We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location with comfy & clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Apex International Hotel to your Saves list
Apex International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland (Grassmarket)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Sandy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely location with comfy & clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights in their most basic room and we were not disappointed. we arrived early and were checked in for no extra charge. The staff were friendly and the communal areas airy & clean. Our room was spacious with everything needed and had the softest bed & pillows, it was like sleeping on a cloud! Not to mention galaxy hot chocolate and Elemis toiletries. Grassmarket is a lovely base as well with good pubs & restaurants nearby. the hotel has a lovely view of the castle which was beautiful to look at each morning. Each day our room was cleaned and fresh towels left. The Apex rubber duck was a lovely touch as well! We did not get to use the pool or spa on this occasions due to commitments in the city taking up our time, but it looked very clean and I wish I'd had the opportunity to! I recommend this hotel and when I next visit Edinburgh I will be sure to book in here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    704
    254
    95
    51
See reviews for
396
713
67
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in the apex. The location is excellent, 150 meters from the castle.There were many events (weddings, conferences) in the hotel while we were thare, which created a feeling of being crowded. The lift failed, the breakfast was downstairs, while the view was upstairs and i had to redo the billing process. aside from that, the room was fine and had a large bathroom, the service was friendly and Edinburgh is a very warm/cosy place with extremely open people to outsiders.Make sure you visit some of the pubs with live music! pay attention there are four APEX that i know off and only one is called 'international'.

Room Tip: make sure you have a view on the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed there recently on two consecutive weekends. The location in the Grassmarket is awsome if you want something to do. Tons of bars close by with the Royal Mile, Castle and Princess Street only short walks away.
Peter at the front desk was brilliant and seen to our every need. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and the one meal we had was simply superb ( I had chicken stuffed with haggis).
The only negatives were the beds on the first weekend were soft and the pillows, although plentiful, were even softer which makes for an uncomfortable night.
What really got to me though was the fact that the hotel allows the refuse lorries in at 6am to empty the bins and then the bottle and cans. We had rear facing rooms and the dumpsters are right outside. I found this strange that it was done so early.
However, all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed with my wife last weeken at the Apex International.
We arrived early at the hotel and left our case at reception as room not ready. When we returned to the hotel the case had been put into our room. The booking in process was quick and painless.
The room itself was at the back ot the hotel and as other reviewers have said, the quiet side of the hotel.
There was a large comfortable double bed and the bathroom had a bath and a seperate double shower. Very nice. The room was new, clean and modern. There was a new tv and tea making facilities.
We did not eat dinner in the hotel but had a very nice breakfast in the 5th floor restaurant which had a beautiful view of the Castle. The breakfast was worth the £10 each we paid for it.
Edinburgh is very hilly and Waverley train station is 15/20 minutes walk away.
Directly outside the hotel is the Grassmarket where there are ten or so pubs together with restaurants and shops.
A little further away is the shopping area on Princess Street.
The hotel is in an excellent location if you don't mind walking a little bit.
Would recomend this hotel, but as others have said , if you want quiet at night ask for a rear room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lovely spacious room with comfortable bed & free wi-fi access in the room. The Hotel was facing directly across Edinburgh Castle & was just few min of walking. Definitely will stay this hotel again when we at Edinburgh again. Hotel guest need to paid 12 pounds for it for over night parking. Maybe the hotel management could give free parking facilities to hotel guest. A minus point for this area that need to improve the facilities offer to guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with a few of my girlfriends, I paid a bit extra for a double superior room and was not disappointed. A very well stocked room for beverages and toiletries and there was a lovely big shower and bath in the bathroom, breakfast was beautiful and the view from the restaurant was a brilliant castle view. The bar prices were also very good, £9.45 for 2 x Gin and slimline tonics as opposed to the pub across the road which was £10.40 for the same, not that I'm a penny pincher but I always had the opinion that hotel bars were more expensive, definitely not in this case.
Take a trip to The Jam House if you fancy a boogie, it was absolutely brilliant!!
I'm already booked to go back to this wonderful city in March :-)

Room Tip: If you pay for a superior room you should have a castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casteau, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here recently with my husband and it was an excellent central base to explore a lovely city. The restaurants were very good, we didnt bother venturing further afield. Service from the young, international staff was attentive, perhaps a bit slow on Sat night when they had a full house, but gazing at the floodlit Edinburgh Castle was a great distraction! Could be a bit noisy late night outside on the street but I always pack ear plugs so it didnt bother me. Our room and bathroom was very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for the street side of the hotel with the view to to castle, and try the pool on the street leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex International Hotel

Address: 31 - 35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Grassmarket , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apex International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex International Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.