We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT PLACE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices from these 13 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during October and had a fantastic time. The reception staff were first class and provided lots of helpful information on arrival regarding Edinburgh and the area. The hotel itself is in a great part of the city with easy access to both the old part and the new part. Rooms are spotless and a good size. Only had breakfast here which we couldnt fault, just perfect but we did hear the evening meals were excellent as well. The bar staff in the evenings again were very helpful and were always on the ball as your glass was nearing empty. Excellent place, would def recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Operations, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to another excellent five star review regarding your visit at the Carlton Hotel.

It is great to read that your stay was not just yesterday, we must have made an impression on you, October/November is so far away now, to remember the hotel and how good it was.

To mention the team, now that is what makes the Carlton so special and why so many of our guest return every time.

Our location is second to none, so if you are looking for a place to set up base camp while exploring all the sights in Edinburgh, look no further than the Carlton, with the Royal Mile and Prince Street on our doorstep a terrific place to call home while away.

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcoming you back to the Carlton.

Kind Regards

Trevor

Trevor Duffy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    602
    425
    267
    173
See reviews for
282
806
79
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friend and I planned to spend a day relaxing in the spa of the Carlton Hotel in Edinburgh recently. We got a 5pm deal and were looking forward to a luxurios day. We were, sadly, very disappointed. The spa area is in dire need of a refurb, it's dirty and the pool water was positively vile! There is mould over the entire ceiling above the pool and to cover this they have installed a canape!! The plaster is flaking off the walls around the pool and the loungers are dirty and some are broken.

We went for lunch, the restaurant staff seemed confused and although it wasn't busy we were still kept waiting. We were directed to the bar area by a fairly abrupt young man and left to sit there for around 10 minutes. The waitress wasn't sure which menu we were to use but eventually worked it out. We were expected to eat lunch in the bar area although the restaurant was empty. She obliged when we asked to be moved. The food was also very disappointing. The "selection of cold cuts with seasonal leaves" turned out to be a couple of bits of salami, some spam and some other highly processed fatty "meat", a bit of rocket and 2 slices of tomato. I didn't eat any of the meat and no one asked if there was a problem or if I wanted anything else.

The spa staff were very friendly as was the concierge, Mike, but the facilities need to be upgraded and they may need to consider moving the "relaxation" area away from the squash courts and the weights room as it's a fairly busy throughfare.

If you are looking for a spa day in Edinburgh, look elsewhere as the Carlton is certainly not the 4 star experience we were expecting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Operations, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to a review regarding your visit at the Carlton Hotel.

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your experience at our Spa during your visit. It is just a shame that being from Edinburgh you did not get a chance to see the full extent of our facilities, our 189 bedrooms, 10 conference suite and sample our Bridge Restaurant Dinner & Breakfast.

I have spoken to our Leisure Club Manager who has advised me that we check our water every hour, I am glad to say we do not have any issues, I can even go on to say that we have an independent contractor who comes into all our PUMA hotels to check and we as a unit came in first for water quality throughout the group.

Reading on from your review, it saddens me for one of our team not to give that 100 percent commitment to our guests, this individual is being dealt with for lack of customer care. Also from your review we have looked into your points regarding our lunch offering this to has been changed as feedback like yours only assists us help future guests who visit the hotel.

On a positive note thank you for your kind words regarding our concierge, being from Edinburgh you could come in anytime and see this famous individual and listen to the banter!

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcoming you back to the Carlton.

Kind Regards

Trevor

Trevor Duffy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I checked into the Carlton on 11th January for an overnight in the city. We booked with hotel connections and paid £100 DB&B. Upon arrival our room was upgraded free of charge which was an excellent start to our stay (Room 340). The room was spacious, well decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable and we were not bothered once by noise from outside like other guests had previously reported. Infact we did not notice any noise at all which is quite unusual for a city centre hotel.

Food
Dinner was a 3 course meal and the selection to choose from was very good and varied. Food portion sizes were quite small however it was well presented, all tasted excellent and by the end of the meal my wife and I were both full and not feeling completely stuffed which was good.
Next Morning the breakfast buffet was great. Plenty of selection from both the hot and cold options. It was very busy however at no point were we queing or waiting for food etc.

