We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardgarth Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardgarth Guest House
Save
You added Ardgarth Guest House to your Saves list
1 St Mary's Place | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2QF , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had stayed at this place exactly 3 years previous and Ursula remembered me. It was a no brainer to book here again. Nothing is too much trouble and you're made to feel so welcome. The place is spotless and so inviting. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again albeit probably in another 3 years. Ursula's marmalade is to die for and she gave me a jar, a box of sweetie goodies and a Christmas card to take with me when I checked out. If you're visiting Edinburgh and don't mind taking a bus into the centre and at very reasonable rates then this is the place to book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
25
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mantova
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Mrs. Ursula Wright demonstrated us the perfect Scottish manners: kind, gentle, polite...we renamed her "our second mom". She gave us a really warm welcome and offered us a wonderful room. Nice, comfortable and - the most important - very very clean.
We stayed there 2 nights and we enjoyed our time in Edinburgh. Mrs Wright was so helpful and she booked for us the restaurants and the tickets for bus.
The Guest House is in Portobello, a really nice district near the sea. You can reach Edinburgh centre by bus (really advisable) and spend all the day visiting the city - so nice! - and have a lot of fun.
The Ardgarth G.H. makes you feel like at home. And the breakfasts are incredible....very rich choice of food (Viennoiserie breakfast, traditional scottish breakfast...whatever you want, really!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed three nights at Ardgarth and were very pleased. Ursula is very welcoming and provides excellent advice on what to do. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is excellent. It is only a 10' bus ride to Princes Street and a hundred yards from the beach which is really relaxing after a busy day walking round Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Second visit to the Ardgarth, Urshula is very welcoming, her standards are excellent. a warm friendly welcome awaits every visitor, breakfast is very varied with an excellent selection offered catering for all needs with plenty of tea and toast offered regulary by the friendly staff.
The Ardgarth is only 2/3 minutes from the beach/sea front and even closer to the bus stop into Edinburgh, which is only 10 minutes away.
Excellent local pubs very close by serving very good quality food.
The Ardgarth is a place we would return to time and again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: As there are only 4 ensuite rooms ensure you ask for one when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Ardgarth is exactly what a B&B should be: cozy, welcoming, and great value.

Four of us in our 20s/30s, stayed at Ardgarth during a weekend break and loved it. The best part was the charming seaside location with quick bus access to the City Centre allowing visitors to experience the easily missed beaches of Edinburgh (Note: For those traveling alone this is a very safe area). And don't even get us started on the generous breakfasts with plenty vegetarian options!

Unlike some B&B's that overdo it, the staff was friendly and attentive but otherwise left us alone. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Had a great stay , the guest house is in a ideall location for me ( great pubs nearby !! ) and good access to the city centre ( for the missus !! ) . Nice room which although was not very big was thoughtfully decorated and modern and perfect for us after all you dont go on holiday to spend your time in the room.. Would have no hesitation in recommending .

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This family run guest house was brilliant. The hostess Ursula was so welcoming and the girls working there were so charming, nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful white sheets and towels, and good quality loo paper!! Bus stop into Edinburgh a stone's throw away, and the sea at bottom of road. Would most definately stay there again and will be recommending to all my friends and family. This is a really lovely victorian house with lots of lovely features. Super visit all round.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardgarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgarth Guest House

Address: 1 St Mary's Place | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2QF , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly Guest House in a quiet location with free on-street parking and good bus service to city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardgarth Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardgarth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.