We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steer well clear if you have a young family” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apex International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Apex International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland (Grassmarket)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great deal:Save up to 30%
Ranked #57 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Steer well clear if you have a young family”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Terrible Experince. I spend around 100 nights a year in 4/5 star hotels and I have never stayed in such a terrible place. Basically a Travel Lodge charging £100+ per night. Advertised as family friendly but we could not settle the children until after 3am. Constant shouting and door banging. Loud music being played in rooms. People smoking in corridors. Called management and they assured me they had spoken to guests but it made no difference.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex International Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, Glyn. I was disappointed to read you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. Unfortunately, it seems you were disturbed by neighbours who showed little consideration for our other customers. In this situation we will always deal sternly with anyone disturbing our other guests. I'm sorry that on this occasion this action did not happen quickly enough for you. We are a no smoking hotel and do not allow smoking in any bedroom or public area. Anyone found to be flaunting this rule is removed from the hotel immediately.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    654
    234
    92
    49
See reviews for
373
680
65
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have just returned from Apex International a nice hotel and great staff in a very good location close to Castle and plenty of bars and restaurants in area across the road from Hotel Pros Staff were lovely and very helpful a quick check in room was good size and very quiet, tea and coffee and lovely shortbread biscuits every day bed was very comfy. Cons Pillows as other reviewers mentioned were the worst I have ever tried to sleep on I cant understand what was in them!!! I actually used the big cushion instead I had no other option. The other complaint was 1 shower gel for 2 people for 3 days thats not on it should have been replaced every morning.Alsso came in one night after being out all day and we were refused a drink in bar with no reason given I know it was late but there were other patrons having a drink.Every other hotel we stayed in also had either a seperate late bar for residents or just got us drink from the hotel bar to take to our rooms. The one thing I would recommend this hotel does ASAP is invest in new pillows.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex International Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Doownelg. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team at the hotel. I was disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with our pillows. All rooms have 100% goose feather & down pillows in them but we also have a slightly firmer non allergenic foam pillow available on request. We supply Elemis toiletries in all our bedrooms and will replace these where requred in stayover bedrooms. We are licensed to serve alcoholic beverages to our residents 24 hours a day but under the terms of this licence, we also reserve the right to refuse service at our discretion.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I spent one night at the hotel in December and found it a very pleasant stay. The standard room on the second floor was spacious and had a nice view over the Grassmarket to the Castle. Although I did not dine at the hotel, the breakfast in the fifth floor restaurant was good and the staff were all very efficient and friendly, as was the case at the reception. The hotel has the added bonus of a good car park behind the hotel, a great asset in Edinburgh.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex International Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Bigweb. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in December to celebrate my partners birthday. When we booked (a superior room) we requested a castle view and mentioned the birthday.

Things started well, we arrived really early on Friday (11am) our room was ready and we checked in straight away. The reception staff were friendly and when we arrived in our room which was on the 5th floor with a view of the castle, there was a birthday card with 2 drinks vouchers which was a nice touch. The room was clean and well appointed. That evening there was a firework display at the castle to celebrate St Andrews day which we had a fabulous view of. The hotel is in a great location for seeing Edinburgh.

After that things went down hill, we noticed that the room was half carpeted and half wooden floor which was a bit unusual and turned out to be a bit of a nightmare. There were earplugs by the bed which we assumed were to block out the outside noise given that we were facing the street. To be fair we could not hear any noise from the street up on the fifth floor but a good night sleep we did not have. The walls are paper thin and whenever our neighbours walked around their room it felt like they were in our bedroom. They came in later than us and although they were not noisy they woke us up late at night and early in the morning just by walking around their room.

Breakfast was served in the heights restaurant, we had no trouble getting seated and the view of the castle was amazing. The cooked breakfast was advertised as cooked to order, on the morning of my parters birthday we had the full Scottish breakfast which came out far to quickly to have been cooked to order and seemed to be luke warm heated by the scorching hot plate. Sadly by lunch we were both being sick (bringing up the breakfast) and were sick all through the night and into the next day. We had to cancel our reservations at the number one restaurant (which had been booked for months) and we lost a day and a half of our 3 day trip. We were devastated ;(

The hotel did take us seriously, they took a report and provided us with a late check out as well as sending up some bottled water and offering us room service if we wanted something to eat. They said that there had been no other complaints and there is nothing to prove it was the breakfast that made us ill, we may have just been unlucky.

