We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
berkhamsted
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Bad night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel has been refurbished - but is basically an old building. the hotel fronts North Bridge - which is noisy - and the refurbishment did not extend to double-glazing rooms at the front of the hotel. the result was a disturbed and bad night. There appear to be rooms that face in another direction - that may be quieter.

Otherwise hotel is serviceable - but a civilised night would ahve been appreciated.

no drinking water provided in the bedroom - take your own.

Room Tip: make sure your room does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear chrisberkamsted

Thank you for your review, we are sorry your night was disturbed by some of the noise from the city, unfortunately with our location at the heart of the city close to all the attractions and shops this can sometimes be an issue for light sleepers.

We are pleased you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and hope you may return in the future.

PS: Mineral Water is included as part of any upgraded packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    572
    398
    250
    157
See reviews for
259
765
73
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I recently had a 2 night stay here, location is spot on, you are central for exploring Edinburgh.
The hotel is really lovely with all staff being very courteous and really going out of their way to make you feel welcome.
We had dinner in the bridge restaurant and even though I required a gluten free meal this was no problem whatsoever with staff finding out what options were available for me.
I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Pauline

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of The Carlton Hotel and we are delighted you would highly recommend us.

I was delighted to read your very generous comments about our team and how they go out of their way to make the guest feel welcome and go out of their way to make this happen.

Meeting dietary requiremnets today can be challenging for any restaurant, so was delighted your gluten free meals was accommdated with no problems whatso ever, we do try very hard in this area.

Thank you again for your 5star review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent location in Edinburgh city centre ,very near the station.Plenty of restaurants nearby and only a short walk to the Royal Mile and castle.Pleasant lounge area and dining room.Plenty of choice for breakfast (self service buffet).Tea served by waitress at the table but we would have preferred our own teapot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Eve

Thank so much for your 5 star review for The Carlton Hotel, we really appreciate it.

Thank you for highlighting our great location which is as you say so close to all the great things Edinburgh has to offer with the Castle, museums and shopping.

We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and next time you visit we will be serving individual tea pots.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We received a voucher for 1 night stay with 3 course meal with a bottle of wine and use of the pool and spa facilities. We arrived earlier than the check-in time of 2pm and had hoped to leave our case and go off to explore. Luckily we were allocated a room and checked in early. Our room was street facing which might have proved to be bad news, but even though it was Friday night we stayed, we both slept well and uninterrupted.
We enjoyed a spell in the spa area which was nice and warm with plenty loungers.
Our meal and breakfast was much enjoyed.
The location of this hotel is excellent for many tourist haunts and for shopping.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Valerie

Thank you for taking the time to complete your very positive review of The Carlton Hotel.

I am very pleased the team were able to allocate your room prior 2pm, we do try are hardest to acheive this despite our very high occupancies.

We are dleighted you had a good sleep, enjoyed the spa faciltiies, your dinner and breakfast, you certainly made use of all our great facilties.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlton Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

stayed at the hotel for my wedding aniversary on the 25th jan asked at desk for an upgrade as im a liesure club member, but the receptionist looked at me and said you booked through superbreaks you dont get upgrade ,this was infront of other guests, i felt a bit embarresed by this comment . i explained that i was a member then i was told that they didnt have upgrade till next day , which was ok . the room i was in was nice and large so just stayed put . told reception i was happy so they said i would get the upgrade package sent up to room , this was two small bottles of water and two bathrobes, later on in the afternoon following afternoon . breakfast was room service which i asked for both mornings of my stay, first morning no milk for tea/coffee no fried egg on one of plates, 2nd morning no orange juice, and i had asked for cereal again this didnt appear told waiter who brought trays up after he had already went to get our juice as i hadnt noticed but just left it waiter explained they didnt have what i wanted so didnt put alternative on tray . on leaving i told receptionist she said sorry , all in it was a good break with a few hiccups but would stay again as i l like the hotel. pool was nice and relaxing with mood lights and spa so did have a nice break.

Room Tip: had room 407 which was a big room on 4th floor. but wouldnt have room service would just go and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Caccyb

Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, managed to relax and will return, we couldn't ask for more.

I have discussed both your comments with my team and corrective action has and will continue to be taken to be more consistent in our guest experience.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay as we were going to the theatre in Edinburgh and wanted to make it special. Our check in was for 2.00pm and our theatre show was for 2.30pm so we thought we would drop our luggage off early and go for lunch before going to the show. We arrived at the hotel around 11.30am and explained at reception desk of our intention. Within a few minutes the manager and receptionist had allocated a room and we were able to get our keys early, get freshened up and unpack before going for lunch. That was the beginning of a very nice experience. The room was very clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries and fluffy towels in the bathroom. There was also a fridge to store our own drinks. Our deal was for 3 course dinner with wine and the food was excellent. After spending a very comfortable night we enjoyed a very hearty breakfast before heading home. The hotel is very well presented and the staff very helpful. As we were checking out the gentleman who had assisted us with our room allocation asked us if we had enjoyed our stay and was concerned that our sleep may have been disturbed because our room was front facing but we assured him we had been very happy with everything. I feel everyone went that extra mile for us and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Romacaldwell9

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of The Carlton Hotel and I am delighted to read that the team went the extra mile for you and due to this you will be recommedning us.

We always where possible try to allocate rooms prior to 2pm although this can be challenging due to occuapncy level and check out time, but delighted we could accommodate you on this stay.

I am pleased that the rest of your stay was very good from your nights sleep, to dinner and finally your hearty breakfast.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

the hotel is in a great location, the food is excellent the decor and rooms good and the staff top notch****but we had a room facing out on the front of the hotel on to the main road which is a very busy cross city route and also has a 24 hour convenience store opposite with loud customers all night and only single pane big windows.As a consequence we got very little sleep and this was at 4/5 in the morning.By all means go to this hotel but insist on a room at the rear until they fit double glazing. This was midweek the last week in january 2014

Room Tip: choose a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your very positive review, we are delighted you found the food excellent and the team in your words are top notch we certainly try our hardest to be so.

The location of the hotel is one of our main assets along side our team but with that can bring the challenges of noise pollution which varies considerably day to day and I am sorry on this occassion your sleep was disturbed.

Thank you again for your review and I hope the service we provided throughout the hotel can persuade you to come back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#65 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Carlton Hotel Edinburgh is right in the heart of Scotland's historic capital city, situated on North Bridge overlooking the Royal Mile. Just minutes from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle, with 189 bedrooms it's the perfect base for exploring what the city has to offer. Take the Edinburgh Dungeon Tour, unearth the city's history at the National Museum of Scotland then take in the spectacular views of the skyline from Arthur's Seat. Get your heart rate up in the squash courts, pamper yourself in the spa and beauty rooms then enjoy excellent local food in the contemporary Bridge Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Edinburgh
Carlton Hotel Edinburgh
The Carlton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.