We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at the Glasshouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels to your Saves list
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #30 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Experience at the Glasshouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Glasshouse during the Festival season (August 2014), when the population of the city almost doubles. The staff at the hotel were uniformly friendly and pleasant. They offered several suggestions on getting around Edinburgh and venues for various Fringe events. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning crew appeared to be enjoying themselves and happy that we were there.

As architecture, the hotel is fascinating, although the rainy weather (remnants of Hurricane Bertha) pretty much prohibited us from using the rooftop garden as much as we would have liked. We were given a room that was large compared to most European hotels and had a balcony that was about as large as the room. The straight-on view from the balcony was of the Omni Center, not all that wonderful, but off to the side was Calton Hill, which was nice.

As a Marriott Rewards Platinum guest, the Continental breakfast was included. It was generous for Continental, including fruit, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, pastry, and (my favorite) smoked Scottish salmon. For a reasonable (5 Pounds) additional charge, various cooked dished were available. I did try the Eggs Benedict one morning and found they knew how to make Hollandaise...which is not always the case.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, per se, but has a limited afternoon tea and dinner menu available in the bar, called the Snug. There are numerous restaurants within a block or two of the hotel, though. We did not eat in the Snug, but did have drinks sitting around the fire pit one night. (Yes, even though it was August, the fire felt rather nice) Good selection of malt whisky at what I considered to be reasonable prices.

The location is great: a few minutes walk from Waverly station where the trains arrive and virtually across the street from the tram stop that will take you to the airport. The Castle is about a mile away, a relatively easy, if mostly uphill, walk. Leith, with great seafood restaurants, is about two miles, which is not a bad walk, but the direct bus stops (frequently) within a few feet of the hotel and takes less than ten minutes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your visit to the Fringe Festival.

We do appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and glad that you had a great stay with us. Indeed our locations and facilities are second to none and hopefully next time you will stay with us the weather will be a bit warmer…

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    152
    69
    30
    9
See reviews for
64
430
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over bank holiday weekend, our room was lovely, spacious & clean!! The hotel itself is very smart & sleek and he gardens very cool!! I asked Suzanne who worked on reception for a recommendation for my birthday evening meal and she helpfully booked our table at a fab restaurant just across the road which was totally delicious, thank you very much!! The only down side to our stay was the cooked breakfast which if I'm honest is massively overpriced for what you get, disappointed on that one but lots of local places to choose from outside the hotel so it's not a deal breaker, would wholly recommend, nice surroundings and very helpful and attentive staff!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Thesmiths02,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse hotel for your birthday celebration.

It is great to read that you did enjoy your stay, however I would like to apologies for the breakfasts experience, and I have passed those feedback to our Head Chef to ensure we do take corrective action to avoid similar circumstances in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you for your next celebration.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Having heard great things about this hotel decided to splash out and have a couple nights here. Staff welcoming and were shown to our room which doesn't happen in many places. The room had access on to the roof garden but felt it wasn't a very big room. Would have been good if you could have laid in bed and admired the views instead of having them behind you. Did enjoy sitting in the sun in the garden and admiring the views. But overall felt it was an overpriced hotel for room size.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Albear1,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here with us.

I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of our hotel. Our rooms are designed to give our guests the privacy required but at the same time the access to our roof top garden.

I do hope that we would still be able to welcome you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Outstanding service and overall fantastic stay. Suzanne who worked on reception made our stay! Exceptionally warm welcome and provided us with all the information we needed to get to the destinations we intended to visit in a short amount of time. Room service was quick. Location was right in the heart of where we wanted to be for the fringe. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Conway1986,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your visit in Edinburgh.

I am glad to read that you had a great stay and you enjoyed the Festival, indeed we are in a great location with the main attractions being few minutes away.

I have passed your feedback to Suzanne who would like to thank you as well. Hopefully we can welcome you soon again.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel has lovely facilities and is in a great location, but is run in a comedic style by a set of nice but not too skilled Europeans. It is supposedly 5 star.

I bought the most expensive room they had, and requested an early checkin, which was not ready, we were directed to the breakfast room to wait. The staff in the breakfast room spoke poor English and forgot our order of coffee, which we desperately wanted. After over an hour, I tried to find the front desk (the hotel is a labyrinth) to find out about the room. The elevators were out of order due to a fire drill so a German couple and I went down the emergency stairs. After some prodding at the front desk and listening to a comedy skit-style phone conversation from the front desk clerk with an outside agency, a room was allocated and we were told to meet them at the room, as the key making machine was out of order. I could not use the elevator to get back to the breakfast room as it required a key, so back to the emergency stairs. We meet the person and get our room.

At 3pm, we inquire at the front desk about a recommendation for dinner. Usually, you get a list and a recommendaton and they call to make a booking. Instead, the nice foreign chap takes us outside and points at various places near the hotel and gives us the broken English rundown on them. I did not ask if his name was Manuel.

In the morning, we notice we have no milk for coffee and I find out that neither phone in the room works and when I call the front desk using my mobile, I get someone's mobile phone voice mail? I find a maid's cart in the hall and steal some milk. Mr Fawlty Mr Fawlty!

The hotel has no restaurant, just a breakfast room, and there is no proper list of hotel amenities in the room and no list of phone numbers for the front desk, housekeeping, etc. The shower, as noted by others, wets the floor in the bathroom.

It is a pity that such a nice facility is so badly run but at least it is funny and my wife keeps laughing instead of giving me a hard time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Well placed for Princes Street. Modern interior behind a gothic frontage. Excellent service and ambiance. We travelled up overnight on the sleeper train and were pleased with the pristine, stylish room. Amazing views of Calton Hill to the rear and across Edinburgh to the front. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Live&Pure,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your stay in Edinburgh.

It is great to read that you had a positive stay and you enjoyed our unique location and facilities.

We do appreciate your recommendations and hopefully we can welcome you soon again.

Kindest Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had a great stay while in Edinburgh for the Tattoo. The hotel definitely lived up to the nice things we had heard through Smantha Brown's Travel Channel program. We had high expectations and, if anything, they were exceeded.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Emoor,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel following the recommendation of Samantha Brown’s TV shows.

I glad that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed this great city as well, don’t forget that you can earn and redeem Marriott Rewards points whilst staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Address: 2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glasshouse Edinburgh
Edinburgh Glasshouse
Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glass House Edinburgh
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.