We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISSAPOINTED ON THE WHOLE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels to your Saves list
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #31 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Letchworth ,
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“DISSAPOINTED ON THE WHOLE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After reading many reviews we chose The Glasshouse for our 4 night stay in Edinburgh .
It must be said that it is positioned in a very good location for the city .On arrival the staff were friendly .No daily newspapers were offered to us which we felt was unusual .
We were shown to our Garden room and my initial feeling was of disappointment. The room was much smaller than the photos on the website lead you to believe .The room furnishings were dated ,scratched and generally in need of refurbishment .They looked tired and in need of replacing.Having said that the view from the room out on to the roof top garden was pleasant and it was nice to have seating outside the room [unfortunately we never got to use it as it was not warm enough ].Mind you other quests in the room next to ours were happy to use their seating at 2 am in the morning, of our first night to have a loud conversation, and very interesting it was too ! [might it be suggested that a polite note in the room asking that guests be considerate to others after a certain time at night ,if out in the garden ]
As my husband had not been too well prior to coming to Edinburgh we tended to go out sightseeing during the day ,have an early evening meal then return to the room to relax in the evening .Every night we could hear a low rumbling noise .To start with I thought it was the wind on the roof ,then realised that in fact it was probably coming from the OMNI complex next door .It was the type of noise you get in a multiplex cinema where you can hear the film in the next screen .One morning some other guests in the lift said they heard it every night too .So I asked the receptionist if our room on Floor 3 was in fact over the cinema and she said it was ,and that would be what we could hear .She said she hoped it wasn't too annoying !
The plumbing as mentioned by other guests was very noisy .The toilet flush was the loudest we have ever heard ,and the air-conditioning too was loud.
The bed was very comfortable but the bedding a little the worse for wear with small holes in the sheets.
Breakfast which was not included in the price of the stay was a disappointment. We arrived at 9 am which was not late as we were told breakfast service went on till 11 am ,but the dishes on the buffet were depleted and not replenished .The cheese platter had three single pieces of chees on it and that was it .Dishes were not cleared from the table while we breakfasted .We decided for the price and for what was on offer we would be better going up the road to the Starbucks for breakfast after the first day which is what we did. The staff seemed indifferent to us, not bothered if we were there or not .
Our overall option of this hotel is that it is a good location and that is what you are paying for .It is a bit soul less. From what others have said the rooms seem to vary a lot in standard. Perhaps we were just unlucky in the room we were allocated ,and hit the breakfast service on a bad day ,but the impression left would definitely not make me recommend this hotel to friends.
We travel widely through the world on a regular basis so can honestly say we can review places with similar star rating ,fairly.
I doubt we will be returning in the near future to Edinburgh so please management don't offer to make things right for us on our return to your hotel.

Room Tip: Do not go for room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    153
    70
    30
    9
See reviews for
64
432
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here with my wife for three nights. Upgraded to a suite which is a good start. Hotel is well located next to the Playhouse and with most things within walking distance.
The room was good, spacious comfortable and clean. Balcony overlooking Leith Walk. Bathroom has both walk-in shower and bath which we like.
Decor is modern, the swivelling television is a good idea.

As Marriott platinum member we were given a free continental breakfast each morning which was the standards fare. You could upgrade to a cooked for £18.50. We also ate dinner in the restaurant on Friday night which was pretty good and reasonably priced.
The only bar is called the Snug which operates an honour bar system when staff are not their, not what you expect in a five star hotel.
The rooftop garden looked nice, unfortunately the weather did not let us explore it fully.
Staff were helpful and pleasant.
On the whole an enjoyable stay.







Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This property is in the perfect location if you want to be in the heart of Edinburgh. Easy walking distance to the castle, shopping and the Royal Mile.
The interior floor plan is beyond crazy. No direct access by elevator to the second floor rooms. I suggest you DO NOT stay at this hotel unless you have a third floor room.
The roof top garden is wonderful; the breakfast was wonderful if you can find them.
I believe any USA city fire marshal would not let the hotel operate with the crazy floor plan.
The staff was indifferent, yet competition. The third floor rooms are very nice, especially ones that have the garden view.
There is no Marriott signage on the front of the property. You need to look very close as the sins for the hotel are at ground level. It is attached to the Omni Center.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms ONLY !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear timonntour,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed spending time on our roof top garden and our breakfast service.
I was disappointed to read that you found the layout of the hotel confusing. The floor plan is designed to allow as may rooms as possible to have outdoor access and enjoy the unique take on Edinburgh that The Glasshouse offers. We are part of Autograph Collection by Marriott as opposed to being a Marriott branded hotel which is why we have Autograph Collection signage on the entrance and not the traditional Marriott signage throughout the property.
We do have an elevator to access the rooms on level 2 and I would like to apologise that this was not pointed out to you during your stay. I have drawn this to the attention of our front office team to ensure that corrective action is taken.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
Scott McArdle
Room Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice and central hotel in Edinburgh.
The only problem is that for rooms in first and second floor you do not have elevator for guests. If you have a trolley you will need to go to third floor and walk through the bar.
Nice breakfast and service.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear gorcos
That you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I was glad to read that you found us ideally located for your stay in the city.
We do have an elevator to allow access to levels 1 and 2, I would like to apologise that this was not shown to during your stay. We have recently invested in additional interior signage for the hotel to assist guests during their stay.
I hope that you will return to The Glasshouse so that we may demonstrate to you the improvements we are continually making to our service.
Kind regards
Scott McArdle
Room Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent 3 nights. Excellent service, very helpful, friendly staff. A Marriott managed property and it is all that you would expect - except very unique. Good location. Lovely view especially from rooftop garden/patio.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear WeLov2Travel45,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic three night stay. Indeed our roof top garden gives a fantastic panoramic view over our beautiful city. Being part the Autograph Collection by Marriott we are fortunate to be able to give a unique take on luxury hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
Scott McArdle
Room Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent seven nights at the Glasshouse, and I would definitely stay again, which is ultimately of greatest importance. Once I experienced a property, do I want to return.

First impressions take a great deal to undo and counter. The first impression was not positive, but ultimately they redeemed themselves.

The property is set back from the roadway and there was no assistance with our luggage. I struggled with the bags from the taxi into the Glasshouse to the somewhat indifferent stares of the staff. This could have been a fluke of the moment, but it was an uncomfortable start. This being said, the stay improved each day and would have rated 5 stars.

There are many positives. The facade of the hotel is beautiful, an old and abandoned church facade but the interior is very modern. The room was comfortable, clean and roomy. The property has the dark, heavy lighting and decor of many other Autograph properties, and it seems typical.

The wait staff in the restaurant was excellent and friendly. The food was exceptional. The breakfast offerings off the menu are excellent. The continental breakfast offerings were good but not exceptional. The kippers were the best I have had in decades. The one night we had dinner in the restaurant offered a very good meal.

The property is convenient. There are many restaurants within a few minutes' walk. NewTown (from the 18th century) is a comfortable and pretty 10 minute walk, and Old Town (really old) is just a few minutes longer. My wife and I walked leisurely from the Edinburgh Castle through the Royal Mile and back to the hotel in approximately 40 enjoyable minutes.

Edinburgh is beautiful and ultimately the Glasshouse added to our enjoyment of the city.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear dnatheb,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your seven night stay. I will pass on your kind comments regarding your enjoyment of our restaurant and breakfast facilities to our Food and Beverage department.
I would like to apologise that the first impression we made was not as you expected, however, I ‘m glad that we were able to rectify that to your satisfaction.
Kind regards,
Scott McArdle
Room Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a 1 night stay in this stunning hotel in April for my birthday. As soon as we arrived, the staff couldn't do enough for us and looked after our bags before we checked in so we could go explore the city. When we returned, they'd checked us in and taken the bags up to the room.

The room was beautifully designed and we had a gorgeous little patio area on the roof terrace which was perfect to sit and have a drink. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the bathroom was immaculately clean.

The state-of-the-art furnishings are consistent throughout and the minibar was well-stocked. Having a little coffee machine in the room was a nice touch too!

We loved the open fire in the bar and the very well-priced drinks!

There's no other contender for pure relaxation in a central location- only a couple of minutes from all the action around the Royal Mile!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Jamie F,
Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday celebrations at The Glasshouse. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect place to relax and enjoy your celebrations. I will pass on your kind comments to our team who will be happy to hear your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion.
Kind regards,
Scott McArdle
Room Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Address: 2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glasshouse Edinburgh
Edinburgh Glasshouse
Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glass House Edinburgh
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.