We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious india food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Johns Curry Club

St Johns Curry Club
100 Saint John's Road, Edinburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #998 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
2 reviews
“Delicious india food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Delicous, concert of appetities!!! Friendly qucik service.

Small, not seems like a super high level place for a high quality meal... but food is a factor that speaks loudly...

Keed that high tasty level of food!!!

We were on holiday 12 days in Scotland and here are our "restaurant cousines experience that costs to share about them/not a mistake to spend some noeny there":)

"Whistlefield Inn", Dunoon; food rating 4,8/5
- homemade, simple, fresh and very tasty meal;
- we ate beef steak; hamburger; langustines, mussel
- symphatic pro-chef and friendly staff

Inverness "The Muschroom Seed"; food rating 4,1/5
- symphatic place for a drink, talking and good meal
- attentive staff (we were 2m from "staff starting point")
- steak, mussels, monkfish

Inverness "Contrast brasseirie"; food rating 4,3/5
- seems to be more nobless than other by myself rated, but with slooooow not attentive staff
(half full restaurant a we were wathing our empty plates for a 15min; 10min than someone ask as "Drink?" Staff was chaoticly mooving around with empty hands...)
- kitchen is a different story...
- geneally fantastic pie soup, very good sunday roast

Edinsburgh "Outsider"; food rating 4,4/5
- tries to be nobless like Inverness Contrast, but symphatic "nonartificial"
- super tasty deserts; very good burger, very good steak, salmon

Edinburgh "St. Johns Curry Club"; food rating 4,8/5
- average inside/outside atmosfere
- genial indian food; concert of tastes

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    3
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Probably the best Indian food I've ever had. It's not the best looking place, inside or out but the food could not be better. Have eaten there in the evening and also had the cheaper lunch. Could do with a refurb but the food is fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I never expected this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

There are some excellent restaurants in Edinburgh, and this is just one of them.
A good menu choice, attentive staff, and a good ambience created a pleasant atmosphere to enjoy good food that did not disappoint. I was in a party of five strays all away from home the evening; we came on a recommendation, and now we know why. We will visit here again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OK but a tad expensive for where it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This Indian restaurant (just next door to Weatherspoons) looks a bit rough from the outside, but don't be put off - when we visited the food was very good, albeit a bit pricy for being so far away from the City centre. Portion sizes were also good and so was the service.

Trouble is - overall, what we got was average - which wouldn't normally be an issue, but because there are so many great local (& slightly more competitive) restaurants & take aways close by, in and around Edinburgh, I doubt we'll be back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another Great Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on several occasions over the last few months both for takeway and to dine inside. I have yet to be dissapointed, great friendly attentive service and superb curries particularly their North Indian Chilli,Garlic Chicken, and draught Tiger what else do you need.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Johns Curry Club also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to St Johns Curry Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Johns Curry Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.