We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aonach Mor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aonach Mor Guest House to your Saves list
Aonach Mor Guest House
14 Kilmaurs Terrace | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
south shields
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Nice warm friendly atmosphere, very, very clean and very well decorated. We stayed in the Jacobean Room with the four poster bed which was very comfortable and clean. The shower/sauna was immaculate with a shower to die for. The breakfast choice was very wide and covered everything you could wish for. We had haggis for the first time and loved it. Did not see much of Tom but his cooking was very good. Fiona greeted us for breakfast every morning with a big smile and nothing was too much trouble for her. Her knowledge of Edinburgh was very good and knowledgeable. A very calm, peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Short bus ride to to the centre of Edinburgh.
Jackie & Laurie Curry

Room Tip: Go for the Jacobean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    31
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
95
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Aonach Mor, we received a very warm welcome from our friendly and knowledgable hosts. Our room was cosy and well kept and the breakfast was really lovely - we were due out to meet friends for breakfast on the second morning and were disappointed we missed out on our breakfast at Aonach Mor! Lots of useful local information on transport etc was offered and for once I was pleased to find a hotel that actually provides an adequate number and size for towels! Highly recommended, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very helpful and friendly hosts in a lovely guesthouse in an attractive row of houses located a short bus ride, or walk for the more energetic, from city centre. While I chose a small single room with a separate shower and toilet, the bathrobe supplied was much appreciated. Breakfast was great and the extra festive season treat offered was a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upon arrival at Aonach Mor Guest House, we could not have received a more hospitable welcome. The tea and shortbread provided was a treat, and the presentation of the Jacobean Suite (room 2) was second to none. As soon as we stepped in the door, the fragrance of Edinburgh in autumn greeted us, and we actively looked forward to coming back to the guest house after a productive day sight seeing. The bathroom facilities were oustanding, and the breakfasts provided (there are five options, and two courses) were naturally one of the highlights of the trip. The atmosphere of the guest house is warm, accommodating and amiable. There were no flaws - couldn't find a better experience in the whole of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The Jacobean suite is unparalleled to anything you will ever stay in. The 'lengthy walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Highly Recommend nice b&b on outside of Edinburgh.
Stayed for 2 nights and had lovely time.Especially enjoyed the little gift in the room on arrival
£150 for two nights was a bargain the only downfall with been on the bottom floor was you where Awake for breakfast.
room was very delightful and also the owners gave you the info you need to get buses into Edinburgh found the number 2 to grass market the easier one
I will return 5 star and book it !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We enjoyed a stay at the lovely Aonach Mor Guest House with our hosts, Fiona and Tom. It is a lovely house in a quiet neighborhood, a short bus ride from the busy Royal Mile, sights and sounds of Edinburgh.
Breakfast at Aonach Mor is something to behold, plentiful and delicious. Our hosts were most helpful about getting around and which bus would suit our destinations. Also, we had an early start upon departure and food was put out for us and a cab arranged so that we could get have a bite to eat and get to the train station on time. Very courteous customer service.
Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. All around a great place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Saphorin-Lavaux, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The B&B is located 10min from city center by bus, in a quiet street. Although the house is not really insulated from inside noise - doors are thin-, this is a relaxing place. We loved the steamer in the bathroom! The couple running the house is very sweet and helpful, breakfast was generous and Robert suggested a very nice fusion restaurant in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonach Mor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonach Mor Guest House

Address: 14 Kilmaurs Terrace | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonach Mor is a family run Victorian Guest House which is nestled at the foot of Salisbury Crags, which are a dramatic feature of Arthurs Seat. The Guest house offers easy access to many places of interest such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament,Royal Mile and Princes Street, which are all within a two mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aonach Mor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonach Mor Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Aonach Mor Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonach Mor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.