Location
Very central in the city with good travel links (train station etc). Close to the royal mile, castle, grassmarket, edinburgh dungeon, mary kings close, princes st etc.

Facilities
Hotel offers free wi-fi for guests and there is on site leisure facilities. The leisure facilities as previously commented on by many other guests is in dire need of refurbishment. We used the pool, spa, steam room and sauna. Whilst they are all in full working order and do perform exactly as they should the setting and surroundings are dark, dingy and fall well short of the 4 star expeienced through out the rest of the hotel.

All in all it was a bonus for my wife and I that the hotel had leisure facilities as this was not the main point of our stay and this is why I have left a high overall rating for our experience. If the sole purpose of our stay was a relaxing, spa, pamper weekend our score would have been very different.

Final tip - If you are travelling to this hotel from Waverly Train station please note that there is a lift that can be accessed from Market street just under the North Bridge. This makes getting to and from the train station very easy from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Operations, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review regarding your visit at the Carlton Hotel.

It is nice to read such honest and constructive feedback, your review will help future customers to hear the whole story.

I can dwell on all the positives you mentioned in your review, but highlight the challenges we face, we know what our leisure facilities are like, yes we are a city centre hotel, with the majority of our guest not looking for that spa location, but it does help. hence the reason as you know we are refurbishing all areas of the Leisure Club. This will not happen overnight but is an ongoing process to bring it up to the level of the rest of the hotel.

I do wish more of our guests read our reviews prior to arrival, it will save them all that walking around town from the Waverley Train Station, where as you said they can get in through Market Street on our level minus 4 of the Hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcoming you back to the Carlton.

Kind Regards

Trevor

Trevor Duffy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, lovely hotel! Very comfortable and spacious rooms with excellent room service. Mike the concierge was extremely helpful with direction to the car park. Friendly reception staff helped us with information on where best to go in the city etc. Would definitely go back to this hotel, had a great stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Operations, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave another fantastic five star review regarding your visit at the Carlton Hotel.

What a joy it is to read such praise not only for the hotel but the team also.

I am glad our concierge could aid you with your car parking, as you know we are located just by the Waverley Train Station, it has a NCP car park attached to it which the hotel has special rate with. Then there is the access to the Hotel from Market Street, a short cut to the train station located on the minus 4 level of the hotel.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, central to everything with Princes Street just down the road and the Royal Mile around the corner, what better place to call home while visiting Scotland capital city.

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcoming you back to the Carlton.

Kind Regards

Trevor

Trevor Duffy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed Thursday 6th-8th jan 2013. Hotel was literally 5 min walk from the train station and round the corner from the high street/royal Mile and 5 min walk to the castle. Excellent pub The Mitre sells strong ale/porter which was great and had an artist performing on the friday night live. We had room 421 which was clean and comfortable; the only downfall was its window was small and you couldnt see out of it unless up close and the room was fairly dark without lights on.
Tried to book a pedicure but it was fully booked so i would suggest pre-booking and spa treatments in advance of your arrival.
Breakfast was brilliant: plenty of choice and hot, well prepared/cooked food. haggis was superb!!
definitely will go again as there are loads of shops within a min walk and plenty of things to do.

Room Tip: if you want a view, ask as the ones on the front entrance side on level 4 have restricted views beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Operations, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review regarding your visit at the Carlton Hotel.

I am glad to read you took time out to see the sights of Edinburgh, as you know we are located just around the corner from the Royal Mile, only a stones throw away from Edinburgh Castle.

It is funny to read your comments regarding our Spa, VERY busy I say, we have a long waiting list for clients to book treatments, it has been a great success since we opened and with the refurbishment work going on in our club it will be one hundred times better.

To top off your stay you mentioned our breakfast, now that’s a talking point, we have had guests who reviewed that mentioned it wasn’t that good, well we beg to differ, and you are proof of this, we have one on the largest selections of hot and cold breakfasts in Edinburgh, at affordable prices. Probably why we get so many non residents come in for that breakfast before work.

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcoming you back to the Carlton.

