We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful classy and a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels to your Saves list
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful classy and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the glasshouse for a weekend away with my partner, it is a beautiful hotel with fabulous staff and I highly recommend it. The carpark is right next door and very safe, you only have to walk five minutes to get to princess street yet it's still very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Glasshouse Hotel for your recent stay in the capital.

Indeed our hotel is in a great location with everything being few steps away. I do hope we will see you soon again and don’t forget to check our website for the latest promotions.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    123
    59
    25
    7
See reviews for
56
346
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Glasshouse is without doubt one of Scotland's hidden gems. Centrally located for all local attractions, and with stunning views from your own roftop garden, staying at the Glasshouse does make you feel very special. Friendly and informative staff strike just the right balance of offering service, whilst also allowing you to relax and feel at home. The rooms are stunning, though I would strongly recommend that the switch to operate the curtains, not working since a recent upgrade, is rapidly repaired, so everyone can enjoy the fantastic view from the luxuriopus egyptian cottoned bed. At the moment, many people even in Edinburgh have never heard of the Glasshouse, which is fine by me, but so that more can enjoy it's hidden charms, some marketing of it's undoubted qualities should be considered. Gordon & Janice Clark

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Clarke,

Thank you for your kind review and for sharing your recent experience with us.

I was delighted to read your comments and, having our guests recognising our effort to make every stays memorable, is certainly what strive us to achieve high standards at all time.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I usually book a hotel which is significanty smaller, and not part of a chain (Autograph is a Marriott brand). I only did so because the locally-owned, four star, modestly priced hotel I prefer, was unavailable in Edinburgh, as far as I could tell.
The hotel was simply terrific. The staff were both gracious and helpful, lovely room, and a cooked to order breakfast, which was very good, not the aged ham and canned fruit slices some hotels call call 'breakfast'. Leaving your shoes outside your door to be shined seemed more Downton Abby than modern hotel. The Glasshouse (British military slang for a stockade) was within easy walking distance from the attractions in Old Town and New Town, and Edinburgh Waverly train station (the way you are most likely to arrive in Edinburgh from overseas flights which arrive in Glasgow). The hotel is within blocks a variety of good restaurants, and there is a theater next door.
A caution on price. The price was 130 GBP (US$217 at $1.67 to the pound) with breakfast and no penalty for cancelation. This seems high, but it's what the market is in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us and in Edinburgh.

We love to hear the great stories that our guests bring to the hotel. We do hope that you will have a chance to come to visit us again soon, we are always loading new promotions and packages and also with your Marriott membership, you can gain points for every stay.

Looking forward to welcome you soon.

Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The venue is pretty fab in a great location. The staff are a great combination of professional and friendly/personal. In short a pretty unbeatable combo. We got a great deal - and it appears that this is possible through a number of different routes. Edinburgh has capacity off season. Use this to negotiate your deal. In our case the staff were the key feature and we hope they will take up our offer! Thank you! Nic and Julie
Manager - pat them on the back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.

We take great pride for the service provided by our staff, I have passed those to Nic and Julian who were delighted to read them.

Hopefully we can welcome you again soon and do check our website for the latest promotions.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is fab, close to all the attractions shopping and sight seeing. The breakfast set you up for the whole day and we will be going back. Have told all our friends that this is a great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

I was delighted to read your comments and thanks for the telling all your friends, hopefully we can all welcome you soon so you can spend some nice evening relaxing in our garden.

Kind Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited this afternoon with my sister and what a fabulous experience it was. William the doorman is a complete gem and made us feel so relaxed while showing us up the area where we were having afternoon. He handed us over to Ian who was attentive but not bothersome at all, lovely choice of sandwiches etc and an added bonus of being able to go out into the roof garden. Now today is hardly perfect as it was blowing a gale, but i will def return in the summer months for a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for visiting us to taste and try our new Afternoon Tea.

We really appreciate your feedback as we recently started launching our afternoon tea which is mostly handmade by our Head Chef Daniel.

I have passed your feedback to William and Ian who were delighted to hear that and we all hope you can come to visit us again.

Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I visited here for my birthday weekend for one night and I have to say the hotel was fabulous. I stayed here on Saturday the 8th of March and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The boutique hotel itself was well decorated. The bar with its inglenook fireplace was a treat to sit next to with a few Havana anejo blancos relaxing in a wonderful atmosphere. I managed to speak to the waiter from Valencia in Spanish as my degree is in languages. What a lovely, friendly and attentive waiter he was! I was also speaking French that evening with a lady as I caught people attending the Scotland v France rugby game in the city. Such a great place to stay in the heart of a truly wonderful city! Highly recommended. We stayed in room number 50 the Laphroaig Suite and was a huge room with balcony, a great spacious executive room. The only thing I would say is that there was no information leaflet in the hotel and I had to phone reception on my mobile phone to ask for something. There were also no cups for making tea/coffee but the kettle was there. Only a few things I'd like to point out but other than that, a great hotel. Lovely people. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico C, General Manager at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and you could interact with our multilingual and multi-skilled staff. David, the staff member who you spoke in Spanish too, just joined us and he is already making himself to be a great asset to the hotel.

I do hope you will have a chance to come to visit us again soon,

Regards

Federico Ciampi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels

Address: 2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glasshouse Edinburgh
Edinburgh Glasshouse
Glasshouse Hotel Edinburgh
Glass House Edinburgh
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.