We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely go back again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardgarth Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardgarth Guest House
Save
You added Ardgarth Guest House to your Saves list
1 St Mary's Place | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2QF , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Germany
1 review
“I would definitely go back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I stayed for one week at the Ardgarth Guest House with friends. Ursula and her staff made us all feel very welcome. Each morning we were provided with a wonderful breakfast in a nice atmosphere. Ursula often suggested places for us to visit or helped by offering her opinion about our choices for trips. Ensuring our comfort and addressing concerns were high importantly to Ursula; she made sure that we knew that we could approach her with any issues.

I hope to go back and visit Edinburg again and I plan to stay at the Ardgarth Guest House both for the hospitality and the convenience of its location. There's plenty of parking available for a car, but there are buses just down at the corner heading to the city center of Edinburgh. Plus there are many good restaurants in the area.

Many thanks, Ursula and staff!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
26
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

I really enjoyed staying at Ursula's guest house. She and "her girls" were so helpful. As was her son in carrying up the luggage to the room. They went out of their way to give us directions and make the stay enjoyable. Delicious breakfast, nice rooms and it was great to chat with them. I will definitely stay here again - when in Edinburgh. The location is great for those who don't necessarily want to stay in the center, but want to get there easily. The beach was so nice to walk along and as we rented a car, the house is near major roads that are easy to travel around. Thanks for a restful place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We were given a downstairs accessible room however it was a bit of a squeeze to move around and we kept having to go to one side of the room so we could turn around in the chair. Maybe if the two armchairs where not there there would have been move room. The bathroom was also a bit of a squeeze. Decided not to have a shower as the floor was all level in the wet room type bathroom and the water would have gone everywhere, wasnt much room to move around in it either. The lady that ran it was pleasant and her son helped us with the suitcases.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at Ardgarth with our extended family, including small children, for Hogmanay 2010, and had an amazing time. Both Edinburgh and Ardgarth were a pure pleasure to visit.

The accommodation is excellent and the location very pleasant - out of the rush and bustle of the city, but only 15 minutes away on the bus, which runs quite regularly. The beach is only a block away, and local services are good. There is plenty of safe parking on the street outside the guest house.

Ursula and her staff provided us with first class service, always helpful and friendly, and willing to go the extra mile. The breakfast selections, including a full Scottish breakfast, were delicious and plentiful. Special dietary needs were no problem at all, and Ursula was extremely helpful with regard to local information. A special festival information pack and little extras like shortbread and bubbly on New Year's Eve were "the icing on the cake". I would highly recommend a visit to Ardgarth to anyone. I'll be telling all my friends about it. We certainly plan to come back next time we visit Edinburgh.

Thank's so much Ursula, we will remember your wonderful hospitality for a long, long time!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We spent New Year's Eve at this guest house located at a stone's throw from Portobello Beach and only 15 mins by bus to the centre. Would recommend it to anyone, but especially to familes with young kids. We were given a large room with a double bed and two singles and an en suite shower. Huge breakfasts every morning, very friendly and helpful service, excellent value for money. One word sums up our New Years Eve in Edinburgh: "magic".

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Staff very friendly and warmly welcoming. Requires a bus to get into Edinburgh, but that is easy to do. Breakfast was excellent - kept us full for the whole day.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torshälla
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

This guest house is situated in Portobello away from the bustling crowd and yet still so near the city. After busy days in or around the city, it is a treat to return to Ardgarth Guest House where you are really made to feel at home. There are wonderful walks along the beach or seafront.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardgarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgarth Guest House

Address: 1 St Mary's Place | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2QF , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly Guest House in a quiet location with free on-street parking and good bus service to city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardgarth Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardgarth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.