We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glasshouse birthday stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels to your Saves list
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #31 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Markinch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Glasshouse birthday stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Booked the Glasshouse as a Birthday treat for my wife's Mum. Stayed over on the April bank holiday Sunday night. Everything from start to finish was a real treat, booking, check in etc all done with real class and courtesy. Staff could not be more helpful. Our 2 deluxe rooms opened onto the rooftop garden and as a bonus it was a sunny day although cool. Complimentary drinks upon arrival were great in the snug bar. Breakfast the following morning was very good, probably one of the best breakfasts at a hotel I've had, great choice.

My mother in law had left her bag in an external restaurant and only discovered so the next morning. The staff at the restaurant (Purslane in Stockbridge) had arranged return to the hotel and a letter was put under our door).

Class act, location, staff and breakfast all exceptional.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for such an important celebration.

I was delighted to read that your wife’s mum and you all enjoyed the stay and the facilities. Our hotel has great facilities and there is always something to discover.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again, maybe for another birthday…

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    154
    70
    30
    9
See reviews for
64
433
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Have just returned home after spending a couple of nights at this fabulous hotel. We like to visit Edinburgh for short breaks and until this trip did not realise the Glasshouse was an hotel! This hotel is really quite unusual - I'm sure it was very busy but at no time did we get that feeling. It was so quiet and peaceful, we had a room on the third floor and only heard traffic when we opened the window. The room was lovely - very comfy bed with pillows to match and great shower. Being on the third floor we just popped along the corridor and accessed the gorgeous rooftop garden where we spent a couple of hours enjoying a glass of wine and the evening sunshine - it was so peaceful and sheltered, you would never guess you were in the middle of a city - loved it. Later in the evening we enjoyed a couple of drinks in the Snug playing Backgammon (good selection of board games, books and magazines available). Selection of drinks very good and there I sampled for the first time Edinburgh Raspberry flavoured gin - yum! Breakfast was delicious and served up to 11a.m. Every single member of staff from Reception to the Dining Room to the housekeeping staff we met in the corridors made us feel extremely welcome and everyone had a lovely smile and a hello for us. We simply cannot fault this hotel or staff - I could go on and on singing its praises but I suggest you try for yourselves - we will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Third floor handy for rooftop garden if you don't have a suite looking on to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.

It is great to read such lovely comments and also to see that our staff were able to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

Indeed the layout and the facilities of this hotel are second to none.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

what a lovely hotel. it does every thing it says on the tin. the room was excellent, staff are pleasant & friendly.food was superb. location was perfect for the station, theatre, shopping & restaurants. would definately go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

I was delighted to read your comments and indeed our location is second to none. Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

From entering to check out we loved our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was stunning and immaculate as was our terrace. The hotel is beautiful and well worth a visit. The location was perfect for all of the attractions we wanted to visit. All in all the best we have stayed in so far.
I think the doorman needs a special mention as he could have possibly been the nicest man i have ever met.
Thank you all and see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your recent stay with us

I have passed your feedback to the rest of the team and in particular to our colleague William, who are delighted to hear such positive comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had a great time the staff couldn't do enough for you. Beautiful breakfast with first class service. Room lovely as it looked over the gardens, which we sat and had a nice glass of wine. We have already booked to come back see you in June.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the VIP treatment on arrival. I do hope we will have a chance to welcome you again soon in order for you to enjoy further the hotel.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The room was very nice but on the first night the air condition unit would not go under 25 degrees I woke up at 5 am with the room at 24 degrees the air con was set at 18 degrees I called reception they said no-one can fix it till tomorrow they supplied my room with a table top fan
The next day I asked if the air con was fixed the reception said someone would have a look at it again that night was cooler outside so I had to leave the door open as the aircon would not go under 23 degrees even thou it was set at 18 again.
After talking to reception they said because the hotel was full the air con can't handle doing everyone's rooms which I find insane for a 5 star hotel to have poor aircodioning the rooms are nice but didn't get a good night sleep both nights and wasn't happy about leaving the door open all night with a noisy fan on

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.

I was extremely disappointed to hear from my colleague about your experience. We did unfortunately experienced severe maintenance issues with some our air conditioning units during that period.

We would like to have the change to welcome you again and please do contact me directly in order for me to oversee your reservation.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel. A special treat for a night away. Stayed a few times now and really can't imagine a trip to Edinburgh and staying anywhere else. The rooms are very stylish and make the trip so worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience here at The Glasshouse Hotel.

I am glad to read that you had a great stay and I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you again soon. Once you have a date in mind do check our website for the latest promotions and packages as it pays to book direct.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Address: 2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glasshouse Edinburgh
Edinburgh Glasshouse
Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glass House Edinburgh
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.