Kind Regards

Trevor

Trevor Duffy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked three nights at the Carlton for my birthday trip to Edinburgh. I chose it for the location, spa, and good reviews. The location was fantastic, really it couldn't get much better! An easy and engaging walk to all the local sites and surrounded by restaurants and shops. The room was comfortable and spacious, though the bathroom was a bit dated. It feels like it was great in the mid 90s stylewise but a little out of date otherwise. I tried to book a treatment at the spa but they were all booked up, so ended up going to a spa at another hotel. Was excited to soak in the hot tub and brought my bathing suit especially for this purpose, only to find the tub in a depressing basement and the water barely room temperature. Needless to say the hot tub experience was a complete bust. We missed dinner in the restaurant so ate at the bar, where we were presented with tiny overpriced plates. However, the drinks were delicious and the bar atmosphere was great. The breakfast (which we booked with the room) was also great, with a very large selection. If you book here definitely book with breakfast. The staff overall were very friendly, though the front desk struggled with English a bit. I would stay here again if the price was right, but overall was underwhelmed for what I was expecting. I'd say if you are used to Motel 6 or the Holiday Inn, this place will be great. If you are wanting something more luxury or boutique, you might be a tad disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Operations, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your visit at the Carlton Hotel.

Being a senior contributor to trip advisor, your review needs to be looked at closely. Having such an extensive breakdown of all our services in the hotel only helps future guests the have an unbiased view of all our products.

As you know we have a ongoing refurbishment plan of our leisure club, before Christmas we completed installation of a new dehumidifying unit for our wet areas, many of our guests know how damp and humid the pool areas was, now thankfully we do not have to deal with the damp, we are waiting for the pool area to dry out before we repair and repaint our whole poolside.

What wonderful comments regarding our breakfast product, our aim is to have the best 4 star breakfast in Edinburgh, with your comments it only confirms we are getting there.

It is a shame you compare the Carlton to some chain brands, we have a brand new one opening up at the bottom of Cockburn Street, this year. Puma Hotels are a collection of individual hotels throughout Britain, each with their own special characteristics.

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcoming you back to the Carlton.

Kind Regards

Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

With a 5PM deal in early January at £101.48 for TWO,including a credit card charge, we had a great stay in a 4 star hotel 5 minutes walk from Princes Street, situated on North Bridge. The deal included a 3 course dinner with good selections (priced for others @ £6 starter and £16 mains) where we subsituted the dessert wiith coffee, the full use of the leisure facility on site, with sauna, steam room, jacquzzi, and pool, plus a huge buffet breakfast (again priced for others at £12.95). Room was huge, on 5th floor, with a King bed, and a single (unused!!). Duvet a bit heavy bit that's a personal preference.

This is part of PUMA Hotels Collection who have 21 4* hotels throughout the UK.
The only thing I could have criticised was that butter for our dinner rolls, was bone hard and unspreadable. How often does this happen in a kitchen? Perhaps, the chefs here need to remember to instruct someone to bring the butter out of the fridge/freezer, before they start dinner service!!

Thoroughly recommendable hotel for a break or a business trip in the Capital City.

Room Tip: Very little street noise on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton_Operations, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic five star review regarding your visit at the Carlton Hotel.

We work closely with many agents to bring the best deals to our guests, 5pm is one of many. The deal which you received is fantastic value for money, we have received such good feedback regarding this, it looks like we are going to repeat again.

Your review was so good, there isn’t much I can add, I will be speaking to the chef regarding our butter, you are quite correct, why not take it out sooner.

I hope you had a chance to visit Princes Street, with it just down the road, so many places to catch that extra January Sale bargain.

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcoming you back to the Carlton.

Kind Regards

Trevor

Trevor Duffy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Carlton Hotel Edinburgh is right in the heart of Scotland's historic capital city, situated on North Bridge overlooking the Royal Mile. Just minutes from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle, with 189 bedrooms it's the perfect base for exploring what the city has to offer. Take the Edinburgh Dungeon Tour, unearth the city's history at the National Museum of Scotland then take in the spectacular views of the skyline from Arthur's Seat. Get your heart rate up in the squash courts, pamper yourself in the spa and beauty rooms then enjoy excellent local food in the contemporary Bridge Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Edinburgh
Carlton Hotel Edinburgh
The Carlton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.