We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs to sharpen up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“needs to sharpen up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Whilst the location is great, the beds comfortable and the bathroom clean, the room was horrendously overheated with no way to ventilate it and the breakfast was expensive and very disappointing. A substandard buffet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Sarah M

Thanks very much for placing your review.

It was good to read that you had enjoyed the accommodation, but I note that you found the room a bit warm . The weather has been hot recently, and our air cooling system can struggle a bit in the hotest days, and we are reveiwing the delivery of cooler air to the bedrooms when required.

Sorry you did not enjoy breakfast, we acknowledge it is the most important meal of the day, and we are continuing to review.

I do hope that we might have the pleasure of being of service to you again at some stage in the future.

Best regards


Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    729
    500
    314
    206
See reviews for
329
990
89
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location near the train station and the old town, staff were friendly and efficient, bedrooms are comfortable and clean but very warm, breakfast was ok but being in Scotland was disappointed they did not serve square sausage haggis is not for everyone at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Lesleycra

Thanks very much for posting a great 4 star review.

I was very pleased to read that you were comfortable in your room, and that you found it to be clean. Thank you very mch for being so nice about the team.

Thanks also for your note about breakfast, we are constantly reviewing and will take you suggestion on board.

We do hope to be of service to you again at some stage in the future.

Best regards.

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Public areas of this hotel need a re-vamp. It looks like it hasn't been done up since the nineties and therefore looks really tired. The restaurant was like a cafeteria and the food matched the decor. Poor quality. Does not look or feel like a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear RCS68

Thanks for placing your review.

Actually the hotel was refurbished in this centuary, certainly much later than the ninties. Sorry you do not like our public areas: anecdotally, most people who express an opinion do.

However, the hotel company is very new, and plans are moving apace with our development plans. In the meantime, we remain an AA 4 star hotel with a quality rating of 74%.

I do hope that at some stage in the future, we will have the privelage of being of service to you again.

Best regards


Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Too stuffy, too grubby, too broken, definitely not 4 star, and overpriced by a country mile - worst hotel I've ever stayed in. There is nothing to recommed this hotel, and on top of all of the aforementioned the fire alarms went off at 3:00am and there was no sensible plan of evacuation once we'd hit the pavements - utter chaos, and fire alarm a false one which when you read the reviews (why didn't I do that beforehand?) are a common occurrence.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear FreedomCyclist

Thanks very much for placing your review.

I belive that we have alraedy been in correspondence through your agent, and may I refer you to the response as supplied.

However, I'm sorry that we did not reach your expecations, we are a very busy hotel, at the cusp of great changes via our new hotel company, and I do hope that we can be of service to you again at some stage in the future.

Best regards


Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Fantastic location right in the heart of the old town and close to the station, nice rooms and good value. Didn't have time for breakfast but would have had I had time - it looked nice .Recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear John G

Thanks very much for posting a 5 star review.

It was good to read your comments, I I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Best regards


Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Second visit 18 months after ,my first. Less impressed this time. Lovely Reception area and very helpful and pleasant staff. The problem is that the rooms are really tired. Two cardinal errors last night - first I arrived in the early evening on a very hot day and my room was literally like a furnace. The aircon didnt work and I opened all the windows before going out for dinner. The temperature was only just tolerable all night. Second issue was my kettle was broken so I missed my in room cuppa. The location is great and I was less botheerd by noise this time as I was on the fifth floor but these are just not 4 star rooms. I will still use the hotel as the location is great and all I do is sleep in it, but it is tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Ybabobmij

Many thanks for placing your review.

I was sorry to read that you were less comfortable that you had been before due to the temperature and the kettle situation.

I was glad to read that you will contunue to vist us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards


Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Central for shops etc. in New Town (10-15 mins walk) and just off Royal Mile. A fairly big, standard 4 star in a touristy city. I was here for business, nothing flash but ok. Kind of them to find me a different room when I said I didn't want to be open the 5th floor. I got off to a bad start though when I rang to ask if I needed taxi from station, was told no, there is an entrance door under bridge at back of station (Market St entrance), there is, but it's a bit like the worst bit of an old multi story carpark with 4 floors of stone steps to reception). As a woman arriving alone, I wasn't at all keen on this entrance and didn't use it again. But if you don't mind, it will save you a small taxi fare (cost £3.50 cab on way back from front entrance). V friendly reception staff. Didn't eat breakfast or dinner so can't comment. Room was hot at night, didn't have AC. I wouldn't choose this for a special weekend, but did its job fine for work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear fennelseed43

Thanks for placing you review.

Sorry about the confusion. It looks like you have climbed the "Scotsman steps" up to North Bridge rather than entering our hotel at minus 4 and using the lift.

Otherwise thanks very much for the generally positive review, and we hope that we can be of service to you again at some stage in the future.

Best regards

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#63 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Carlton Hotel Edinburgh is right in the heart of Scotland's historic capital city, situated on North Bridge overlooking the Royal Mile. Just minutes from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle, with 189 bedrooms it's the perfect base for exploring what the city has to offer. Take the Edinburgh Dungeon Tour, unearth the city's history at the National Museum of Scotland then take in the spectacular views of the skyline from Arthur's Seat. Get your heart rate up in the squash courts, pamper yourself in the spa and beauty rooms then enjoy excellent local food in the contemporary Bridge Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Edinburgh
Carlton Hotel Edinburgh
The Carlton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.