We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for its money...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Carlton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value for its money...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice lobby and rooms . The spot is great ... just five minutes walk from the center. The breakfast has a big variety of things to eat and drink and i think it covers all tastes... some room are small and old but they all have great views of the city... i really liked it and had a good time there !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    533
    350
    226
    130
See reviews for
235
703
67
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Where do I start? Was staying here for a spa weekend, but was totally disappointed and will never return.
So we get down to the spa which was a total shamble, they had no robes left for us so we were left to walk around in our clothes. All spa staff were completely clueless and nobody seemed to know what they were doing. We were taken 30 mins late for our treatments, one of the girls in our group had a pedicure and the therapist forgot to do one of her feet... Hard to miss out a foot I know!
I had a back massage which was the worst massage ever, I was taken to a bedroom that guests would stay in not a treatment room. The room was cold, lights left on and blinds wide open. The massage it's self lasted 10-15 mins (supposed to be 30 mins) as a salon owner myself I don't think this girl was even qualified, she then finished the massage by cleaning the room while I was still in the room.
You are nothing but another person on a conveyor belt on the bed of the bed...next.
We were booked in for afternoon tea, nobody came to our table for 30 mins. We were on a schedule as had appointments in the spa. Eventually the scones etc arrived... The scones were frozen actual ice in the middle. So that was another disaster.
The list could go on....
This is the first complaint I have ever wrote on trip advisor but it had to be told.
I would advise anyone thinking about this hotel for its spa facilities to learn from our mistakes. Or waste your time and hard earned money on this total joke of a spa!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel enjoys a fabulous location- it is situated between the royal mile and princess street on the north bridge.
We had a standard double room which was very spacious and nicely decorated- all felt very nice.
The breakfast is good - buffet style with a good choice of hot and cold items.
Only complaint was the room was immensely hot- which we complained about and finally given a fan, which did not help!
There is no car parking but car parking is only £4.50 for 24 hours at nearby Waverley train station, only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good location in the middle of the old city, however the service we received was poor and
not expected for a 4 Starts Hotel, the first night I fancy a cocktail went to the bar and the person who served us said they changed the menu and he couldn't make any cocktail at all...a bit disappointed! We decided to have dinner in the hotel Saturday Night after a long day waking around that beautiful city we called around 8.30pm the rest. and they said it was fully booked we decided to see if it was a chance to have dinner in the bar, surprise the restaurant was empty just a few tables so we ask a gentleman in the restaurant and he gave us a table, we were curios why the refused to take our booking by phone surprise the staff were planing to go out for a leaving party and they didn't want to stay late at the end we were lucky to have a meal but a family just behind us had to walked out because 3 people refused them to served dinner!!!
The rooms are very noisy you can heard everything from the corridor, the leisure center very poor maintenance for a hotel ...tiles missing in the swimming pool!! and just be ready if you have to evacuated the hotel at 5am and followed people as no one was around to explain were to
go or apologize for the inconvenience just received a letter next day offering 10% of your next stay!! Who is going to go back to that hotel not us!! and no recommended at all....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only an overnight & breakfast, however efficiency from check in to check out and to boot an excellent breakfast. The room was large, clean and quiet I would recommend this hotel to anyone. On arrival I had to have a quick turnaround to allow me to attend an event elsewhere in the city the hotel concierge was most helpfull in ensuring my transport was there on time.

Room Tip: My experience if repeated throughout would mean any room would be excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

great long weekend break,helpful staff,good food ,very clean hotel,and a very comfortable room .a great location for the station,buses,and sightseeing.will use this hotel again and tell my friends and family ,the breakfast was superb,and from a safety point of view i can vouch for the fire alarm system,as it roused us at 5 a m, followed the drill and back to bed in 1/2 hour ,better safe than sorry,very efficient staff and system.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Very good location near Waverley station and the Royal Mile, walking distance to major attractions, rooms are spacious, cleaning of room was only fair, none of toiletries were replaced on a daily basis. Double bed was two singles pushed together constantly having to mind the gap!!
Overall good for weekend visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Also Known As:
Barcelo Edinburgh
Carlton Hotel Edinburgh
The Carlton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Address: 19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Carlton Hotel Edinburgh is right in the heart of Scotland's historic capital city, situated on North Bridge overlooking the Royal Mile. Just minutes from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle, with 189 bedrooms it's the perfect base for exploring what the city has to offer. Take the Edinburgh Dungeon Tour, unearth the city's history at the National Museum of Scotland then take in the spectacular views of the skyline from Arthur's Seat. Get your heart rate up in the squash courts, pamper yourself in the spa and beauty rooms then enjoy excellent local food in the contemporary Bridge Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.