Other small items to note about the hotel/rooms - the hotel bar has no atmosphere what so ever and the restaurant downstairs was empty throughout our trip. The water pressure was very low and the shower was little more than a dribble, there was not much storage (if you need it - we didn't) and the windows had a lot of condensation on them. Reading the reviews on here would suggest that if the hotel re-fitted the windows throughout the hotel a number of the outdoor noise and room temperature problems would be resolved.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5021 - great view and no outdoor noise but you can hear your neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex International Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, Carrie Leigh. I was sorry to hear that you were unwell during your stay with us. As you stated in your post, we received no other reports of illness over the same weekend and I do believe that in most cases the incubation period for food poisoning is significantly longer than just a few hours. We served over 100 breakfasts on the day you dined with us, so it looks more likely that your illness was caused by either a virus or from food eaten prior to breakfast the day you were ill. I do hope you and your partner have made a full recovery and will get the opportunity to come back in the near future to enjoy another weekend in Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of December and had a room on 4th floor at the rear of the hotel. No castle view, but not a problem and we didn't hear a peep from the bars on grass market.
The room was spotless, had a massive telly and the bed was so so comfortable. We had breakfast at the hotel on day 1, a little buffet of pastries, cereals, meats/cheeses and a menu of freshly cooked hot breakfasts, but then went out for breakfast the other two days. Hotel is in a perfect location for the centre of Edinburgh.
I really haven't got a bad word to say! The rubber duck was a nice little touch to!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex International Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the weekend. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the new year.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is 4 star but somehow does not feel it. We were a family of three adults and shared a double double room. Beds were comfy, room spotless and well appointed with a magnificent viw of the castle. The room was not spacious enough for three adults and the downside of our view was that the street while full of interest during the day was rather noisey at night time. One of our party was unwell and had to have a room service dinner which was below average. The staff were truely lovely however I doubt I would want to return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex International Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you thought our rooms were well appointed and that generally you were happy with the hotel during your stay. I do hope the member of your party who was ill during your visit has made a full recovery, chest infections can be a terrible thing to shake off. My staff were more than happy to offer their assistance with this matter and advise on the best course of action with our local facilities.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here having booked direct with matched pricing from Internet sites. Got £10 room credit (small print says cant be used towards breakfast or room so beware but can be used at bar). Also got castle view (didn't need to pay for any upgrade as some city rooms have castle view)and room was available for early check in as we had stated we would be arriving about 12 midday. Very impressive. Check in was smooth and the lady on reception was very friendly and welcoming. Parking on site was easy and there was no problem with getting a space.£12 per 24hrs charge excellent value compared with NCP rates in the city. You can leave car park and not get charged again by telling reception and they will give you a special ticket to get out.
Room was small but plenty big enough for 2. It did have 2 double beds in but would be small for 4 people. Bathroom (with bath as requested) was also adequate. Not overly huge but did the job. Bath is one of those small ones that means either legs are in or shoulders. Toiletries are Elemis. No conditioner or shower cap but soap, shampoo and bath/shower gel. Wall mounted TV with good reception and free wi-fi, again good reception. Bed was firm but this is my preference and pillows were soft. Tea/coffee/hot choc among facilities with fast boiling kettle. Small fridge so easy to store a pint of milk and avoid that horrible milk in the little plastic pots. Hair dryer was a proper, normal power one and there was a safe, iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. Not much storage space but guess this would not be a hotel you spend a long time in.
Pool was small but very relaxing with great lighting and there was a tropicarium (cooler than a sauna deliberately according to the notice). Initially I thought this was too cool but it was actually very pleasant. Didn't check out the gym but it says there was one.
Breakfast is only £10pp if booked the night before...good value as you could eat enough to mean you didn't need any lunch. Normal varieties of hot, with Scottish influence, or continental options. Great view of the castle too. Didn't eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment.
All areas we saw were spotless and all staff were friendly and helpful.
Situation wise it was great for my husband and I. It was on the other side of the castle from Princes St meaning we could walk off our breakfast climbing steep steps up and a gradual hill down. To get to the castle only took 5mins though and Princes St about 15 mins. Grass market was busy but not crowded and we felt safe even late at night.
What were the downsides then?
Well, water pressure in the bathroom was poor and you could get in a bath that had been run with just the hot water. Temperature and power was better in the pool area. A pet hate of mine is the toilet flush being situated behind the toilet lid when it is up meaning you always have to put the lid down. It also required a hard push to get it too work.
Walls were thin and you could hear TV from rooms on either side. Noise of doors shutting was bad although this is common in a lot of hotels and earplugs were present in our room on checking in!
To summarise,would not put anyone off staying. Water temperature was my main criticism but overall the hotel gave good value for money. Just a note to anyone trying to decide between the Apex City and the Apex International....we chose the International because of the parking (more spaces so better chance of getting one) and the pool. If you stay at the City you can use the pool at the International and the hotels are almost next door to each other....met a guy who did this and he said the water pressure and temperature were fine at the City and he hadn't heard any noise from neighbours but wasn't sure whether he actually had any!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want before choosing...you might get it at no extra charge as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex International Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you rated your stay as good value for money. We strive to ensure all our customers enjoy their stay and will always do our best to iron out any issues you encounter. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the new year.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex International Hotel

Address: 31 - 35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Grassmarket , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex International Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Apex International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex International Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.