We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with an amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apex International Hotel to your Saves list
Apex International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with an amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 3 days at this hotel while visiting Edinburgh. The hotel was very comfortable, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful and the room was newly refurbished. We asked for a room with a castle view when we checked in and the staff obliged. Excellent location to visit the sites in the city, walking distance to all the key attractions. There was secure parking at the hotel. We had the Scottish breakfast which was fantastic as well. Overall we had a super experience at Apex, I will definitely stay here again next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    769
    274
    105
    52
See reviews for
438
791
69
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, the staff were very helpful. Perfect location, walking distance to the castle, art gallery and shops. The Scottish breakfast was very tasty, tried the bit of haggis for the first-time, when in Rome do as the Romans, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a comfortable, friendly hotel that is convenient for all the area restaurants and sight seeing. We had a great view of the castle. They have a nice bar near the lobby and a top floor restaurant with a view of the castle. It has modern decor and the rooms have all the conveniences you could ask for. Edinburgh is beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went away for a few days after our wedding. The Apex International is in the perfect location for the castle and Royal Mile. The staff were efficient and friendly. The restaurant was excellent for dinner and breakfast. Cant really fault it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely friendly management and staff went out of there to help to make our family holiday as comfortable as possible. So central and amazing view of the castle and the best breakfast we have ever had. Went home a stone heavier. Thank you and hope it is not too long before we are back.
Marie Kenny, Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Great comfortable spacious rooms, try to get a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the weekend last year and it was great. location was fantastic as where where able to walk to royal mile, princes street and new town etc. Hotel itself was clean and staff where friendly. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I ate in the Heights Restaurant at the Apex International Hotel while on a weekend break with a girlfriend. The restaurant is at the top of the hotel and has wonderful views of Edinburgh Castle. The Restaurant has recently been relaunched with a new menu and wine list. The staff are friendly attentive and knowledgeable. The restaurant is aiming for a sophisticated clientele and should achieve it. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. I had just seen the Masterchef final and it was on a par with the dishes produced on that. The wine list is also excellent. The Rose we ordered was impressively good. The whole experience was worth the bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex International Hotel

Address: 31 - 35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apex International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex International Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.