We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money Edinburgh Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
Cumberland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money Edinburgh Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Easy to find, close to Edinburgh city center, free on-site parking, although parking only holds around 8 cars and quite tight when full. Good, friendly check-in, good size room with comfortable bed and freeview tv. Nice bar area, ate out so cannot comment on food but looked ok from menu, good, hearty breakfast in the morning, excellent value for money for less than £40. Only downside if I'm being really picky is my room was at the front of the hotel so had noise from main road and from people stood outside smoking and chatting - maybe the hotel should introduce a designated smoking area round the back, nothing worse that seeing a small crowd puffing away outside a nice hotel. I'm quite a heavy sleeper so noise didn't really bother me. Free wi-fi in public area, not in room, again, not a huge problem. All-in-all a good, quality B&B for a good price in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    53
    43
    20
    27
See reviews for
39
65
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Good price, clean , old rooms but nice people. Correct. Near to the city Center, good public transport . Good good . Quiet and beautiful place. Rooms older but clean and correct. Perfect for the family.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Last minute decision to stay over in Edinburgh, booked hotel 2 hours before we arrived and got a very good deal for 2 people. Pleasantly surprised at how big the room was, queen size bed and a single in the room with a shower ensuite. Shower ensuite had essential toiletries provided (soap, shampoos and hand wash and lotion). Bed was comfortable and room was clean, warm and cosy.Tea and coffee facilities were adequate for an overnight stay. Decor may have seemed a bit dated but was in keeping with the age of the house. Cooked breakfast included in the price and when we went into the dining room "George" said to help our self to the buffet as well. Staff friendly and did all they could to help. Taxi into city centre was around £5. Next time we are staying over we will be booking here again. Bonus - Free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room as lower rooms are next to the reception, bar, lounge area. Our upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Honestly coming during Hogmanay made the prices go up, but it was a very pleasant place to stay. Rooms are comfortable for 2, stretched for 3 people though. Delicious breakfast, just make sure to be there before 9:30. Great service with lots of helpful people but much too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: If you have two people and want a cosy B&B style hotel, pick it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Clean, nice staff, free breakfast, good location, warm atmosphere. Great place for the cheaper price. I've read previous reviews and I think people expected to be staying at a 5 star hotel not considering the cheap rate. I would absolutely stay again....and I can be picky about hotels!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenj Gradec, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

While visiting Scotland on a round trip we also stopped in this cute hotel in Edinburg suburb. It did't look much outside but when me and my friend got a room - dear lord. It was a little heaven for us. We got the only room with a small balcony and beacuse we are smokers we were extremlly happy. Bed was a big and soft one, room was hugh with a bathroom the size of small room in other hotels. People were nice and eventhoe that the restaurant was closed they made us dinner anyway. Hotel is located not far from Edinburg centre and airport and the price is reasonable for Scotland. I recommend this hotel, but ask for upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked a twin room for myself and my daughter the staff were very freindly and helpfull they seemed to be forgein students. After being shown to my room the first thing I noticed was 2inch thick dust under the raidator which sent alam bells ringing, I pulled down the top cover of my bed and there was someones hair there I then looked under the sheets at the materess only to find it was covered with urine stains!!!!. I called the receptionist after showing her she then took me to another room it was better in that it did not have a urine stained materess but the top cover which sits over the duvet could have done with a good wash and the sheets and pillow slips and duvet covers did not match the room had an odour of smelly feet. I would have left then but we were due to go to the Playhouse for "Phantom of the opera" and had no time to go anywhere else. Next morning went downstairs for continental breakfast it was pathetic with the cheapest cereals on offer and tesco's value yogurt along with orange segments in a bowl we opted just to have toast and as we sat down to eat it my daughter noticed her bread was mouldy around the crust. We had originally booked for two nights but needless to say we left straight after breakfast

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: 1 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is a 'B' listed detached stone Victorian house of character and architectural interest. Built in the 1850's, it has been carefully refurbished to retain many of its original features, and lies in its own attractive grounds overlooking the main A8 tourist route into Edinburgh, within 10 minutes walk from Princes Street and within 10 minutes drive of Edinburgh Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.