We booked the Glasshouse hotel in Edinburgh through Amazon local. On the 24th and 25th of February 2014
This was to be a special trip for us as it was our Silver Wedding Anniversary. The deal was £219 per night for a Studio Suite with king size bed. Dinner on the first night and afternoon tea on the second, with complementary chocolates and decanter of single malt whiskey.
We were very upset when we were not initially given the room we booked there was no chocolates or decanter of whiskey. The room we were given when seen, looked un clean .
We spoke to the duty manager who then put us in the room we should have been allocated in the first place. He informed us that they now longer do the decanter of whiskey, We were not informed of this beforehand. He did offer us a bottle of prosecco as it was our Silver wedding anniversary. When in the second room there were no house coats, which we had to ask for from the duty manager, as he was handing us the complimentary chocolates. It was obvious the room had not even been checked after our initial complaint. The towels were hard and stained for a 5 star hotel is not acceptable.
We went to the Snug for our evening meal we were sitting in which can only be described as a large corridor area between the rooms and all you see is housekeeping staff walking about while you are eating your meal. Why are they using this when there is a perfectly good restaurant area on the second floor where breakfast is served. 5 star I don't think so.
When we returned to our room on the second day the room had been serviced, or so we thought, only to notice biscuit crumbs lying on the floor next to the bin which had been emptied so how this had went unnoticed? I would question whether the rooms are being properly cleaned and considering the hotel is meant to be 5 star, boutique.. The standard of housekeeping is poor to say the least , and not being managed.
On the plus side the duty manager and staff were courteous and friendly
I could go on very disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.
It is disappointing to hear your comments with the overall experience, however I was delighted to hear from our Duty Manager that you were satisfied after the initial first impression of the hotel was not what you were expecting for.
I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you again soon in order to show you the improvements made.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.