly, rather the location).

The price is an absolute bargain considering you are right in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, five minutes walk from Waverley train station, about ten to twelve from the bus station.
Don't stay here if you're a light sleeper, but I would recommend purely for the price and location. Bring flip-flops for the showers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Now I know there are a lot of bad reviews of this place, but I disagree with 90% of them! The Hostel was pretty well kept and the reception staff amazing!! Engi and Kata are wonderful, while Zoe and Babs were awesome to hang out with..... They made a lot of effort to make introductions and that presented a good night out along the Cowgate!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Brodies for three nights. It was by far the cheapest possibility to stay in the heart of Edinburgh - the double private room was even far cheaper than dorms in other hostels in the city. The room lacked any comfort as ist had only a bed, a chair and a mirror but nothing else. The room was also not much bigger than the size of the bed in it. But that was ok considering we were only there for a city trip and therefore most of the times outside. And considering the price you couldn't have expected more. The room was clean, as were the showers and toilets on the same floor. The kitchen was very common, but offered all you need for preparing standard meals.
Staff was always friendly and helpful.
The location is very convenient - only 5 mins walk to the castle on the right and 10min walk to St. Arthurs seat on the left. Perfect place to start a city tour. The pub "Whiski" the next door had great live music!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brodie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brodie's Hostel

Address: 93 High St | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TB , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brodie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Brodie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brodie`s Hotel Edinburgh
Brodie's Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brodie's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.