We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charisma with Dirt!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inverleith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inverleith Hotel to your Saves list
Inverleith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Inverleith Terrace | City Centre, Edinburgh EH3 5NS, Scotland (Stockbridge & Dean Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charisma with Dirt!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had booked the Inverleith hotel for one night only. Thank Goodness!! First impression was "nice, Charming small hotel with lots of old-fashioned character". Manager was nice but after being shown to our room, it was dirty with the carpet not even hoovered. When we moved the curtain, there was rubbish tucked down the back. Chandeliers were full of cobwebs in hall and dining room. As for breakfast, this was very poor. Received one slice of toast with scrambled egg from microwave. No extra toast on table and no sugar, butter or salt on table. Owners also having a row during breakfast, maybe the reason it was so poor. Sad as with some TLC this would be an excellent find. There were three of us on this overnight stay and this cost £101. Definately over priced!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerinverleith, Owner at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We must apologise to anyone who has read the most recent reviews. Especially the last one.
We fear that our small business has been severely damaged by recent employees. (managers) who we employed just before Xmas. Suffice to say that they are no longer with us!
I hope that any future readers go back a few reviews to see how we take pride in our small family run hotel.
It was not the owners having an argument in the kitchen during breakfast time. This would have been the managers who have let us down very badly.. Unfortunately due to notice periods we could not release them until now and although we constantly checked.. Instructed, corrected etc .. It appears that no amount of tuition could help, And we cannot be on the premises 24/7 We were fooled into believing that all was running smoothly.

We feel quite hurt personally due to the damage this has done to our small business and can only now begin to re-build, the standards we would normally expect from staff.. We are now in the process of looking for new managers and will be going through candidates c.v's with a fine tooth comb.. We cannot believe how the past people concerned were able to pull the wool over our eyes so much.
Any future guests can rest assured that they will have a comfortable, stay with our standards again raised to their usual level and above. Luckily we have been able to recruit a previous manager on a temporary basis until we find the right people to join our small team, and with us present too the standards should be resumed. We do apologise profusely to any guests who have stayed recently who did not get the experience they should have. We hope you may return at some point in order for us to show you our normal high standards of accommodation and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    90
    36
    29
    6
See reviews for
36
123
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were looking for a hotel for Hogmanay and had left it rather late, so this seemed the best of what remained. The front of house staff, in particular Helen the manager, were very helpful from the start of the booking process to the moment we left. The distance from the centre was not too much of a problem as buses and taxis were plentiful, and a brisk walk was also an option on some occasions. The wi-fi worked well and hotel also put on a superb traditional New Year meal at a reasonable cost. So why no better than average? Of our two rooms, the bathroom and toilet of one was not cleaned properly and in both cases the toiletries were inadequate and not replenished during the three days. The shower cubicle was uncomfortably small and in one room the light in the shower did not work. The wait for hot water to both rooms was far too long, perhaps because we were on the top floor. One room was adequately heated but the other had a faulty window which let in the draft and which also did not have a lock on the inside. Room 5 should be avoided as it overlooks the street which made it noisy due to the faulty window and also because noise from the neighbouring room came through the wall. However,Room 8 was cosy and quiet, with a comfortable bed, and had a good view.
Breakfast was sufficient, with a good choice, but on one day the chef had not turned up on time and although the lady in charge did her best to cover this meant the service and quality was not up to the previous standard.
In retrospect, the cost seemed rather excessive for what was offered, perhaps New Year had something to do with this, but it did mean that value for money was rather low. Also, there was no mention at the time of booking that there would be an extra 3% for using a credit card or even a debit card. This only became apparent when the credit card statement arrived.
With a bit more care and attention this hotel could provide a much better experience for its visitors.

Room Tip: Avoid 5, while 8 is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and found it to be a pleasant walk into Princes st. It is good to know that we helped to make a good experience for your celebration of New Year with our New Years dinner. This is a victorian traditional town house and we are pleased to have retained the orignial sash and case windows. Most of which work very well - however a few guests have found room 5 a little awkward to close but usually manage. In most instances they let us know and it is not a problem at all to lend a helping hand. We had hoped to keep this window but it may be that the time has come to change. Guest only have to ask if they wish more complimentary toiletries and we are happy to replenish.
Our chambermaids are usually very alert and let us know immediately should a bulb stop working - it may be that this has gone just after your arrival. We do hope that guests would say rather than wait until check out as we are more than happy to fix any problems to improve your stay.
We pride ourselves on our breakfast service and, for the benefit of our business which we take very seriously we will be replacing the staff involved. We are sorry to have to do this but unfortnuately contstant staff trainging didn't help, this was also one of the problems related to the room not being at our normal good standard, and we had to take this decision.
The cost infact had related to a longer stay over New Year and as a short stay this did make the room more expensvie as this is an extremely high demand period when min stays are normally set.
We do make charges for using cards very clear at time of booking and there is the option of alternative payments if you contact us. Your comments are appreciated and care and attention is our most important issue as a small family hotel and we look forward to the New Year with improved levels of staff service..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Hotel is in a good location with the Botanic Gardens just round the corner, also a comfortable 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile or the option of 3 buses straight into town. The room was spacious and had all the creature comforts of home, even though the Remote Control went astray on two separate occasions. The staff were friendly, courteous and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasing as possible. The breakfast service was slow and the breakfast itself was under cooked which was peculiar as there was only the 2 of us there. But on the whole it was a pleasant stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed in the Studio, which had a comfortable four (4| Poster Bed.
From start to finish the Staff/Reception were friendly and imformative.
All facilities in the Room were very good.
Access to the Room directly from the Street was a good idea and very welcome, as we were late arriving back from attending our Function, which was held close by.
Look forward to experiencing again, soon.

Frank

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Value for money with a great location. Friendly staff, free fast internet, clean quiet room and a hot shower. Only complaint would be that the room is a bit small but not a problem for a short stay.....................................

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in room 3. The room was small and a little old fasioned. We arrived late and the staff were happy enough to leave a key in a safe box outside which was great for our last minute decision on a trip to edinburgh. Breakfast was not great but for the £50 we payed for the night we found the whole experience to be acceptable
Many thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Drove from Leicestershire to Edinburgh on Friday evening, although the reception was closed we were still provided by the keys to come in any time we wished. I asked the staff to prepare some flowers and wine for the arrival they specifically checked a couple of times to put the drink on ice for us (Little things that matter). The receptionist helped us with the tourist destinations. The majestic bus tour (which takes you nearly all the tourist places including the gardens, castle (scott's monument), parliament building and queen's scotland residence, royal britannia boat and etc.) passes right in front of the hotel and stops at a bus stop literally 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel right across the street the entrance of Royal Botanic Gardens. The breakfast is massive. My room was a regular double bed and it was the cutest room I've ever stayed ( pick that room if you can it's number 8 I think on the top floor ) with inclined roof and comfy sheets. There was no wardrobe for clothes but some hangers were provided with a sufficient amount of shelves and cupboards on the desk. I can't wait to go there again. For a small b&b IT IS FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: we were on the top floor and it was fantastic. Room 8! I think we were the loudest couple in the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverleith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverleith Hotel

Address: 5 Inverleith Terrace | City Centre, Edinburgh EH3 5NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverleith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast hotel just under 1 mile from the city centre of Edinburgh. £3 All day low cost parking midweek. Free parking at weekends. Self catering apt also available nearby. Free wifi. Licensed residents bar, room service and bar meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Inverleith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverleith Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverleith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.