We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gerald's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gerald's Place
Save
You added Gerald's Place to your Saves list
21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland (New Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THREE SURPRISES
Ranked #6 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Staying at Gerald's Place has forever spoiled me. It is not just that your every need is anticipated and that the accommodations are perfect -- comfortable, clean, modern and cozy. It is not just that breakfast goes on forever with cold and hot breakfast, including oats, yogurt, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato, beans, potatoes, and if you want it, haggis and blood pudding. And it's not just that it is so centrally located that you can walk everywhere if you choose, as we did, and never set foot in a cab or bus. It is also the presence of Gerald himself, who is a truly decent, intelligent and caring person. In his unobtrusive and thoughtful way, Gerald took care of my daughter and me as if we were beloved relatives, making sure that my special dietary needs were accommodated, that we had everything we needed to be comfortable and for our visit to Edinburgh to be a successful one. We stayed three nights and if we had it to do over again, we would have stayed a week. Gerald is right on that score - a week in Edinburgh at Gerald's Place is the best plan. I will never stay anywhere else in Edinburgh. I wish I could give him 10 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN EDINBURGH dear Lynne and Macleay your fulsome thanks are truly appreciated; in truth, however, you brought your own joy and that was a treat for me: it would be marvellous if you came for a week [or much longer] another time; why not book ahead now for say 2016, or for that special meaningful Anniversary; thank you for the gorgeous picture which has become a favourite for so many friends, and folllowers of Trip Advisor Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
292
28
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My sis and I decided to take her children (11&12) to Edinburgh for 4 days and we'd stayed with Gerald before, but without the kids. It was like coming home. Gerald, as ever, made us supremely welcome and comfortable. The girls loved him and the fact that he has only two rooms and we took both of them, made his bijou B&B a home from home. The location is second to none - very convenient both for Harvey Nicks and the refurbished Scottish Portrait Gallery! What more could you ask? Not a thing. Thanks Gerald.

Room Tip: Both are fabulously comfortable and quiet, the one at the front has its bathroom en suite, the one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
A WONDERFUL SECOND VISIT thank you for your beauifully scripted and generous review; as you know, I loved the Yorkshire Girls, parent, girls and aunt - always full of fun, good humour, happy laughs, and generous to a fault: one day soon, please make it back for a third visit - you are always welcome Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The B & B Gerald Place is located in the New Town of Edinburgh, all attractions are within a few minutes walk away.
The rooms are fantastic features, ranging from a laptop and a DVD player to single malt whiskey and 30 different kinds of tea.
Gerald is a perfect gentleman who reads every one of your wishes. Breakfast consists of typical British goodies, in addition, there are homemade from Gerlald muesli and curd. Unbelievable! If we return to Edinburgh, there is only one possibility: Gerladsplace!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
BRILLIANT thank you Markus; it was a pleasure to welcome you and Sabrina from Lunen Germany; your stay was brief but I shall remember you, and our happy chats about psychology and forestry; an altogether brilliant choice of a Christmas present to your wife, in which you could share 50:50 - please come again soon, and maybe next time for 4nights Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Gerald's Place is comfortable, convenient and a great location. Gerald is a charming host, went out of his way to look after us and gave us great recommendations for exploring Edinburgh. The room was very clean and breakfast was delicious too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
COMFORTABLE AND CONVENIENT many thanks for your review you are always welcome another time Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A superbly located B&B in Edinburgh, just a short and very pleasant walk away from everywhere you might want to go in the city. Gerald's wonderfully warm welcome, hospitality and delightful breakfasts were excellent, as were his recommendations and general helpfulness - we had a wonderful time. Our room was very comfortable and very well appointed, and spotlessly clean. Thank you, Gerald!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
SUPERB EDINBURGH LOCATION your trouble in writing a review is really appreciated, by me, by trip advisor, and most helpfully by others looking for that special place [b&b] right at the centre - truly I bless the day I found this incredibly convenient location: it's close to where all public transport links end [coach station/5 minutes max, train station/10 minutes max, airport express bus/ 8 minutes max, and in 2014 airport trams/ only 4 minutes max] LOCATION - yes sir/ma'am! Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

What is it that is so special about his place.
Firstly, the location could not be more convenient. So central that we walked everywhere.
Secondly, the accommodation was extremely comfortable & cosy. The breakfasts were delicious - especially the home-made bread.
Finally, the best part of all was Gerald himself. Such an amiable and interesting gentleman who lets you share his home and makes you feel so welcome.lllllll

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
EVEN BETTER THAN EXPECTED! you were a joy to welcome and have stay in my b&b home; thank you for the many happy chats and for the helpful suggestions - truly appreciated Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We love Edinburgh as a place to visit and spend time away from the pressures of work and, as other reviewers have said, a stay at Gerald's place is not merely accomodation and food but is like staying in the Scottish capital with a friend who knows and loves the place and whose main aim is to make sure that his guests have great food to set them up for the day, a really welcoming place to return to and who is always interested in you as individuals. The location is very convenient for the New Town and the centre and Gerald's place is very clean and comfortable. We are very happy to recomment it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
A DELIGHTFUL PLACE TO STAY thank you both for your stay and thoughtful / helpful comments; we shared some common ground, and never ran aground in conversation and topics to explore; you are always welcome, and welcome to stay longer Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gerald's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Place

Address: 21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerald's Place is in Abercromby Place, one of the finest Georgian streets in Edinburgh's historic New Town, built over 200 years ago. The location is incredibly convenient to the express airport-bus or new trams, train & bus terminals, top shops, banks & historic sites [Castle, Palace, Museum/s, Galleries, ICC, Parliament, Theatres]. Gerald welcomes guests to experience B&B hospitality at its very best and the Edinburgh City Centre at its finest. 'Be the best - no compromise' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gerald`s Place Hotel Edinburgh
Gerald's Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerald's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.