We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Perfect! When I handed the key to my wife and wished her a happy birthday. ....the squeals of delight told me that it was perfect! Thank you to Morag @ puma hotels for listening to what I wanted to make this a very special birthday weekend for my wife. The room is huge and perfect! We have two turrets, with one looking down the Royal Mile. Thank You.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Andy

I am delighted you and your wife thought The Carlton was perfect for you and that you rated us 5 stars.

The beauty of The Carlton, although some guests do not like it, is that we have character, our rooms have quirky things like turrets, the majority have stunning views and as all our guests say we have the best location in Edinburgh with the best views.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    644
    460
    290
    190
See reviews for
301
871
83
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bucks
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We bought 2 nights in the after Christmas sale, for a very good price. Arrival by car was a bit fraught as the main entrance is on a very busy road. However, the receptionist had a parking map to hand and my husband was quickly dispatched to the station car park. This was a good 10 minutes walk away, even when using a rear hotel access door as a short cut.
We think we had a room upgrade - nice view to the rear, robes, water etc. however the room was bit tired. It was also exceptionally hot even with the radiator off, fan on and windows open. TV remote control was missing and the safe not working. Both of these issues were never addressed during our stay despite beginning reported twice. When the power to TV and sockets went off, that was addressed promptly.
Breakfast was fine. However, we did return to our table after a visit to the buffet to find another couple occupying it! Not a good reflection on the waiting staff.
Dinner in the restaurant was nice, drinks expensive. Fortunately there are plenty of eateries very nearby.
Would we stay here again? Certainly if we get a rock bottom deal again, never if we have to pay full price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and have a view of Holyrood Palace and Arthurs Seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear haveyougotthemap

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you thought your stay was value for money as we always try to be priced competitively for our amazing location and demand.

I am pleased someone addressed your maintenance issue when reported although disappointed no one replaced your remote control.

It was good to read you were satisfied with your food at both breakfast and dinner. with regard drinks pricing we are competitively priced to other 4 star hotels and many bars in Edinburgh and check this regularly.

Please keep reviewing our website for any hote deals that maybe out there or just give our team a call.

look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Booked 2 day break in january 14. Room ok. On 5th floor. A bit dusty and old but ok. Dinner on 1st night ok. Breakfast quite nice but mouse ran across room. Sat in bar on the evening more mice ! Told bar man, reception, manager and was told 'this is normal' suffice to say didnt want breakfast on final day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear NEYorklass

Thank you for writing a review although somewhat surprised only scored us 3 stars for location as most guests have scored us 5.

I can only apologise for the mice, over the last few days we have spotted a number of mice which has been a problem in Edinburgh we are told due to the very wet conditions. We are working closely with the EHO and the landlord of the shops and restaurants below us to make sure all their areas are clear as they are at street level where the mice come into the hotel, we are assured this problem should go away as never happened previously in the hotel which has very strong pest control management practices.

If I can be of any further help please contact me directly



Thi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My daughter and I went to this hotel for a well earned break after Xmas.We booked a spa break at this hotel arriving the 6th january 2014 for 2 nights bed breakfast and evening meal plus 2 hours each of beauty treatments
On arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly staff. Our first room was cold as there was a faulty radiator however we were offered a change of room immediately. The attention we received was second to none throughout our stay.
Breakfast was very good plenty to choose from a hot buffet style and also a cold continental buffet. All food was good and frequently replenished. The service was certainly good always with a smile.
Our evening meal was excellent with good choice and well served yet again with smiling friendly staff.
Our trip to the spa was good and the treatments were amazing one of the best body massages we had had in the last few years
The staff again were great and looked after us we'll
All in all an excellent break and after reading other comments on trip advisor we could not believe that we were in the same hotel.
Some of the negative comments we read about this hotel before we went bothered us as we were expecting the worse.
Thank goodness our experience was fantastic and we wouldn't hesitate to go again or recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Room 410 was a nice large bedroom located on the quiet side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Janice

Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic review about your stay at The Carlton Hotel.

It was great you managed to experience all aspects of the hotel and enjoy your spa treatments, dinner and breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lovely hotel great location and friendly staff
My only grievence is the breakfast food was not very nice
My advice would be not to pay for breakfast just book your room
and get breakfast somewhere else !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Anthony

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of The Carlton Hotel, you are right we are situated in a great location to visit all the attractions Edinburgh has and also have amazing views from our premium rooms over Arthurs Seat and Carlton Hill.

I am sorry you did not enjoy breakfast as we have a large range available to chose from.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ayrshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We travel a lot particularly within Europe and is was nice to have a break in our own capital city. The hotel is very convenient for the Old Town and all local tourist attractions, shops etc. The staff made us welcome and we had a very nice room and a bottle of wine to celebrate my husband's birthday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Relations, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Isabel

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of The Carlton Hotel.

It was great that you highlighted our number one asset - our people.

Thanks again and hopefully see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Mouses run everywhere,I skipped breakfast because I was disgust. I think that it requires no comment. Support also incompetent, if necessary, there is no where to report a problem because managers leave themselves receptionists. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#63 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Carlton Hotel Edinburgh is right in the heart of Scotland's historic capital city, situated on North Bridge overlooking the Royal Mile. Just minutes from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle, with 189 bedrooms it's the perfect base for exploring what the city has to offer. Take the Edinburgh Dungeon Tour, unearth the city's history at the National Museum of Scotland then take in the spectacular views of the skyline from Arthur's Seat. Get your heart rate up in the squash courts, pamper yourself in the spa and beauty rooms then enjoy excellent local food in the contemporary Bridge Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Edinburgh
Carlton Hotel Edinburgh
The Carlton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.