We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric City Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Save Saved
You added The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Atmospheric City Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Well placed for Princes Street. Modern interior behind a gothic frontage. Excellent service and ambiance. We travelled up overnight on the sleeper train and were pleased with the pristine, stylish room. Amazing views of Calton Hill to the rear and across Edinburgh to the front. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    100
    46
    18
    5
See reviews for
45
299
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a great stay while in Edinburgh for the Tattoo. The hotel definitely lived up to the nice things we had heard through Smantha Brown's Travel Channel program. We had high expectations and, if anything, they were exceeded.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is very nice, but if you are booking expecting 5 star hotel, you will be a bit disappointed. If you book expecting a nice hotel in a good location, you will be pleasantly surprised.

First, there is no restaurant but a small place called the "snug" and a little place for breakfast. We had a standard room and there was no walls on the shower, but it was very handicap accessible. Water gets everywhere every time you shower and when you flush the toilet, it sounds like an airplane taking off. You also hear your neighbors flushing. The beds also were extremely soft, oddly so.

The location is nice and walking distance to many tourist attractions and shopping. The front desk staff was very helpful booking dinner and recommending places to eat and shop.

I looks like they are doing some work to upgrade the hotel, but the building is very nice from the outside.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for family vacation. Staff was exceptional and very accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and well furnished. The terrace and gardens on the third floor were very nice as was the "snug" area where you could sit by the fire and have a cocktail. The location was close enough to walk to most attractions and is near several good restaurants. The hotel has a gallery feel with lots of artwork which is different from many hotels. A very nice place to stay while in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: ask for a garden room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here with us.

Having a nice and comfortable family vacation is always important and I am glad that we were able to deliver a great stay. I do hope you can come back and celebrate with us again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

An incredible hotel that's super clean, has great service and a perfect location. We were upgraded to a suite with a beautiful balcony and stunning views to match! The room was very comfortable and clean!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Liane711,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your recent stay with us.

It’s great that you read you enjoyed your stay with us, our location and views are second to none, especially when the sun is shining…

Do come and visit us again soon and do not forget to check our website for the latest promotions and packages.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton- Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ive stayed at The Glasshouse twice now on business and on both occasions it has been fantastic. The staff on reception are extremely attentive and ensured I had everything I needed before leaving the room.

I stayed in a beautiful suite with a fantastic large bathroom, the shower was huge and powerful. The bed was also very large with a nice duvet and ample pillows. There was a separate area with chairs and a tv in a wooden panel at the end of the bed which could be turned around to watch in bed which is what i did, it takes a little bit of patience but it does turn around.

My room included breakfast which was served in a really pleasant room and consisted of meat, cheese, fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereal from a buffet area. There is also the option for toast which was bought to the table and served with the usual jams and a pot of tea or coffee.

Overall I had a really lovely stay at the Glasshouse and would highly recommend it to anyone that asked the only downside was only getting to stay for one night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Jean_1984,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to hear your comments and certainly our hotel is designed to offer the most comfortable facilities for both business and leisure.

I do hope we can welcome you again very soon and do not forget that you can earn and redeem Marriott Rewards points whilst staying with us.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Where do I start??
1) The shower with no doors that literally leaves the whole bathroom in a pond of water,you have to mop the floor so you don't get your feet wet in the middle of the night when going to the loo!
2) Sheets that don't reach the bottom of the bed,
3) Sheets that don't get changed daily,
4) Old towels that have holes in and are full of threads,
5)Having to ask twice for the water that is supposed to be given on turn down...eventually I went to reception to get it at 11pm and followed the very charming receptionist to the store room to fetch it...
6) the worst was the very noisy pipes..when any loo is flushed in the hotel,the whole hotel hears it
7)The very average breakfast....
8) Toilet flusher broken
Needless to say,I will NOT be staying here again!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear DominiqueD,

Please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was not up to the standards that we strive to achieve here at The Glasshouse.

I would be delighted if we could discuss it further at your convenience.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Address: 2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glasshouse Edinburgh
Edinburgh Glasshouse
Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glass House Edinburgh
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.