We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gerald's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gerald's Place
Save
You added Gerald's Place to your Saves list
21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THREE SURPRISES
Ranked #7 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A gem of a B&B in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was my lucky day when a friend recommended Gerald's Place and we could book 9 nights with him.
I totally totally totally agree with all these 5 star reviews and gladly add my 5 stars to it!
Gerald's is a treasure of a place!
And what about the labtop in the room to send "all is great e-mails" to friends and family left at home? And did anyone mention the bus around the corner to spirit you up the hill and pamper your hurt knee; and the many great eateries within short walking distance? Edinburgh is a beautiful city to visit and Gerald's Place and its charming host make it even more memorable. Thank you, Gerald!
Birgit D., Boston, USA

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
A GEM OF A B&B IN EDINBURGH

thank you Birgit - you stayed a wonderful 9 nights to really get to know Edinburgh and a 50 miles radius from Edinburgh - you were able to appreciated how marvellously central the b&b is to ALL events - you were able to enjoy all the comforts / all the little details / all the 'extra miles' of geraldsplace.com - and next time you visit, you will be warmly welcomed back to your 'home from home' thanks Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
296
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Geralds after a hectic week in London and it was a welcome rest. The house was close enough to the downtown and Royal mile so that we could walk everywhere. Gerald and Marie were wonderful hosts for myself, hubby and daughter. Gerald even had a box a candy for my daughter since it was her birthday while we were visiting. The room and bath were very comfortable and had all the amenities of a hotel. We enjoyed the tea and cookies in the afternoon and my hubby loved the scotch for his nightcap. The breakfast were more than filling with homemade bread, granola, smoothies, eggs etc. We were always stuffed as we set off to tour Edinburgh. Gerald has lots of information about where to go, what to see and where to eat. He was a very pleasant host and we enjoyed our morning talks with him. You won't regret staying at this lovely B&B in the heart of Edinburgh. I miss the bread already!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN EDINBURGH

the trams are coming in 2014 : the new trams will make this an even better location - door to door almost, from Edinburgh Airport to geraldsplace : thank you dear family for your review - you were very happy here, and your review says it all : come back soon thanks Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Check out Gerald's website and you'll be sold immediately. Even better: in reality it looks exactly like that - we loved it! Limitless hospitality and an excellent location. Perhaps the small scale of this B&B adds to its charm - we shared a table with the other guests during breakfast and this resulted in some interesting conversations. Staying with Gerald definitely adds something special to your stay in Edingburgh.
Sylle Vis, Holland

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
WANT A GOOD TIME IN EDINBURGH ?

thank you Sylle : you were a joy to meet : please return with family or friends : and next time, why not book both rooms ? and enjoy the best good time in Edinburgh Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Beyond all compare, Gerald's Place was the ultimate respite. wonderful, well-equipped rooms and the most perfect host! I would recommend for anyone visiting city!

We drove into Edinburgh after a golfing trip. Did not realize the problem we would have with parking...but for a capital city not unusual. Recommend that you turn in any rental car you might have and take a taxi to Gerald's Place. You can easily get to any attraction from the B&B.

Room Tip: Both rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
LOVELY ECCLECTIC B&B NEAR THE HEART OF EDINBURGH

thanks for your review - to the point with some brilliant tips - much appreciated Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Gerald's Place is on a quiet street in New Town, mere minutes away from both the Royal Mile on one side and the Botanical Garden and Stockbridge on the other. We took the airport bus and easily walked to the B&B. The room (and bed) were great; breakfast was tasty, and Gerald was full of great advice. Could not have been better!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
PERFECT LOCATION, AND BOTH BED AND BREAKFAST EXCELLED

thank you chief reviewer : your comments are most especially appreciated : the trams are coming in 2014, with a STOP so very close by - 'heaven' for guests arriving at Edinburgh Airport : you too will discover 'heaven' on your next stay at geraldsplace.com thanks Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The first e-mail we received from Gerald after booking with him gave a hint about the service. It described in detail how to get to his apartment from the airport and he wrote "you should be here 8.00 pm if everything goes well".
Exactly 8.00 pm we rang the door bell.
And from there on everything was more than fine.
The location is extremely good. Five minutes walk from 21b and you are on the main shopping streets. One hidden jewel that Gerald guided us to was a restaurant/pub just 2 minutes walk from his apartment. We wanted something to eat nearby the first night and he suggested this place called The Magnum. Dont miss! Great atmosphere.
Another thing if you like your afternoon tea is The Balmoral. They serve the greatest buffe in the nicest atmosphere with a harpist playing on a balcony, The Drawing Room. Call and book a table in advance.
Geralds breakfast is another thing looking forward to. He has everything and if you have any requests, he make sure you get what you want. Dont miss the haggis though...
We had breakfast in Geralds kitchen with another couple staying there and it opened up for some great talks in the morning.
Gerald is the perfect host and a gentleman of the old school. If you are looking for a personal place to stay, with great service, this is it.
Daniel and Linda, Sweden

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
FIVE STAR B&B !

thank you dear Daniel and Linda from Sweden for your most comprehensive review : your comments will be hugely appreciated by so many people who read the 'small print' about the accommodation [the bed, breakfast and genuine welcome] of geraldsplace.com : we take great care to be the best, and then to better it : so this year the broadband speed has multipled to the fastest available [according to Virgin Media our cable provider] : please come and stay again - next anniversary ? warmest wishes Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Here awaits the lucky traveller, beautiful accommodation decorated in a unique style throughout. The location in the Edinburgh New Town (circa 1820) is an architectural gem. It is minutes away from Princes Street and Waverly Stn., but provides a peaceful location for a restful night. The very comfortable bedroom is of generous proportions and the modern bathroom very clean. Gerald is a charming friendly host. His breakfasts are feasts of freshly prepared home cooked ingredients. He ensures all his guests are provided with a meal that suits their individual tastes. His knowledge of the city, which he imparts with great enthusiasm and style, is vast. This is one B&B which I have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
GERALD'S PLACE IS A GEM !

thank you !!!

when all reviews are said and done :

and stars we earn are all hard won :

we guarantee a stay of fun :

though gold and silver have we none :

but th'll be whisky, year twenty one :

to warmly welcome everyone

Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gerald's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Place

Address: 21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerald's Place is in Abercromby Place, one of the finest Georgian streets in Edinburgh's historic New Town, built over 200 years ago. The location is incredibly convenient to the express airport-bus or new trams, train & bus terminals, top shops, banks & historic sites [Castle, Palace, Museum/s, Galleries, ICC, Parliament, Theatres]. Gerald welcomes guests to experience B&B hospitality at its very best and the Edinburgh City Centre at its finest. 'Be the best - no compromise' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gerald`s Place Hotel Edinburgh
Gerald's Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerald's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.